E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-16-2016, 10:26 AM   #1
jinwu57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 172
My Ride: bmw325 ci
Asus Gaming Laptop BSOD - Please help

I bought an Asus laptop for editing photo and video. Everytime I run Adobe programs with the charging cable unplugged, there is a restart with Power State Drive Failure(see pic). Model GL551. I've updated all drivers and don't know what to do next. Doesn't happen with any other program, just Adobe products, Lightroom, Premiere, Photoshop. Anyone have ideas on what I can try to do to fix?

PS - Asus tech support hasn't been helpful. They recommended to update bios(already is current) and then to reinstall windows(haven't done, but I'm thinking I may have to consider this as a last option), but would hate to do this and reinstall all my programs, plugins, defaults, etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2016-02-23.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	192.4 KB
ID:	632063  
jinwu57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 10:31 AM   #2
dvsntt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 138
My Ride: 01 325xi
Are there power setting in the BIOS you can adjust so it runs with the same performance when on battery as it does when plugged in to A\C?
dvsntt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 10:31 AM   #3
cowmoo32
.--. . -. .. ...
 
cowmoo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 5,540
My Ride: Yukon
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinwu57 View Post
I've updated all drivers and don't know what to do next.
www.google.com, that's your next step.
__________________

flickher

Want something 3D printed? PM me


What's this about a brownie in motion?
cowmoo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 10:35 AM   #4
jinwu57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 172
My Ride: bmw325 ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvsntt View Post
Are there power setting in the BIOS you can adjust so it runs with the same performance when on battery as it does when plugged in to A\C?
Yup - changed it to where when uplugged, it's not supposed to do anything. Unless if there's some deeper setting that I'm not aware of which might be possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowmoo32 View Post
www.google.com, that's your next step.
Never heard of it!

**tried all suggestions from Google - change power settings, change default graphics card default, update drivers. Did not work.
jinwu57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 11:10 AM   #5
cowmoo32
.--. . -. .. ...
 
cowmoo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: FL
Posts: 5,540
My Ride: Yukon
I work in IT which means I get paid to Google problems. That really is your best bet. Be as specific as possible with your searches.
__________________

flickher

Want something 3D printed? PM me


What's this about a brownie in motion?
cowmoo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 12:22 PM   #6
Spiral Prophet
Über-Geek
 
Spiral  Prophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 913
My Ride: '01 Topaz Blue 330ci
Send a message via AIM to Spiral  Prophet
a coworker here has been dealing with a similar issue with a laptop (can't remember if it was ASUS or not) but, the problem stemmed from the drivers for the mobile version of the nvidia GPU.
He had installed the latest nvidia drivers straight from nvidia.
We went back and found the "latest" release from the manufacturers site and installed those drivers instead, ( I think they were like 3 or 4 versions older than the nvidia drivers) and the problem went away.

He wasn't having the issue solely with adobe products but with games and other apps as well.

if it's an optimus setup where you have both the mobile nvidia GPU and the integrated intel HD graphics, try forcing the adobe programs to run using the intel HD graphics and see if the problem goes away.
Spiral  Prophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 12:43 PM   #7
MorganFreeman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: i hate cats
Posts: 78
My Ride: bacon
Get a new laptop.
__________________
MorganFreeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 12:50 PM   #8
chikoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 138
My Ride: 05 330Ci ZHP Cabrio
uninstall all adobe products.
Then start by installing one, check, and then another....
chikoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2016, 08:15 PM   #9
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: such united many state
Posts: 5,889
My Ride: so turbo wow
Delete System32. It's outdated and full of old, incompatible drivers that are not needed with 64 bit systems. That's usually the first thing I try.
__________________
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use