E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 92 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 01-06-2012, 01:41 PM   #41
MaximumWalrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 133
My Ride: E39 530i
Quote:
Originally Posted by EmbassyBlack View Post
im not so good at writing reviews lol

but so far i love, makes a huge difference inside the
Tell us about the OBC function! What does it show?
MaximumWalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 01:53 PM   #42
EmbassyBlack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 47
My Ride: 2001 330ci, 2011 Ram
thanks man, worked like a charm. i just spliced the red and orange together behind my seat where it was visible. took 2 mins
__________________
instagram; JeboMadera
EmbassyBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 01:53 PM   #43
EmbassyBlack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 47
My Ride: 2001 330ci, 2011 Ram
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumWalrus View Post
Tell us about the OBC function! What does it show?
it shows everything the old obc showed. ill take a pic in a few mins
__________________
instagram; JeboMadera
EmbassyBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 02:02 PM   #44
EmbassyBlack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 47
My Ride: 2001 330ci, 2011 Ram
Heres some pics, the one with txt is facebook lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1325879999.505579.jpg
Views:	1162
Size:	125.8 KB
ID:	431272   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1325880014.967197.jpg
Views:	831
Size:	137.9 KB
ID:	431273   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1325880031.825907.jpg
Views:	854
Size:	97.6 KB
ID:	431274   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1325880051.775627.jpg
Views:	975
Size:	141.8 KB
ID:	431275  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1325880067.376193.jpg
Views:	546
Size:	102.7 KB
ID:	431279   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1325880089.720282.jpg
Views:	431
Size:	136.0 KB
ID:	431280  
__________________
instagram; JeboMadera
EmbassyBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 02:53 PM   #45
MaximumWalrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 133
My Ride: E39 530i
Thanks for the photos. The OBC thing is particularly awesome. Though it appears to be reporting the same temp 3 times? Though I dont think the M54 has an oil temp sensor or an engine temp sensor, only a coolant temp sensor which I guess explains that.

How does the PDC look?
MaximumWalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 03:37 PM   #46
EmbassyBlack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 47
My Ride: 2001 330ci, 2011 Ram
pdc has a picture of a car when in reverse and lines that show up the closer you get to an object.

Another question: i bought a 32gig mini sd and i put all of the files into it that were on the 2gig which came with the unit. It wont read my 32gig card :s i noticed the file system is fat32 on the 32gig and FAT on the 2 gig. What do i do to make it work?
__________________
instagram; JeboMadera
EmbassyBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 03:43 PM   #47
vids_blk323Ci
DFW
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,732
My Ride: JB 323Ci SP PP
Send a message via AIM to vids_blk323Ci
Wink


Quote:
Originally Posted by EmbassyBlack View Post
Heres some pics, the one with txt is facebook lol
__________________

Dinan Stage I S/W | ACS RSB | ///M FSB |UUC TMEs & Pulleys |Ate Slotted Discs | ScanGuageII | RockyMounts MTB Carrrier | OEM Rear Clears | LED Euro City Lights & Rear Fogs | Two-Tone Suede DIY | ACS Pedals | Bimmian Gauge Rings & M3 Face | Smoked Frnt Corners w/ Luxeon LEDs | EAS CF Roundels | JLevi Ti CF trim | Blk Suede shift/ e-brake boots | ECS Smoked Frnt Bumper Reflectors | DICE Duo
vids_blk323Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 03:52 PM   #48
G-Hots
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 991
My Ride: ///M3 & 328ci & X3
Send a message via AIM to G-Hots Send a message via MSN to G-Hots
This is amazing. Question, I have a iPhone 4 from AT&T. got the unlimited data (grandfather clause). If i add tethering to my data plan do I lose the option? Is there any other way of hooking up a wifi to this bad boy other than a cell phone tethering? Can you buy like a seperate plan with a modem and hook it up via USB and such? like a 2gb data plan from whatever carrier?

Edit: thanks for the pics btw
G-Hots is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 05:37 PM   #49
EmbassyBlack
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 47
My Ride: 2001 330ci, 2011 Ram
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Hots View Post
This is amazing. Question, I have a iPhone 4 from AT&T. got the unlimited data (grandfather clause). If i add tethering to my data plan do I lose the option? Is there any other way of hooking up a wifi to this bad boy other than a cell phone tethering? Can you buy like a seperate plan with a modem and hook it up via USB and such? like a 2gb data plan from whatever carrier?

Edit: thanks for the pics btw
You're welcome

I have a 4s and i didnt have to ad tethering to my plan, i just turn it on in my settings and it hooks right up the the d99. Since u have unlimited data i would do that. the only downside is you have to tether it whenever u get in the car. And yes you can get a separate plan for the unit itself
__________________
instagram; JeboMadera
EmbassyBlack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 10:03 PM   #50
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,726
My Ride: BMW
just added a bunch more to the original post.....
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 01:57 PM   #51
bwebb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CA
Posts: 1
My Ride: 328i
I have the D99 hooked up and working with the Fakra cable. However, I don't have the ibus interface box connected. I can connect the small harness on the front dash end of the Fakra cable to the box. However, there is a mini USB connector on the box and I'm not sure what cable should connect to it. I'd like to enable the OBC functionality. Can someone explain how to connect this device?
bwebb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 03:49 PM   #52
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,726
My Ride: BMW
The mini USB doesn't plug into anything, just plug the box into the harness.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 04:12 AM   #53
330touring
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Norway
Posts: 27
My Ride: 330d touring
Hi

Im happy to see that my d99 is already sent, thanks for quick service jeff

As you said jeff, I can play music from my HTC by connecting the phone to the d99 via the headphone-out on the phone to AUX-in on the d99. Will this mean I have to arrange the play-list on the phone screen?

Id hoped I could plug the HTC to the d99 via usb. That way the phone would be like a portable hard disk. Also the phone would be charged wile connected?

Would the hands free work via usb, or do I have to use the BT?
330touring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:04 AM   #54
BigDRick323
OEM ///Member
 
BigDRick323's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 1,426
My Ride: 2000 323i
Thanks for the update JEFF, very good review!
__________________

-1983 Grey 528e (Given to Charity) -1995 Champagne Toyota 4Runner (Friend Totaled) -2000 Black 323i (From DD to Project Car) -2011 Black Toyota Prius III (DD)
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/780058

Last edited by Solidjake; 05-30-2012 at 07:02 PM.
BigDRick323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:21 AM   #55
MaximumWalrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 133
My Ride: E39 530i
I notice there is no WiFi adaptor in the box. is it built in?
MaximumWalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:24 AM   #56
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,726
My Ride: BMW
It's included on the android units. It's a USB wifi dongle.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 330touring View Post
Hi

I'd hoped I could plug the HTC to the d99 via usb. That way the phone would be like a portable hard disk. Also the phone would be charged wile connected?

Would the hands free work via usb, or do I have to use the BT?
I haven't tried that on a D99 but I suppose it would work through the USB. Handsfree phone is BT, not USB.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 01-09-2012 at 08:30 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 08:25 AM   #57
elfer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 127
My Ride: 2004 330Ci
The WinCE version doesn't come with WiFi.

*edit: beaten to it! *
elfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:08 AM   #58
MaximumWalrus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 133
My Ride: E39 530i
Forgot it was a windows one.

I shall go and stand in the idiot corner :p
MaximumWalrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 11:08 AM   #59
Dippinwandy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal- 310
Posts: 254
My Ride: 325i
i cant wait to get mine !!
Dippinwandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 03:32 PM   #60
m3 guy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 355
My Ride: 2001 e46 m3
Does anyone know if it would be possible to get plx modules to display on this unit? Plx has a usb cable that will hook up to a pc to view in real time but will it work on the dynavin? If not what about through the rca input, maybe hooking a usb to rca cable up to the plx cable...
__________________
*2001 E46 M3 Oxford Green Metallic II-Cinnamon*

*AST*Work*VRS*UUC*RE*Apex*Scorza*SS*Brembo*
m3 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d90, d95, d98, d99, d99 navigation system, dynavin, dynavin android, dynavin d99

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use