E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 9 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-19-2012, 03:40 PM   #641
dcloney1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 6
My Ride: '04 320d Sport Turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
1) No the dynavin does not do voice control of your phone.

2) Yes, the dynavin has a set of RCA style A/V inputs.....just plug in an appropriate cable.

3) Yes, play/pause, track forward/back work in bluetooth (depends on the phone though, I suppose, works with iphones)
Cheers for the reply Jeff.

Shame about the lack of voice control, considering its one of the main selling points for Parrot Bluetooth units.

Looking forward to my install. I've downloaded your installation guide Jeff so it should be a breeze.
__________________
Green means GO,
Red means STOP,
Orange means DRIVE FASTER!!!

dcloney1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 10:55 PM   #642
hybridNz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Ak, NZ
Posts: 468
My Ride: e39 540iASE,e30/s50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaximumWalrus View Post
There is no way you are going to get OBC functionality using a simple software update, as Jeff says it has to interface with the iBUS and that takes hardware not software.

Well, if the steering wheel controls work .. then you have connectivity to the IBUS, if the IBUS is connected your can get 'OBC' values as its transmitted on the IBUS from the IKE and originating from the DME.

The thing is the IBUS box is built by a different company to Dynavin. This is the company that does all the research on the different vehicle manufactures internal peripheral bus protocols and converts it to a friendly text format for the Dynavin unit to consume.

A long answer to your question, yes you can upgrade the firmware in the microcontroller in the IBUS box to read more stuff off the ibus and you could upgrade the software in the Dynavin to read that stuff from the TTL serial bus and display it.
__________________
hybridNz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 01:32 AM   #643
slackjack
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 19
My Ride: E46 325ci Convertibl
Hi "DC"

I've got the Android version and I agree with Jeff (would I dare disagree :-)) with the following comments as well.

1. Agree - no voice control but for me, it's just as easy to press the screen as to pressing the steering wheel control.

2. I've got all my video content on the USB Memory stick and it works fine. My files are .avi files.

3. Track forward/back doesn't work with my Android Apps or with streaming from my Samsung Galaxy 2, but it does work with the "media" side (or whatever it's called) of my D99. Volume up/down is OK though.

The only point I would like to make though is to be aware of the temperamental nature of the beast. I'm a patient man and even as I was setting out to test the streaming media it took a few goes turning the phone/Dynavin on/off before I had it working. My D99 is like a woman - waiting to be talked into what it (she) wants to do anyway.

Cheers

John
slackjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 08:54 AM   #644
dcloney1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 6
My Ride: '04 320d Sport Turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by slackjack View Post
Hi "DC"

I've got the Android version and I agree with Jeff (would I dare disagree :-)) with the following comments as well.

1. Agree - no voice control but for me, it's just as easy to press the screen as to pressing the steering wheel control.

2. I've got all my video content on the USB Memory stick and it works fine. My files are .avi files.

3. Track forward/back doesn't work with my Android Apps or with streaming from my Samsung Galaxy 2, but it does work with the "media" side (or whatever it's called) of my D99. Volume up/down is OK though.

The only point I would like to make though is to be aware of the temperamental nature of the beast. I'm a patient man and even as I was setting out to test the streaming media it took a few goes turning the phone/Dynavin on/off before I had it working. My D99 is like a woman - waiting to be talked into what it (she) wants to do anyway.

Cheers

John
Cheers John,

The reason I ask about the AV input is that I have an AV adapter for my iPhone, so it's easier to save music and movies to my phone and just have one device to connect.

As for the Bluetooth steering wheel controls, hopefully the fact the iPhone is a more music friendly device will mean I will have control.

And as for being patient, I'm an Automation engineer who specialises in SCADA and Touchscreen development, so I know exactly what to expect! :-)
__________________
Green means GO,
Red means STOP,
Orange means DRIVE FASTER!!!


Last edited by dcloney1; 07-21-2012 at 07:07 PM.
dcloney1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 02:43 PM   #645
AProudSailor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 41
My Ride: '06 330ci ZHP (e46)
Send a message via AIM to AProudSailor Send a message via Skype™ to AProudSailor
Jeff,

As a huge fan of the Dynavin D99 (and aspiring perfectionist), I find myself with two questions before me:

1) Are there firmware updates for the D99 and if so, where is the latest copies kept?
2) Do you have a team devoted to customer inputs in care of possible improvements to the coding/production process (or is this forum the place to bring observations for improvement)?

Thanks!!
Carl
__________________

Car not for sale, driver negotiable..
AProudSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 07:06 PM   #646
dcloney1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cork, Ireland
Posts: 6
My Ride: '04 320d Sport Turbo
Quick question:
Is there a shuffle feature on the unit when using iPod? Either on Bluetooth or iPod input? Or do I have to set my phone on shuffle first?

Cheers,
DC
__________________
Green means GO,
Red means STOP,
Orange means DRIVE FASTER!!!


Last edited by dcloney1; 07-22-2012 at 05:34 PM.
dcloney1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 01:24 PM   #647
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcloney1 View Post
Quick question:
Is there a shuffle feature on the unit when using iPod? Either on Bluetooth or iPod input? Or do I have to set my phone on shuffle first?

Cheers,
DC
on bluetooth yes, select it on your phone.....the dynavin can just control track forward/back.

On ipod you can select shuffle by pressing the onscreen shuffle icon.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 05:54 PM   #648
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by AProudSailor View Post
Jeff,

As a huge fan of the Dynavin D99 (and aspiring perfectionist), I find myself with two questions before me:

1) Are there firmware updates for the D99 and if so, where is the latest copies kept?
2) Do you have a team devoted to customer inputs in care of possible improvements to the coding/production process (or is this forum the place to bring observations for improvement)?

Thanks!!
Carl

No firmware updates on the D99s, android you can mess with but the basic radio hardware is not changeable.

Do I have a team?! I wish! We are just a dealer, there are a few people involved with my business but we just distribute the dynavins, we dont develop them. I do however talk to dynavin on a regular basis and pass on both customer and my suggestions to improve the product.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 09:43 PM   #649
AProudSailor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 41
My Ride: '06 330ci ZHP (e46)
Send a message via AIM to AProudSailor Send a message via Skype™ to AProudSailor
Does that mean you're the preferred route for submitting recommendations, or is there a better method?
__________________

Car not for sale, driver negotiable..

Last edited by AProudSailor; 07-30-2012 at 09:44 PM.
AProudSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 12:14 PM   #650
ccfarmboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
My Ride: 528, Z4
Same issues with my 528. did you get yours resolved?

Hi,

I have the same issues with my AC unit after installing the Dynavin. I am pretty sure it is related tot he back up camera / PDC. Did you ever resolve yours?

thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjosen40 View Post
Hi

I have the same problems with the Air condition as you after installing the Dynavin.

It turns on and of, sometimes it also adjust the temperature by itselfe. Sometimes the air fan rises by itselfe as well.

Im driving a BMW 520i Touring 2003 modell

Did you find any solution on this problem?

Best Regards
Ove
ccfarmboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 01:03 PM   #651
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfarmboy View Post
Hi,

I have the same issues with my AC unit after installing the Dynavin. I am pretty sure it is related tot he back up camera / PDC. Did you ever resolve yours?

thanks.
I see you have a 5 series....

If you have a D99 E39 unit and are having issues with your HVAC, disconnect your ibus box and contact your dealer for a replacement ibus box. We have heard reports that the ibus box can interfere with the HVAC function on certain US spec 5-series cars and can end up requiring the HVAC controls to be re-coded.

This ONLY applies to the 5 series (and X5), I have heard zero reports like this on any other cars.

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 07-31-2012 at 01:04 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 01:11 PM   #652
ccfarmboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
My Ride: 528, Z4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
I see you have a 5 series....

If you have a D99 E39 unit and are having issues with your HVAC, disconnect your ibus box and contact your dealer for a replacement ibus box. We have heard reports that the ibus box can interfere with the HVAC function on certain US spec 5-series cars and can end up requiring the HVAC controls to be re-coded.

This ONLY applies to the 5 series (and X5), I have heard zero reports like this on any other cars.
Hi Jeffb,

Thanks for the quick response. Can you clarify what you mean by "disconnect the ibus box". Where is that located and what is hooked to it?

Thanks,
ccfarmboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 01:17 PM   #653
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
its the black box hanging off the dynavin's wire harness, unplug it.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 01:46 PM   #654
ccfarmboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
My Ride: 528, Z4
Hi Jeff,

Thanks again for the quick response. A few related questions:
1) Is there a firmware update to the D99 that I should apply first? (I have the windows version)
2) Is there a way to turn off the PDC functionality on dynavin, that seems to be when the issue happens?
3) Is replacing the ibus box and getting the HVAC re-coded a big thing? (this is an older car, and I don't want to keep spending money on it.)

thanks!
ccfarmboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 01:55 PM   #655
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfarmboy View Post
Hi Jeff,

Thanks again for the quick response. A few related questions:
1) Is there a firmware update to the D99 that I should apply first? (I have the windows version)
2) Is there a way to turn off the PDC functionality on dynavin, that seems to be when the issue happens?
3) Is replacing the ibus box and getting the HVAC re-coded a big thing? (this is an older car, and I don't want to keep spending money on it.)

thanks!
1) no

2)yes but it doesnt solve the problem, the issue is related to the car being put in reverse.

3) it requires reprogramming the hvac control, probably an hour labor from a bmw tech. So unplug the box before you get to that point.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 02:38 PM   #656
ccfarmboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4
My Ride: 528, Z4
OK.

So just to confirm that I understand. I should
1) unplug the dynavin wiring harness (which i am guessing would disable the entire system...correct?)
2) go to the dealer and get a new ibus box. Will they know what that is? Is there a more specific part to ask for?
3) install the new ibus box and then plug the d99 wiring harness back into it.
4) I will then possibly need to get the HVAC recoded.



Correct?

Thanks again Jeff.
ccfarmboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 03:15 PM   #657
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccfarmboy View Post
OK.

So just to confirm that I understand. I should
1) unplug the dynavin wiring harness (which i am guessing would disable the entire system...correct?)
2) go to the dealer and get a new ibus box. Will they know what that is? Is there a more specific part to ask for?
3) install the new ibus box and then plug the d99 wiring harness back into it.
4) I will then possibly need to get the HVAC recoded.



Correct?

Thanks again Jeff.
No, just unplug the ibus box from the harness, it will disable your steering wheel controls but the dynavin will work fine.

contact your DYNAVIN dealer for a replacement ibus box, this is a new issue that we just found out about so they may not know about it yet, if so they need to contact dynavin.

In most cases once you unplug the ibus box the HVAC should work normally, if it doesnt work, then you will need to have it recoded.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:24 PM   #658
redrider423
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Johnson City Tn
Posts: 159
My Ride: 2005 BMW M3 6MT Vert
How do you turn off the PDC. Not an option on my car but it pops up in reverse and interrupts my radio and or Bluetooth stream.
redrider423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:33 PM   #659
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,553
My Ride: BMW
contact your dealer and ask for the alternate ibus box program, the one that removes the PDC function.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 09:06 PM   #660
redrider423
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Johnson City Tn
Posts: 159
My Ride: 2005 BMW M3 6MT Vert
Sorry Jeff wasn't aware this was for a 5 series. I have a E-46
redrider423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d90, d95, d98, d99, d99 navigation system, dynavin, dynavin android, dynavin d99

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use