E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 51 votes, 4.96 average.
Old 04-01-2012, 09:44 AM   #1121
Fabio328ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 18
My Ride: 328Ci
no wifi adapter was compatible with android ? i do not belive that...
Fabio328ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 10:34 AM   #1122
korsar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: moscow
Posts: 9
My Ride: e46
Hello! I bought and put Enco B046. I have a problem, there is no sound in the android and when the DVD plays. Tell me what could be the reason?
korsar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 11:50 AM   #1123
monty13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 100
My Ride: 1999 e46 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty330i View Post
I don't think very many people ordered the Android units because of the reported wifi problems... I wanted an Android but decided to play it safe and get the Wince version
Exactly. I've hooked up a blue tooth adapter to the Android side, and it simply doesn't recognize it. I guess I could try hooking up a wifi adapter as well, but since the bluetooth adapter didn't work, I'm guessing a wifi adapter won't work either.

Until somebody can figure out a way to get either bluetooth or wifi working on the Android side, it's basically worthless in my opinion. Better off sticking with the cheaper WinCE version...
__________________
monty13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 03:54 PM   #1124
parrot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
My Ride: E46 318iA touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirty330i View Post
I don't think very many people ordered the Android units because of the reported wifi problems... I wanted an Android but decided to play it safe and get the Wince version
Android would be a safe play too. I like the options to design and use the apps you want. If you're using a 3G stick you can use it like wifi except the sync of your PC and the car. Wifi isn't working with WinCE, right?

Quote:
Originally Posted by monty13 View Post
Exactly. I've hooked up a blue tooth adapter to the Android side, and it simply doesn't recognize it. I guess I could try hooking up a wifi adapter as well, but since the bluetooth adapter didn't work, I'm guessing a wifi adapter won't work either.

Until somebody can figure out a way to get either bluetooth or wifi working on the Android side, it's basically worthless in my opinion. Better off sticking with the cheaper WinCE version...
But why do you want to hook up a BT dongle to the unit? BT is already installed and ok for the phone

Last edited by parrot; 04-01-2012 at 03:56 PM.
parrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 04:46 PM   #1125
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG
surly someone can work on the software side of things and get the android to fully functions and better than out of china factory
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 04:59 PM   #1126
r2t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 56
My Ride: '01 330i '06 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by china man View Post
surly someone can work on the software side of things and get the android to fully functions and better than out of china factory
...Patiently awaiting your update that you got it fixed...

I suppose it comes down to is the code available and who has the time to debug it. Then you have to consider post installation support. I learned a long time ago to state my disclaimer prior to doing any work.
__________________
RayK
'01 M5
'06 M3
'08 Kawasaki Concours C14
r2t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 05:07 PM   #1127
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2t2 View Post
...Patiently awaiting your update that you got it fixed...

I suppose it comes down to is the code available and who has the time to debug it. Then you have to consider post installation support. I learned a long time ago to state my disclaimer prior to doing any work.
I can fix quite a few things but programming is not one of them
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 07:02 PM   #1128
monty13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 100
My Ride: 1999 e46 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrot View Post
Android would be a safe play too. I like the options to design and use the apps you want. If you're using a 3G stick you can use it like wifi except the sync of your PC and the car. Wifi isn't working with WinCE, right?



But why do you want to hook up a BT dongle to the unit? BT is already installed and ok for the phone
Bluetooth only works on the windows side, not the android side. So, yes, Bluetooth works straight out of the box on the windows side, but it doesn't work on the android side. I'm trying to figure out a way to get either Bluetooth or wifi working on the android side.
monty13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 11:45 PM   #1129
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
Couple of questions:

My volume in radio goes up and down as I drive. For example , I set to volume 1 and while driving and speeding it will sound louder but not changing the level 1 , if I slow down it will sound lower but still volume 1. Also notice that when there is heavy bass, it will go louder too . I can post video of this.

Second, anyway that when you in reverse your music keeps playing???
Thanks

To help others, I figure out a solution for the problem that when you turn your car it randomly picks a mode.

This is because all your inputs from the back of your unit are touching causing an interference. And you have to imagine all the wires back there being smashed together, the chance of it touching the chassis is quite high.
So put electrical tape in all the Rca's and you will not have this problem .
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:43 AM   #1130
parrot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
My Ride: E46 318iA touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by monty13 View Post
Bluetooth only works on the windows side, not the android side. So, yes, Bluetooth works straight out of the box on the windows side, but it doesn't work on the android side. I'm trying to figure out a way to get either Bluetooth or wifi working on the android side.
ok but BT is already working with a phone for the hands free option, right?

Last edited by parrot; 04-02-2012 at 01:44 AM.
parrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:14 AM   #1131
Fabio328ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Italy
Posts: 18
My Ride: 328Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by parrot View Post
ok but BT is already working with a phone for the hands free option, right?
yes but not on android side...
Fabio328ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 07:28 AM   #1132
parrot
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
My Ride: E46 318iA touring
Ok. But why do you need a extra BT dongle?

Or am i wrong with my guess to pair my phone with the unit and make the calls with my phone over the units internal mic???

Last edited by parrot; 04-02-2012 at 08:15 AM.
parrot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:01 AM   #1133
Spiritwalker42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 155
My Ride: '02 M3 Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickedly View Post
Couple of questions:

My volume in radio goes up and down as I drive. Also notice that when there is heavy bass, it will go louder too .
So put electrical tape in all the Rca's and you will not have this problem .
Man.... I hope that once dialed in/configuring settings the sound volume issues are no longer issues.

I pretty much ripped out my old Kenwood system over the wkend and will start putting it back together this week.

from HTC
__________________
*Sharked*AA Headers*CRT RT/Cats*ESR Ti Tip Exhaust*AFE Stg II CAI*Lighting*Enco-B146:Nav:Blu:Magic Box*PSS10s*Rogue*SPC*VMR V710s/Potenzas*Carbon*




Spiritwalker42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:07 AM   #1134
r2t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 56
My Ride: '01 330i '06 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wickedly View Post
My volume in radio goes up and down as I drive. For example , I set to volume 1 and while driving and speeding it will sound louder but not changing the level 1 , if I slow down it will sound lower but still volume 1. Also notice that when there is heavy bass, it will go louder too . I can post video of this.
That could be a feature. I have HU's in other vehicles that have an option to set the degree of increase as the cabin noise increases. Perhaps there is a setting in the unit's A/V menus.
__________________
RayK
'01 M5
'06 M3
'08 Kawasaki Concours C14
r2t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:17 AM   #1135
koksi1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austri
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 320d
Hy i am new at this Forum and i hava a problem intalling my B146

I connected all wires an that thing doesnt want to start

On the red and the yellow wire is electricity!

Do i have to do anything else that it starts for the first time?

greets
koksi1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:18 AM   #1136
M127
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Philly
Posts: 69
My Ride: 2002 M3 Coupe/CB/6MT
For anyone that owns this unit........The sub output, is it a single female output or stereo output?
M127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:29 AM   #1137
koksi1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austri
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 320d
Quote:
Originally Posted by M127 View Post
For anyone that owns this unit........The sub output, is it a single female output or stereo output?
Its a singe output you have got to get a Y-Cable!
koksi1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 08:54 AM   #1138
M127
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Philly
Posts: 69
My Ride: 2002 M3 Coupe/CB/6MT
Quote:
Originally Posted by koksi1992 View Post
Its a singe output you have got to get a Y-Cable!
Thanks man!
M127 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 09:11 AM   #1139
Breyton-BMW
Registered User
 
Breyton-BMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Posts: 4,394
My Ride: Ti
Send a message via AIM to Breyton-BMW Send a message via Yahoo to Breyton-BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by koksi1992 View Post
Hy i am new at this Forum and i hava a problem intalling my B146

I connected all wires an that thing doesnt want to start

On the red and the yellow wire is electricity!

Do i have to do anything else that it starts for the first time?

greets
Have you tried the reset button?
__________________




Breyton-BMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 09:24 AM   #1140
koksi1992
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Austri
Posts: 7
My Ride: e46 320d
Yes i have also tried the reset button!

Normally it should start without doing anything am i right?
koksi1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use