E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 17 votes, 4.71 average. Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 08:28 AM   #81
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ac_2007 View Post
This.

If your Ignition and Battery icons are black in INPA, the device is connecting properly. At least then you can narrow down the problem.

Also, my laptop HDD just went out
So I purchased a new one, partitioned it, and installed XP just for all my programming software.
I'll be redoing this whole install over the weekend, as well as PA Soft.
Yup, INPA is connecting without a problem, SO the next thing would be the files in WInkfp, I followed the guide you posted but it seems like to me that I'm still doing something wrong in importing the Daten files. When redoing the whole install could you post the steps and maybe take some screen shots?
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 08:32 AM   #82
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
I will try this again today and write down everything i do, maybe you guys can spot what i'm doing wrong
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 11:16 AM   #83
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
how did you guys get past this when updating the Daten files?
Well after several days of messing about I am still at the starting spot! I get the exact same errors on both laptops.


Also I have several modules in my car that just do NOT want to respond to ANYTHING! I can use DIS, INPA, CARSOFT, PROGMAN, WInkfp, either one of my laptops and they will NOT communicate with the software. The DME being the one that pertains to this thread.

I then thought I would simply reflash with PROGMAN due to my WInkfp not booting up anymore, and I could not even reflash the US origonal DME back to my unit.

So I tried to do something basic and simple like program key settings. It would fail bringing up all the options that go with my car.

I have also tried to program with Ignition off, position 1, and position 2, with a batt charger on the batt.

I have also uninstalled all the software and reenstalled it. As I mentioned it appears that it is only partially working as some fields will auto populate and others will not, or it will straight up fail.

Yesterday was the most I was able to mess with it putting about 5 hours into testing and trouble shooting.
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 11:24 AM   #84
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeagolf View Post
Well after several days of messing about I am still at the starting spot! I get the exact same errors on both laptops.


Also I have several modules in my car that just do NOT want to respond to ANYTHING! I can use DIS, INPA, CARSOFT, PROGMAN, WInkfp, either one of my laptops and they will NOT communicate with the software. The DME being the one that pertains to this thread.

I then thought I would simply reflash with PROGMAN due to my WInkfp not booting up anymore, and I could not even reflash the US origonal DME back to my unit.

So I tried to do something basic and simple like program key settings. It would fail bringing up all the options that go with my car.

I have also tried to program with Ignition off, position 1, and position 2, with a batt charger on the batt.

I have also uninstalled all the software and reenstalled it. As I mentioned it appears that it is only partially working as some fields will auto populate and others will not, or it will straight up fail.

Yesterday was the most I was able to mess with it putting about 5 hours into testing and trouble shooting.
I got past those errors when I downloaded BMW tools form another source, than I got stuck with winkfp not being able to communicate with my dme
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 11:29 AM   #85
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
What key position are you supposed to turn to when programming?
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 01:58 PM   #86
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,972
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
I did it in key position 2. With all accessories turned off to save battery.

Didn't get a chance to reinstall everything this past weekend or I would've posted steps.
I'll just be following the instructions I've already posted in this thread.

One more thing, when running everything off Win7, every program was run in XP SP3 compatibility mode and as Admin.
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 06:28 PM   #87
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Downloaded tools from another source same issue. However my inpa is a newer version or something cause I don't even have an e46 option! So......
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:07 PM   #88
POLECAT
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tr
Posts: 130
My Ride: 2001 330ci M-T
+1
__________________
BMW For Life
POLECAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:10 PM   #89
Jmhockey1920
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 139
My Ride: 2002 325i
Btw stevenluczynski...what % is your windows :o
Jmhockey1920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:17 PM   #90
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
I reenstalled my dis and progman, I then did a replacement for my dme and it seems to have reflashed it. I'll try in a min to reflash with the euro dme. Anyone know how long it takes to update the tranny software? Im going on 20 min looking at this screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1328145412.492765.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	64.1 KB
ID:	435033  
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:38 PM   #91
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmhockey1920 View Post
Btw stevenluczynski...what % is your windows :o
I don't understand what the % windows is,
I'm running windows xp with a windows minimal theme to increase performance
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:44 PM   #92
POLECAT
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tr
Posts: 130
My Ride: 2001 330ci M-T
what can i do that ?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...ht_2855wt_1396

i will install a headers 2 weeks later. when i install it, eml will light on. can i delete eml light ?
__________________
BMW For Life
POLECAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:48 PM   #93
ac_2007
Registered User
 
ac_2007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 6,972
My Ride: 2004 M3, 2001 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeagolf View Post
Downloaded tools from another source same issue. However my inpa is a newer version or something cause I don't even have an e46 option! So......
Press Shift + F9
__________________
ac_2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:50 PM   #94
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Are we missing something simple? I remember reading someplace that for dis you need the straight USB obd cable but to program you need to switch pin 7&8. I wonder if this is my issue as well as others who have the Romania eBay cable?
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:52 PM   #95
Jmhockey1920
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 139
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
I don't understand what the % windows is,
I'm running windows xp with a windows minimal theme to increase performance
Sorry. I meant what % of tint do you have on your car? Is that 15% or 5%? Sorry again
Jmhockey1920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:52 PM   #96
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,404
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeagolf View Post
Are we missing something simple? I remember reading someplace that for dis you need the straight USB obd cable but to program you need to switch pin 7&8. I wonder if this is my issue as well as others who have the Romania eBay cable?
well AC_007 was able to reprogram his with the cable so I don't think so, I believe its a software Issue
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:03 PM   #97
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
well AC_007 was able to reprogram his with the cable so I don't think so, I believe its a software Issue
Ok I guess it's delete, reenstal tomorrow.

I'll try this.... And see what happens.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1328148143.882185.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	435035  
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 08:04 PM   #98
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Oh key position is 2
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 12:27 AM   #99
POLECAT
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tr
Posts: 130
My Ride: 2001 330ci M-T
Quote:
Originally Posted by POLECAT View Post
what can i do that ?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BMW-USB-OBD-...ht_2855wt_1396

i will install a headers 2 weeks later. when i install it, eml will light on. can i delete eml light ?
anyone help ?
__________________
BMW For Life
POLECAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 08:20 AM   #100
jeagolf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 100
My Ride: 04 330Ci Vert
Quote:
Originally Posted by POLECAT View Post
anyone help ?
I don't think so there are 3 options to do what you want. Check the fist post. http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=571990
jeagolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use