E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-19-2013, 12:47 AM   #141
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,147
My Ride: Turbo M3 7168 27PSI
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
S54 custom turbo setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
I will make all the logs and send them to you, also post here the vanos codes.

To explain in details what happens with the AFR: I start the car and the AFR is normal at 13-13.5, after I accelerate a few time the AFR drops to 15-16, after a few more accelerations the AFR comes back to normal 13-13.5, after acceleration also the RPM drops for a few seconds to 500-600 and then goes to normal just that AFR is going to 15-16.



Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Her r some of the codes that AEM gives

DME codes

10: Crankshaft sensor
19: Ignition coil, cyl#1
17: Ignition coil, cyl#2
18: Ignition coil, Cyl#3
34: Ignition coil, cyl#5
33: Ignition coil, cyl#6
32: Ignition coil, cyl#4
29: Mass air flow sensor
15: Exhaust camshaft VANOS retard Valve
16: Exhaust camshaft VANOS advance valve
48: Intake camshaft VANOS retard valve
43: Intake camshaft VANOS advance valve
B8: Intake camshaft VANOS position control
B9: Exhaust camshaft VANOS position control
AE: Air-fuel adaptation cyl#1-4
AF: Air-fuel adaptation cyl#5-8
4F: Exhaust gas temperature sensor
89: Jet stream pump
4D: Intake air temperature sensor


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 12:29 AM   #142
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,147
My Ride: Turbo M3 7168 27PSI
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
S54 custom turbo setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
Just started the car yesterday after the engine built.
I have put also a new vanos unit and still I receive vanos errors from the DME. At idle some times the car goes very quick in high AFR (15 to 17), I ha the same problem before the engine built and was thinking it's the vanos unit...
What else could it be? What logs should I make?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Check to Make sure ur 02 FEedback is set to no more than -5% to +5% Also ,make sure the 02 sensor gain is calibrated to ur sensor with the engine running to compensate for ground noise. ( u can use ur AEM serial gauge and compare it to ur AEM 02 gauge... Adjust till they r the same .. If its not the actual AFR will be fighting against the AEM ems and it will fluctuate....


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 05-20-2013 at 12:30 AM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 04:43 AM   #143
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 209
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
What is "Camshaft 2" in AEM, is it the intake camshaft? Because for this my tunner can not modify the angle of the axle, even if he puts in the map a certain angle - the axles remain at same position.
For Camshaft 1 is working perfect, also all sensors are working.

Anthony, I have sent you the log.

Last edited by Cipri; 05-20-2013 at 05:02 AM.
Cipri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2013, 02:27 PM   #144
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 209
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
S54 custom turbo setup

Who has the electric scheme of the HPF AEM?
It seems the output from the AEM for intake camshaft is not working, I know it is PVM10 and we can not locate it. Is it possible to switch it to another output?

Now was the perfect time for me since HPF is out of business...


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Cipri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 02:46 PM   #145
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 209
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
Cams issue was fixed, it has been one semiconductor fried.

I'm still having issues with the car, pretty annoying ones:
- Voltage read from AEM is less with approx. 1 volt compared to an external voltmeter readings
- throttle with engine running is having a small blank spot where I push the throttle and AEM doesn't read the TPS sensor, with engine stopped and only ignition on the readings are perfect

After engine is warmed and in normal working temperatures the AFR goes crazy at idle and also when slowing down during driving (intersections, traffic lights) the engine stops - I need to restart it and push a bit the throttle to not stay at idle because it dies again.

Maybe someone has some hints for me.
Cipri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 11:10 PM   #146
turbotoy2791
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: nc
Posts: 60
My Ride: 04 m3
Check your grounds AEM, engine, and chassis
turbotoy2791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 11:26 PM   #147
turbotoy2791
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: nc
Posts: 60
My Ride: 04 m3
Hi Cipra,

Are you able to get another header flange or have a bluprint of the flange.
turbotoy2791 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 01:29 PM   #148
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 209
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
Test setup for the engine build, everything is working ok now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	994271_321695847963892_1868147276_n.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	83.7 KB
ID:	511041   Click image for larger version

Name:	1016499_321695804630563_1366408584_n.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	511042   Click image for larger version

Name:	945926_321695917963885_1356191961_n.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	103.1 KB
ID:	511043  
Cipri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 06:20 PM   #149
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,147
My Ride: Turbo M3 7168 27PSI
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
S54 custom turbo setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
Test setup for the engine build, everything is working ok now
Glad things worked out for u man hp and torque come on way up there.


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2013, 07:06 PM   #150
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,864
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Edit nvm...was thinking of a different project.
__________________

Last edited by Commanderwiggin; 06-14-2013 at 07:23 PM.
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 01:27 PM   #151
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 209
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
I was at the strip in this weekend, because of the big turbo I can't have hard launches, only 2.0 60ft with 120 mph exit speed and 12.2 1/4 mile time.
Is there any possibility for LC on AEM v1? I realy need to build some boost for better 60ft time, I'm running Hoosier Quick Time Pro DOT 26x11.5x15
Cipri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 01:31 PM   #152
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,864
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
I was at the strip in this weekend, because of the big turbo I can't have hard launches, only 2.0 60ft with 120 mph exit speed and 12.2 1/4 mile time.
Is there any possibility for LC on AEM v1? I realy need to build some boost for better 60ft time, I'm running Hoosier Quick Time Pro DOT 26x11.5x15
You can have a 2 step rev limiter with anti-lag with the V1.
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 01:56 PM   #153
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 209
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
You have it? Some hints on who could help me set it up?

Thanks!
Cipri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 02:54 PM   #154
Twin_Turbo_S54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 657
My Ride: M3
Cipri,
have you logged 60-120 times?
__________________
E46 M3 Sedan All Wheel Drive Twin Turbo 1200 whp
E46 M3 Coupe Turbo 60-130 mph 4,2 seconds (2011)
E46 330 xi Mora Metallic
Twin_Turbo_S54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 03:57 PM   #155
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,864
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
You have it? Some hints on who could help me set it up?

Thanks!
My 2 step is enabled around 4k iirc...not sure who would be best to go over the details on setting the anti-lag up...a local tuner would be my recommendation.
__________________

Last edited by Commanderwiggin; 06-17-2013 at 03:57 PM.
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 04:43 PM   #156
Twin_Turbo_S54
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 657
My Ride: M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin View Post
My 2 step is enabled around 4k iirc...not sure who would be best to go over the details on setting the anti-lag up...a local tuner would be my recommendation.


John Reed.
__________________
E46 M3 Sedan All Wheel Drive Twin Turbo 1200 whp
E46 M3 Coupe Turbo 60-130 mph 4,2 seconds (2011)
E46 330 xi Mora Metallic
Twin_Turbo_S54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 06:03 PM   #157
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,864
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twin_Turbo_S54 View Post
John Reed.
Not so local but yep that would work
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 08:07 PM   #158
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,147
My Ride: Turbo M3 7168 27PSI
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
S54 custom turbo setup

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
I was at the strip in this weekend, because of the big turbo I can't have hard launches, only 2.0 60ft with 120 mph exit speed and 12.2 1/4 mile time.
Is there any possibility for LC on AEM v1? I realy need to build some boost for better 60ft time, I'm running Hoosier Quick Time Pro DOT 26x11.5x15
The HPF AEM has a spare output that u could use to hook up a switch. Then setup the 2step in the AEM and have it use that. U could even have it hooked to the clutch so when u pushed it in the rev limiter activate and then release with the clutch. AEMpro documentation has the instructions on how to set it up. I can help u with what pin to use.

Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 06-17-2013 at 08:09 PM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 08:10 PM   #159
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,147
My Ride: Turbo M3 7168 27PSI
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
S54 custom turbo setup

There is also a drag strip anti lag setup in the Aempro software for the AEM. Also the 2 step can be setup without a switch and run off of VSS input then set the lowest speed as the activation point. It's all in the AEMPro manual


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 06-18-2013 at 12:40 AM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 11:04 AM   #160
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 209
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
Re: S54 custom turbo setup

My AEM doesn't read the vehicle speed, is this normal?
Cipri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use