E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > ///M3 Forum

///M3 Forum
The BMW E46 ///M3 is the M version E46 and puts out an amazing 333 HP and 262 lb-ft of torque at stock specs! There are an amazing amount of modifications for both the coupe and convertible models so read up and get started modifying your cars today!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2017, 09:05 PM   #1
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Throttle Actuator

Anyone know how to synchronize a throttle actuator after replacing it with a new one? Can't seem to find a thread on it, or am I better off just taking it to the stealership to get it calibrated


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 05-01-2017, 09:16 PM   #2
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Or can I buy a used one and be fine? If so, does anyone have a used actuator with a decent amount of miles on it? Lol


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:29 PM   #3
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightsix_ View Post
Or can I buy a used one and be fine? If so, does anyone have a used actuator with a decent amount of miles on it? Lol


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics


You're good with a new or used one. No calibration required. I recently replaced mine I got one off this forum lol.


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:32 PM   #4
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ibarra View Post
You're good with a new or used one. No calibration required. I recently replaced mine I got one off this forum lol.


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


It's weird cause I see some people say it does and then others say it doesn't so it's super confusing lol was the one you got used?


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:33 PM   #5
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightsix_ View Post
It's weird cause I see some people say it does and then others say it doesn't so it's super confusing lol was the one you got used?


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


Yea mine was used. If i recall it had 80k miles. Surprisingly a lot of people selling some here and there man just look around. I got mine for 150 shipped


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:35 PM   #6
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ibarra View Post
Yea mine was used. If i recall it had 80k miles. Surprisingly a lot of people selling some here and there man just look around. I got mine for 150 shipped


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


I'll more then likely go the used route then, thanks for the reply man, appreciate the help


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:36 PM   #7
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Anytime man, always happy to help.


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:37 PM   #8
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Let us know how it goes as well


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2017, 09:39 PM   #9
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ibarra View Post
Let us know how it goes as well


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics


Will do


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2017, 06:34 PM   #10
danwilz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Staten Island, New York
Posts: 547
My Ride: E46 M3 Vert 2012 X5
I just installed one (new) Sunday on a friends car, the only thing I did was adjust the set screw the same as the one removed. Cleared any codes with a Peake tool and all was good to go. The calibration is B.S
danwilz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 08:07 PM   #11
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ibarra View Post
Anytime man, always happy to help.


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics


When you installed your used one did you have any problems? I just installed a used one and now it's completely in limp mode from the start, won't let me rev passed 3k


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:04 PM   #12
Topazzar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Perth
Posts: 74
My Ride: '02 M3
I'm in the same situation with my M3 now after having the plenum off to replace the SMG pump motor. Yesterday from a cold start it was in limp mode, I stopped and started the car twice at sets of lights and it went away. This morning from a cold start it was not in limp mode. I've read that it goes away once warmed up but not always the case.

The reset is to hold the throttle pedal down, turn the key on to position 2, count to 10, turn off and remove key, then start the car and hope it's gone. It didn't work for me but I have done it 3 or 4 times in the last week so who knows.

Safest bet is a brand new actuator and TPS #1 and #2 sensors. ECS has it all ($750USD)
__________________
E46 M3|ESS Supercharged|SG V1 Muffler|Silvers Coilovers
Topazzar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:29 PM   #13
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topazzar View Post
I'm in the same situation with my M3 now after having the plenum off to replace the SMG pump motor. Yesterday from a cold start it was in limp mode, I stopped and started the car twice at sets of lights and it went away. This morning from a cold start it was not in limp mode. I've read that it goes away once warmed up but not always the case.

The reset is to hold the throttle pedal down, turn the key on to position 2, count to 10, turn off and remove key, then start the car and hope it's gone. It didn't work for me but I have done it 3 or 4 times in the last week so who knows.

Safest bet is a brand new actuator and TPS #1 and #2 sensors. ECS has it all ($750USD)


I noticed all my CHF 11S fluid was on the ground, not sure how it leaked out but do you think that might have something to do with it? I filled it but it's still happening, my TPS #1, #2 and my pedal are brand new, that's why I went after the actuator but I read you had to recalibrate the new ones and I wasn't sure how to do it so I just bought a used one, supposably it had 50k but I'm not sure


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 09:40 PM   #14
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightsix_ View Post
When you installed your used one did you have any problems? I just installed a used one and now it's completely in limp mode from the start, won't let me rev passed 3k


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


I had no problems whatsoever with mine. Running perfectly fine


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 09:43 PM   #15
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ibarra View Post
I had no problems whatsoever with mine. Running perfectly fine


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


I might just end up buying a new one cause idk what's going on with it lol I can't get it out of limp mode now


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 09:45 PM   #16
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightsix_ View Post
I might just end up buying a new one cause idk what's going on with it lol I can't get it out of limp mode now


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


Possibly might be it but did you put everything back in correctly? Connected everything? Cleaned every connector there is under the plenum?


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 09:51 PM   #17
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ibarra View Post
Possibly might be it but did you put everything back in correctly? Connected everything? Cleaned every connector there is under the plenum?


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


Yeah I triple checked everything just to make sure it was good, I re-installed my old one and did the throttle reset but it was on its way out anyway, I'm hoping installing a new one will clear up the problem


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 09:54 PM   #18
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightsix_ View Post
Yeah I triple checked everything just to make sure it was good, I re-installed my old one and did the throttle reset but it was on its way out anyway, I'm hoping installing a new one will clear up the problem


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


Did you use the new( used)linkage or did you use the one that you had on your car already?


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 09:59 PM   #19
Straightsix_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: US
Posts: 42
My Ride: 2005 E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3ibarra View Post
Did you use the new( used)linkage or did you use the one that you had on your car already?


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app


What piece is the linkage? Like the rod/cable thing that opens and closes the throttle bodies? If so yeah I used the one I had on my car


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
Straightsix_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2017, 10:01 PM   #20
M3ibarra
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: South Gate CA
Posts: 22
My Ride: 04 e46 m3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Straightsix_ View Post
What piece is the linkage? Like the rod/cable thing that opens and closes the throttle bodies? If so yeah I used the one I had on my car


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app

Yea that lol n hm I see, I used one that came with the used one I bought



Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
M3ibarra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2016 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use