E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2015, 10:28 PM   #1
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
ESS TS2 running too rich but still pinging

Hi guys, some of you remember me from couple of years ago (check out the link in the sig).
When I put the car together 3 years ago it ran ok but it was pinging under load especially when going from cruising into boost. It frustrated the hell out of me. While troubleshooting I went through couple of tunes, larger pulley, new ICV, O2 sensors, smoke testing, and a lot of money.
Nothing helped, the car wasn't very smooth, the accelerator pedal was more like an on/off switch. But mainly I couldn't do what I really wanted - full throttle without pinging.

ESS guys have been very patient with me and supported me long after the warranty expired.

Well, yesterday I fixed my car. The problem was the fuel pressure regulator in fuel filter. I put in a brand new OEM one at the time of the supercharger installation as preventative maintenance. That's why I kept skipping it later when looking for culprit.

So ... if your car doesn't respond smooth to throttle inputs, stinks like running rich, doesn't like cold starts, and pings under load ... you know what to look for.

Here is more details: The FPR is controlled by vacuum line from the intake manifold (between the compressor and intake ports). This space goes from about -12PSI to +11PSI. So with defective FPR or leaking vacuum tube you have vacuum leak while cruising and boost leak under acceleration. That confuses the crap out of the ECU. It goes from very lean to very rich all the time. Also your fuel pressure could be too high or too low at times.

What I should have paid more attention to was the fact my boost gauge was only reading about 8PSI (I thought it was correct as that's what the TS2 should be running). Other people reported as high as 11 and said it's because some pressure is lost by the time it get's through the intercooler cores. I didn't believe it and blamed it on different gauges people use.

OMG I love my car! Holy crap, the boost builds so fast now. I grin like an idiot everytime I accelerate
I can't wait to put the 83mm pulley and more aggressive tune back on!
__________________
Because sleeper

Last edited by lab rat; 02-02-2015 at 10:28 PM.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-02-2015, 10:43 PM   #2
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 626
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
Hi guys, some of you remember me from couple of years ago (check out the link in the sig).
When I put the car together 3 years ago it ran ok but it was pinging under load especially when going from cruising into boost. It frustrated the hell out of me. While troubleshooting I went through couple of tunes, larger pulley, new ICV, O2 sensors, smoke testing, and a lot of money.
Nothing helped, the car wasn't very smooth, the accelerator pedal was more like an on/off switch. But mainly I couldn't do what I really wanted - full throttle without pinging.

ESS guys have been very patient with me and supported me long after the warranty expired.

Well, yesterday I fixed my car. The problem was the fuel pressure regulator in fuel filter. I put in a brand new OEM one at the time of the supercharger installation as preventative maintenance. That's why I kept skipping it later when looking for culprit.

So ... if your car doesn't respond smooth to throttle inputs, stinks like running rich, doesn't like cold starts, and pings under load ... you know what to look for.

Here is more details: The FPR is controlled by vacuum line from the intake manifold (between the compressor and intake ports). This space goes from about -12PSI to +11PSI. So with defective FPR or leaking vacuum tube you have vacuum leak while cruising and boost leak under acceleration. That confuses the crap out of the ECU. It goes from very lean to very rich all the time. Also your fuel pressure could be too high or too low at times.

What I should have paid more attention to was the fact my boost gauge was only reading about 8PSI (I thought it was correct as that's what the TS2 should be running). Other people reported as high as 11 and said it's because some pressure is lost by the time it get's through the intercooler cores. I didn't believe it and blamed it on different gauges people use.

OMG I love my car! Holy crap, the boost builds so fast now. I grin like an idiot everytime I accelerate
I can't wait to put the 83mm pulley and more aggressive tune back on!
Good work, Glad you found the culprit in the end.
I know what ya mean when you finally can enjoy all that power that should have been there before the FPR gave up.
My had been playing up for a few weeks now, last night i put my old Crank Position Sensor from my old motor in........ Yep, the power is back and pullen lick a moFo.... this explains when I put it on the dyno Fri I had lost 26 rear kW.
I will have to dyno again and see if it picks up more kW from my previous best.
Love this car.

That will be great when you get a smaller pulley and tune........
What boost are you aiming for.
Will you do before and after dyno?

Cheers
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 12:22 AM   #3
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
My car never ran right. The FPR was bad from the day 1. So this is a whole new experience for me.
I dynoed the car with the smaller pulley and aggressive tune after the installation and it pulled 317 (331 uncorrected) on a Mustang dyno while pinging. But it wasn't losing as much boost couple of years ago.
I will likely take it back to the dyno when I'm back to full power, the pulley should be good for 8.5PSI. I'm also planning on putting in kid's booster seats, "Baby on board" sticker and take it to the local drag strip
__________________
Because sleeper
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 02:19 AM   #4
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 626
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
My car never ran right. The FPR was bad from the day 1. So this is a whole new experience for me.
I dynoed the car with the smaller pulley and aggressive tune after the installation and it pulled 317 (331 uncorrected) on a Mustang dyno while pinging. But it wasn't losing as much boost couple of years ago.
I will likely take it back to the dyno when I'm back to full power, the pulley should be good for 8.5PSI. I'm also planning on putting in kid's booster seats, "Baby on board" sticker and take it to the local drag strip
Not a bad number considering the problem you were having, it will be good to see the difference on the dyno.

LOL, kool idea - take some photos when your at the drags.
What time are you hoping to pull?
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 10:50 AM   #5
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
Low 13 but dreaming of high 12 (never been on a drag strip, not gonna happen with my driving skills )
It's winter here so it will be few months before the track opens. But it's something I've been planning to do.
Stuart ran 12.2 in his wagon but he's got another 100hp (TS3) and likely wider tires in the back. My new tires will be 265s (on 255 at the moment).
__________________
Because sleeper
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 05:46 PM   #6
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 626
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
Low 13 but dreaming of high 12 (never been on a drag strip, not gonna happen with my driving skills )
It's winter here so it will be few months before the track opens. But it's something I've been planning to do.
Stuart ran 12.2 in his wagon but he's got another 100hp (TS3) and likely wider tires in the back. My new tires will be 265s (on 255 at the moment).
Winter here, now that is the time to drag - We don't have snow, ice and sleet though where I live.
Yes, with the extra HP you need the extra traction to go with it - really helps.

I'm running 265 35 18's Hankook Z221's, an absolute huge difference to traction. So when looking for your 265's find some decent tyres.
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 06:12 PM   #7
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
I'll be replacing my Ventus 12 (absolute crap in mild temperatures where I live 15-25C in summer) probably going to go with Continental DW
__________________
Because sleeper
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:38 AM   #8
ESS Tuning
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 20
My Ride: 2002 M3
Congrats lab rat! Glad you got it fixed, now time for some hard pulls come down to where its warm!
ESS Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 10:52 AM   #9
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
I'm cautiously optimistic. I put the 83mm pulley back in yesterday and cleared fuel adaptations. There is still some pinging but if that goes away I'll be looking for more aggressive tune (currently running the "bad gas TS2 tune").
I almost drove down to Arizona and asked you guys to take a look at it when I couldn't figure out what was wrong.
__________________
Because sleeper

Last edited by lab rat; 02-04-2015 at 11:00 AM.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 01:55 PM   #10
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
Hey Bill, I'm assuming you are a sales guy but I'll still give it a shot: Could you tell me what the black plastic cylinder with yellow sticker is? Is that the bypass valve? Does it need to freely move up and down?

__________________
Because sleeper
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 02:57 PM   #11
ESS Tuning
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 20
My Ride: 2002 M3
Mr. Rat,

I am one of the sales guys but I work out of the shop so I can always get tech questions answered. The component in question is the bypass diaphragm, it should move freely as well be able to hold a vacuum.

If you need one we got them!

Bill@esstuning.com if you need to get a hold of me.
ESS Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 08:24 PM   #12
Davew
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,564
My Ride: 2004 330ci Msport
Sorry to thread jack, Bill@esstuning, could you tell me why my ESS flash cable would be showing this message?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	185.0 KB
ID:	589273  
Davew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 09:24 PM   #13
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
This version of e-flash requires another patch file that needs to be run to unlock it.
It's called cable firmware update - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/10142344/xdcode.zip
You need to run it while connected to the car.
__________________
Because sleeper

Last edited by lab rat; 02-04-2015 at 09:34 PM.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 09:28 PM   #14
Davew
OEM ///Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,564
My Ride: 2004 330ci Msport
Thanks Lab rat
Davew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 09:36 PM   #15
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
Meanwhile, I swapped back the 83mm and the roads were dry this morning Wheeeeeee!
__________________
Because sleeper

Last edited by lab rat; 02-04-2015 at 09:58 PM.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 03:35 PM   #16
ESS Tuning
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 20
My Ride: 2002 M3
Lab Rat to the rescue! That's the exact file I was gonna send you Davew, should clear up your issue no problems, if you have any other trouble let me know!!

Bill
Bill@esstuning.com
480-525-9160
ESS Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 03:37 PM   #17
ESS Tuning
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Chandler AZ
Posts: 20
My Ride: 2002 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
Meanwhile, I swapped back the 83mm and the roads were dry this morning Wheeeeeee!
Hows the car running??
ESS Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 06:05 PM   #18
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
I just went through the upgrade to e-flash version .15 so I had to do the same thing. Good thing you have the file on the website under support, you could maybe just add a note to let people know they need to run it (and how to run it, I tried it with the cable only connected to the PC and it didn't work).

How does the car run? To quote myself:

Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
Wheeeeeee!
It's really wet here now so I can't open it up but I can see things improved drastically. It's interesting how the TCS works now. Before I fixed the boost/vacuum leak the TCS was not able to do small adjustment and completely bogged the engine down. I hated it and kept turning TCS off. Now I can leave it on and it does exactly what it would do on a stock car.

I'm seeing 8PSI (before the laminova cores) as early as 3k RPM - take that centrifugal superchargers
Asbjorn will be sending me a more aggressive tune soon.

Question for you: Do you know how many times I can reflash the ECU? I think mine was completely wiped when I sent it to you. Then it got reflashed with a stock 325 tune when there was a problem with the VIN. Then it got updated with e-flash once. I read somewhere that you only have limited number of "slots" in the EEPROM?
__________________
Because sleeper

Last edited by lab rat; 02-05-2015 at 06:07 PM.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2015, 07:32 PM   #19
cosmos328Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 626
My Ride: 328Ci -M54B30 on E85
Quote:
Originally Posted by lab rat View Post
I just went through the upgrade to e-flash version .15 so I had to do the same thing. Good thing you have the file on the website under support, you could maybe just add a note to let people know they need to run it (and how to run it, I tried it with the cable only connected to the PC and it didn't work).

How does the car run? To quote myself:



It's really wet here now so I can't open it up but I can see things improved drastically. It's interesting how the TCS works now. Before I fixed the boost/vacuum leak the TCS was not able to do small adjustment and completely bogged the engine down. I hated it and kept turning TCS off. Now I can leave it on and it does exactly what it would do on a stock car.

I'm seeing 8PSI (before the laminova cores) as early as 3k RPM - take that centrifugal superchargers
Asbjorn will be sending me a more aggressive tune soon.

Question for you: Do you know how many times I can reflash the ECU? I think mine was completely wiped when I sent it to you. Then it got reflashed with a stock 325 tune when there was a problem with the VIN. Then it got updated with e-flash once. I read somewhere that you only have limited number of "slots" in the EEPROM?
LOL, you will have to waite until it warms up for you to really enjoy your car after all this time. I am glad you can really enjoy your car now.

At 3k I get atleast 12psi pre-laminover - take that as well CS.... LOL
__________________
cosmos328Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 04:06 PM   #20
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,238
My Ride: '02 330iT
Ok, can someone record a video of your boost gauge when accelerating from 2000RPMs (3rd or 4th gear)? I'm still getting inconsistent boost I would like to see what it should look like. Ideally someone with 83mm pulley but 81 or 85 should be fine too.
Thanks
__________________
Because sleeper
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use