E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2014, 02:07 PM   #1
Adrian14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 28
My Ride: 01' 330ci
Where did you install your aftermarket amp??

I'm installing an amp and sub in my 330ci, and i've been looking around at different installs. Just wondering where you guys have mounted your amps in the trunk? Please feel free to comment!! Include pics if you can

If you had to make mounts or brackets please include what you did.
Adrian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-04-2014, 05:56 PM   #2
Gatorsurgeon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hattiesburg
Posts: 80
My Ride: 2003 BMW M3
Up under the trunk. This was a sensible move especially in a car with the factory nav because I kept the stock headunit. The guts of the stock "headunit", the radio and the nav, are in the left side of the trunk, so putting the amps there made it a shorter trip for the wires. It's also a nice move because it took up no useful space in the trunk. You can see the Stealthboxes in the pic as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1010391smaller.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	383.3 KB
ID:	560796  
__________________
2003 LSB M3, SMG, Dinan S3-R conversion, incl. 3.91 differential
Brembo BBK w. custom-painted LSB calipers
Dinan-JRZ's, Turner adjustable camber plates, Dinan wheels for street, D-force LTW's for track
JL Audio ZR-650 CSi's, JL Audio 300/2 in front
JLAudio Stealthboxes, JL Audio 250/1 in back
Avin Avant-2 android headunit, Audiocontrol 3XS crossover, Audiocontrol EQS
My other car is a Fisker Karma

Gatorsurgeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2014, 06:30 PM   #3
0creativity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brisbane, Austraila
Posts: 26
My Ride: '99 323i manual
I've left mine on display on the right side.
It's tucked out of the way and just mounted to the carpet with large washers on the back. There is a metal bracket behind that you can mount to if you have a heavy amp but mine doesn't move so I haven't seen the need to.
Standard 5 metre RCA's reach from the head deck and the battery is right under so it's a very short run.

2014-06-05 09.11.25

2014-06-05 09.10.56
__________________
0creativity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 08:58 AM   #4
TnT817
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 220
My Ride: 01 330ci
I built a rack for my amps.
__________________

Last edited by TnT817; 06-06-2014 at 08:58 AM.
TnT817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 03:29 PM   #5
StereoInstaller1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Centralia, WA
Posts: 93
My Ride: 4 door demo booth
Here is our setup:

StereoInstaller1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 11:57 AM   #6
NyC35AV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 220
My Ride: 99' 323i zsp
And Luke takes the cake again!!! I'll order one as soon as I'm done getting my subframe fixed! Any plans for a dual speaker box? Also I don't have a own CD changer so my passenger side carpet trim is actually different from the one pictured.
NyC35AV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 07:06 PM   #7
bobm3
Senior Eurowerkz Member
 
bobm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bklyn
Posts: 12,732
My Ride: 2003m3smg
here is a few set ups in my car





bob
__________________

Last edited by bobm3; 06-13-2014 at 07:11 PM.
bobm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 01:35 AM   #8
Adrian14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Posts: 28
My Ride: 01' 330ci
Well I decided to go ahead and make a bracket to fit my Rockford foagate P300x1 amp in the stock 6 disc CD changer location. I installed a GROM so I didn't need it anyway. I made a template and found a local fab shop to do it for $50. I used 20 guage stainless steel. Now everything will be tucked away behind the trunk panel for a clean install!

[IMG][/IMG]





Adrian14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use