E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-29-2012, 06:36 PM   #1
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,321
My Ride: 2006 GTI
IT Guys - Need to upgrade a hard drive

I have a laptop with a 64gb hard drive, as you can imagine I have very little room left. I purchased a 128gb SSD the other day with the intent to install it tomorrow.

What is the most simple way for me to transfer everything over? I know I can use the windows profile transfer but im not sure if that will move programs. I looked at a few cloning programs but im not sure if they will work with different drive sizes.

Im open to suggestions and recommendations, what is your method for replacing/upgrading hard drives?
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 07:30 PM   #2
braymond141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakhurst, Ca
Posts: 1,748
My Ride: 96 M3, 98 M3, 01 M5
HDClone is excellent, simple, and fast. http://www.miray.de/products/sat.hdclone.html

I hope you're not using XP with that solid state though.
braymond141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 07:48 PM   #3
mcygan67
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 5
My Ride: E46 318i N42 Auto
If you are using Windows and has been for a few years, it may be worth while to do a fresh install as the Windows' registry would, by now, be really messy and you will find a fresh install will improve performance.
mcygan67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 07:55 PM   #4
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,321
My Ride: 2006 GTI
Quote:
Originally Posted by braymond141 View Post
HDClone is excellent, simple, and fast. http://www.miray.de/products/sat.hdclone.html

I hope you're not using XP with that solid state though.
Im using Windows 7, I was also looking at clonezilla.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcygan67 View Post
If you are using Windows and has been for a few years, it may be worth while to do a fresh install as the Windows' registry would, by now, be really messy and you will find a fresh install will improve performance.
Good point, I may actually do just that. I just dont want to install the 20+ apps I have installed.
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:02 PM   #5
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Such City
Posts: 5,634
My Ride: '02 Dogemobile Shibe
Winclone. It's an amazing tool. I use it for backups all the time, but it also does drive cloning. It's extremely fast. I'm talking, high compression, 90GB worth of stuff backed up wirelessly to my server in 1.5 hours.

http://twocanoes.com/winclone/
__________________
Zell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:08 PM   #6
scott0482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 674
My Ride: 2001 530i
Send a message via AIM to scott0482
You also have to (probably should) align the SSD if you clone it from a standard hard drive..

http://www.sevenforums.com/tutorials...alignment.html
__________________
scott0482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:23 PM   #7
braymond141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakhurst, Ca
Posts: 1,748
My Ride: 96 M3, 98 M3, 01 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nt_loader View Post
Im using Windows 7, I was also looking at clonezilla.

.
Good good. Make sure you are using updated AHCI drivers that better support TRIM for SSDs. http://www.station-drivers.com/telec...ivers.com).exe Alignment is up to you, but not needed.

Additionally, with a modern computer it really isn't necessary to do a clean install for "speed". There is very little to be gained if you already have a clean working OS/Program setup.
braymond141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:28 PM   #8
MachRc
E46Fanatic
 
MachRc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,475
My Ride: 2003 Technik S1 M3
you will be disappointed with realizing sata2's sub 300mb read and write compared to sata3's 500-600mb read and write. BUt it wont matter because it will still be blazing fast.

HDclone or you can go oldschool like norton ghost.

you might not have to ahci since the laptop prob doesn't support sata3 but i guess I would do it anyways even though there are very little gains over regular ide.

just picked up third vertex4 240)something) 120 wasnt cutting it.
__________________

"We've come a long long way together. Through the hard times and the good.
I have to celebrate you baby,.. I have to priase you like I should.."
MachRc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:35 PM   #9
braymond141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakhurst, Ca
Posts: 1,748
My Ride: 96 M3, 98 M3, 01 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by MachRc View Post
you will be disappointed with realizing sata2's sub 300mb read and write compared to sata3's 500-600mb read and write. BUt it wont matter because it will still be blazing fast.

HDclone or you can go oldschool like norton ghost.

you might not have to ahci since the laptop prob doesn't support sata3 but i guess I would do it anyways even though there are very little gains over regular ide.

just picked up third vertex4 240)something) 120 wasnt cutting it.
Current laptops support SATA3 natively. I wouldn't assume NT has something too old... as far as I remember he's quite into the software side of technology.

For proper TRIM support the bios must be set to AHCI. IDE will kill off your SSD.

The indilinx controllers are too slow in my opinion. Whether or not the new drives have insane IOP's, they feel slower than the Agility/Vertex 3 series (which have finally been solid for awhile now). As buggy as the Sandforce controllers are... when the firmware is right, they are extremely fast. Maybe the indilinx will gain in speed, but I was not impressed with them... even in RAID 0 they were slow.

Last edited by braymond141; 08-29-2012 at 08:36 PM.
braymond141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:41 PM   #10
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,321
My Ride: 2006 GTI
Ok I forgot to mention the hard drive is encypted with truecrypt, I wonder if I will need to un-install it before make a clone of it.
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:41 PM   #11
braymond141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakhurst, Ca
Posts: 1,748
My Ride: 96 M3, 98 M3, 01 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nt_loader View Post
Ok I forgot to mention the hard drive is encypted with truecrypt, I wonder if I will need to un-install it before make a clone of it.
Yes, you probably will have to.
braymond141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2012, 08:52 PM   #12
Green_Shine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North
Posts: 373
My Ride: Back seat riding
Reinstall windows and then robocopy
__________________
Green_Shine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:35 AM   #13
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,321
My Ride: 2006 GTI
Thanks for all the suggestions, here is what I am doing.

Purchased a Micro Sata SSD to USB connector from Fry's first thing this morning. I am using HD Clone to copy over the smaller hard drive to the new drive, I didnt remove the encryption as a test to see if it will actually work.

I will post back the results when im done
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:21 AM   #14
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,321
My Ride: 2006 GTI
Well that didnt work, removing the encryption now and trying again.

Last edited by Nt_loader; 08-30-2012 at 10:30 AM.
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:22 AM   #15
MachRc
E46Fanatic
 
MachRc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 6,475
My Ride: 2003 Technik S1 M3
well now we know !
__________________

"We've come a long long way together. Through the hard times and the good.
I have to celebrate you baby,.. I have to priase you like I should.."
MachRc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:27 AM   #16
scott0482
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 674
My Ride: 2001 530i
Send a message via AIM to scott0482
Quote:
Originally Posted by braymond141 View Post
Current laptops support SATA3 natively. I wouldn't assume NT has something too old... as far as I remember he's quite into the software side of technology.

For proper TRIM support the bios must be set to AHCI. IDE will kill off your SSD.

The indilinx controllers are too slow in my opinion. Whether or not the new drives have insane IOP's, they feel slower than the Agility/Vertex 3 series (which have finally been solid for awhile now). As buggy as the Sandforce controllers are... when the firmware is right, they are extremely fast. Maybe the indilinx will gain in speed, but I was not impressed with them... even in RAID 0 they were slow.

I killed an SSD by using it in a Dell Latitude D620. Even though the chipset supports AHCI, they removed it from the bios..
__________________
scott0482 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:50 AM   #17
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,474
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
This thread reminded my how much you fall off hardware knowledge by entering management.

Lol
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'busa View Post
I agree with JonJon.
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:52 AM   #18
accolade
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI
Posts: 201
My Ride: O||||||O
I have to ask, from the first time you posted I've always thought your name was a reference to this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NT_loader

Was I right?
accolade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:53 AM   #19
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,321
My Ride: 2006 GTI
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJon View Post
This thread reminded my how much you fall off hardware knowledge by entering management.

Lol
Yea tell me about, I havent been hands on in MANY years. All I know how to do is build teams and motivate/empower people to get the job done.
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 10:56 AM   #20
Nt_loader
ASA NO MO
 
Nt_loader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UT
Posts: 2,321
My Ride: 2006 GTI
Quote:
Originally Posted by accolade View Post
I have to ask, from the first time you posted I've always thought your name was a reference to this:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NT_loader

Was I right?
Definately
Nt_loader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use