E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-09-2012, 04:46 PM   #1
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
Tunable ECU/ECM?

I have been searching everywhere, and I know there are a few tunable standalones that work for non-M but I cannot figure out which ones will work.

Does anyone know of anyone that makes a tunable ECU for the 323i? I know they will probably cost somewhere in the 2500-3500 dollar range. If anyone has other ideas let me know. I want to go turbo but may have to do a supercharger instead since they make bolt on kits but I am looking to keep more torque and the AA stage 2 supercharger doesnt make enough for my taste.
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-09-2012, 05:58 PM   #2
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,138
My Ride: '02 330iT
Under the hood of the 323 is not the right place to look for torque. I had the ESS twinscrew on a 325 and I only had about 200wtq.
It was fun but not as much fun as supercharged 330 (310wtq).
__________________
Because sleeper.

Last edited by lab rat; 04-09-2012 at 05:59 PM.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 07:36 PM   #3
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
How did the 330 make that much more torque?
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:09 PM   #4
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,138
My Ride: '02 330iT
Longer stroke, intercooler, additional 1.5 PSI (compared to the stage 1).
__________________
Because sleeper.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:11 PM   #5
zcchen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: China/La Jolla, CA
Posts: 164
My Ride: Z3M/E90M3
Some companies can build u harness for whatever car.. Apex does Pectel, Vipec and Motec I believe.. ProEFI is also another option.. the harness can be made given enough time and money.. don't believe there is any PnP kit for non-Ms
zcchen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:20 AM   #6
SweTurbo
Big Pimpin'
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,899
My Ride: 323i -98
Quote:
Originally Posted by zcchen View Post
Some companies can build u harness for whatever car.. Apex does Pectel, Vipec and Motec I believe.. ProEFI is also another option.. the harness can be made given enough time and money.. don't believe there is any PnP kit for non-Ms
ProEFI has a PnP i was told by jason before

You should select ECU by whoever can do the tning for you , if you buy an ecu and have no tuner for it... well you can figure the rest out
SweTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 10:34 AM   #7
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
I checked out ProEFI and nothing was on their website, but I will call them later today.
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 10:57 AM   #8
SKIPPY PB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Removed - tim330i
Posts: 1,016
My Ride: YZ125
lol at this thread.

Last edited by SKIPPY PB; 04-12-2012 at 11:20 AM.
SKIPPY PB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:15 AM   #9
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
Most stock ECU's are not capable of calculating fuel and ignition timing for boost, which is why everyone has to tune their cars. I am willing to have my car tuned but my problem is that I cannot find any info on proper ways to turbo my car as I do not want the linear power band of a AA2 Supercharger.
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:35 AM   #10
SweTurbo
Big Pimpin'
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,899
My Ride: 323i -98
A standalone is great if you actually work on your car , if you just want it to go fast and turn left then hit up nick @ techniquetuning.com
SweTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 11:55 AM   #11
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
does anyone know anything about that shark edit software?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Bimmer App
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:14 PM   #12
sunnyjay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 189
My Ride: 01 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckrice94 View Post
Most stock ECU's are not capable of calculating fuel and ignition timing for boost, which is why everyone has to tune their cars. I am willing to have my car tuned but my problem is that I cannot find any info on proper ways to turbo my car as I do not want the linear power band of a AA2 Supercharger.
Wrong, you have know how to in the form of changing the coding.
sunnyjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:27 PM   #13
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
my main goal is to have software so that i can tune the car myself. I have friends that tune their own subarus and mitsubishis after building their engine and turbo systems from the ground up. our biggest issue is finding the software to modify fuel trims, ignition timing, etc on the stock ecm.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Bimmer App
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:38 PM   #14
sunnyjay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 189
My Ride: 01 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckrice94 View Post
my main goal is to have software so that i can tune the car myself. I have friends that tune their own subarus and mitsubishis after building their engine and turbo systems from the ground up. our biggest issue is finding the software to modify fuel trims, ignition timing, etc on the stock ecm.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Bimmer App
Yes that is the issue, its not very diy friendly unless you understanding coding/hex addressing. There is a open source tuning solution for all the dsms and subarus and its easy to use.
sunnyjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:48 PM   #15
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnyjay View Post
Yes that is the issue, its not very diy friendly unless you understanding coding/hex addressing. There is a open source tuning solution for all the dsms and subarus and its easy to use.
So my best bet is to wait for the Shark Edit? I am just trying to figure out my best way to build my car as I dont want to just buy a kit. Also, if I throw the money at my car that a kit would require, I would make less power and spend more money than just trading my car in for an M5 so I at this point am stuck between a rock and a hard place.

I am really open for any ideas!
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:51 PM   #16
sunnyjay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 189
My Ride: 01 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckrice94 View Post
So my best bet is to wait for the Shark Edit? I am just trying to figure out my best way to build my car as I dont want to just buy a kit. Also, if I throw the money at my car that a kit would require, I would make less power and spend more money than just trading my car in for an M5 so I at this point am stuck between a rock and a hard place.

I am really open for any ideas!
You can wait for shark edit but I doubt it will come out. You can alway use some of the other stand alones like proefi, vipec, motec, and others.
sunnyjay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 12:59 PM   #17
redneckrice94
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minnesnowda
Posts: 386
My Ride: 2000 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by sunnyjay View Post
You can wait for shark edit but I doubt it will come out. You can alway use some of the other stand alones like proefi, vipec, motec, and others.
ProEFI looks like it would be the best of the ones you listed, however, can you tune proefi or other standalones to use the dualvanos system properly?
__________________
"If you cant stand behind our Troops, feel free to stand in front of them."

redneckrice94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 04:45 PM   #18
02PRUV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,794
My Ride: E46 M3 Turbo
Use Vipec. And yes it can do the vanos. I use one on my M3 and it works great with the vanos.

They also have all the BMW setups so you can go in and choose your crank and cam triggers from a drop down menu and just start tuning. They would also probably have a base map to get you running.
__________________
Rides:

BMW E46 M3 Turbo 570rwhp @18psi (old setup)
BMW E46 M3 LSX 427ci 800hp N/A
Ultima GTR LSX 440ci 800hp N/A
VY SS Ute Turbo 1004.6rwhp @ 28psi E85
Ford Escort Mk2 2JZGTE 600rwhp @14 psi
04 Yamaha R1 154.3rwhp
ISUZU FZR550 tilt tray (GT35 Turbo)

Last edited by 02PRUV; 04-10-2012 at 04:47 PM.
02PRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:14 PM   #19
mike@maximumpsi
boost junky
 
mike@maximumpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Linden, NJ
Posts: 547
My Ride: 02M3T, 97M3T
Quote:
Originally Posted by redneckrice94 View Post
I have been searching everywhere, and I know there are a few tunable standalones that work for non-M but I cannot figure out which ones will work.

Does anyone know of anyone that makes a tunable ECU for the 323i? I know they will probably cost somewhere in the 2500-3500 dollar range. If anyone has other ideas let me know. I want to go turbo but may have to do a supercharger instead since they make bolt on kits but I am looking to keep more torque and the AA stage 2 supercharger doesnt make enough for my taste.
There are no current standalone EMS options that I know of that will allow you to pass an OBD2 Scan. Aside from that, there are numerous options if you are going to build your own harness. If not, Jason@ProEFI, Neel@apexspeedtechnology, or a handful of others can build you a plug-in solution for the right price.

As for DME editing software, you will not find that anywhere at the moment. While Shark Edit is a possibility, it's timeline is questionable at best.

You also happen to have a E46 with very limited aftermarket FI options. Do you already have an AA kit? ESS makes a twin screw SC kit that may satisfy your needs.

I honestly think your best bet would be to sell your 323 and choose a different platform to start with. TT offers a great turbo setup for the E46 330's with a nice torque delivery, and we will be offering our E46M3 kit soon.

-Mike
__________________
02 M3 - Maximum PSI S2 turbo kit - 10.43@135.81, stock motor, stock ecu
97 M3 - Maximum PSI turbocharged - 9.16@163.37, first in the 9's
Maximum PSI - Home of the quickest BMW's in the US
Click here for E46Fanatics 1/4 mile standings
Email us at sales@maximumpsi.com!
Like us on facebook to follow our latest builds and upcoming events! - facebook.com/maximumpsi
mike@maximumpsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 12:49 AM   #20
lab rat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,138
My Ride: '02 330iT
+1

with the prices you are looking at for standalone ECU the 2k for used M54B30 is pretty cheap.
If you want to keep it on the budget with stock DME look at the W.A.R. chip. While not designed to make a brand new fuel map it could be used to modify existing FI tune.
__________________
Because sleeper.
lab rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use