E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 6 votes, 4.83 average. Display Modes
Old 04-29-2012, 08:29 AM   #221
haurelio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,040
My Ride: 2001 bmw 325i
i'm sure thats what he meant.
haurelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 08:49 AM   #222
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mic Diesel View Post
Wait can i play around with the wiring and **** if my battery is still plugged in? I was told not too...

Also when you say electrical tape the connections... You mean the ones that just plug in right? Cause i didnt have to splice anything...

Also whts the deal with those 2 random metal pieces they gave me
officially battery should be unplugged before any electrical work....
that said .. i didnt unplug mine

yeah just tape off the plug in connections to prevent them disconnecting behind it and prevent mental from touching where it shouldnt. so thats any unused ones too.

sounds like you have a fuse or too gone, but if you dont know what youre doing. maybe get some one else to have a look. does the car still work, just not power to the unit or indicators etc ?



the metal things you refer to are stereo removal keys, youll see they fit the slots by the sd card slots. you may not need them though, i didnt
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:02 AM   #223
Mic Diesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 17
My Ride: 325 xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by china man View Post
You talking about the Head unit removal keys?
Ohhh thats wht they are lol thank you
Mic Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:04 AM   #224
Mic Diesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 17
My Ride: 325 xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwhite View Post
officially battery should be unplugged before any electrical work....
that said .. i didnt unplug mine

yeah just tape off the plug in connections to prevent them disconnecting behind it and prevent mental from touching where it shouldnt. so thats any unused ones too.

sounds like you have a fuse or too gone, but if you dont know what youre doing. maybe get some one else to have a look. does the car still work, just not power to the unit or indicators etc ?



the metal things you refer to are stereo removal keys, youll see they fit the slots by the sd card slots. you may not need them though, i didnt
The car runs, just the blinkers and whipers dont work... The headunit wont turn on or even light up anymore... My windows dont work and sometimes mycar wont lock or unlock... My seatbelt will be on but theseatbelt light is still on... my dash gauges dont light up
Mic Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:17 AM   #225
Brevik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 799
My Ride: Tiag M3
My email to Jolly:

Dear Jolly,


I would like to follow up with some issues I have been having with the enco unit I purchased. I have been using my enco radio for quite some time now and have been mostly happy with the system. There are however a few issues that are very annoying and I would like to get some feedback from your staff.


1. The unit does not default back to the last input after it has been shut off. Insted it ramdomly scans through the inputs.



2. The volume of the radio is very loud compared to the rest of the inputs. I have read some suggestions such as installing a unit that adjust the volume, but this will make the other inputs even quieter. The resolution I am looking for would level the volumes across all the inputs.



3. My radio did not come with a TV antenna and I have been trying to locate one that will work in the US. Can you provice me with a part number and a price for an antenna that will work with my enco unit?



4. The Ipod interfeace is only able to sort music in a giant list insted of by artist, this makes using it very difficult.



Thank you in advance for your support.



Regards,


Aaron
Brevik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:27 AM   #226
r2t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 56
My Ride: '01 330i '06 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mic Diesel View Post
The car runs, just the blinkers and whipers dont work... The headunit wont turn on or even light up anymore... My windows dont work and sometimes mycar wont lock or unlock... My seatbelt will be on but theseatbelt light is still on... my dash gauges dont light up
It really sounds like some blown fuses.

Did all those things work prior to your install?

Are you just using the OEM harness? In other words are you just using the big square harness? If that's what you're using, you're not attaching the addition harnesses you don't use... Right? If you're not, then there is no need to insulate (with electrical tape) anything.

Double and triple check the harnesses (the car's and the one that came with the HU) and make sure that you haven't pinched a wire (exposing the bare wire). Did you test the unit (turn it on and try all the functions) prior to sliding it in place?

I'd temporarily remove the Enco, replace any blown fuses to get everything else working. Then attempt to re-install the unit. You really have to be careful and creative about harness placement. When you have it "right" the radio should just about slide all the way into place.

And if the original unit works and the Enco doesn't, then you have a bad unit.
__________________
RayK
'01 M5
'06 M3
'08 Kawasaki Concours C14
r2t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 07:45 PM   #227
bikeaddict
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 123
My Ride: e46 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by breiwa1 View Post
My email to Jolly:

Dear Jolly,


I would like to follow up with some issues I have been having with the enco unit I purchased. I have been using my enco radio for quite some time now and have been mostly happy with the system. There are however a few issues that are very annoying and I would like to get some feedback from your staff.


1. The unit does not default back to the last input after it has been shut off. Insted it ramdomly scans through the inputs.



2. The volume of the radio is very loud compared to the rest of the inputs. I have read some suggestions such as installing a unit that adjust the volume, but this will make the other inputs even quieter. The resolution I am looking for would level the volumes across all the inputs.



3. My radio did not come with a TV antenna and I have been trying to locate one that will work in the US. Can you provice me with a part number and a price for an antenna that will work with my enco unit?



4. The Ipod interfeace is only able to sort music in a giant list insted of by artist, this makes using it very difficult.



Thank you in advance for your support.



Regards,


Aaron
i have sent a similar email several times..she keeps saying engineers are looking into it so i keep emailing back..we are bought this unit..now we need the support from them.
bikeaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2012, 10:06 PM   #228
Brevik
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 799
My Ride: Tiag M3
Right, but we all need to send the same type of emails to get something going. They will not do anything until enough people make noise and it affects business for them.
Brevik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:52 AM   #229
E46iT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229
My Ride: 2004 325i Touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Billanti View Post
What are the error?I have a few things coming up in hoer languages as well.. such is life with hacked stuff I guess. Maybe a simple setting somewhere? Maybe a patch down the road... (shrug)
do we have to pay for this patch? or is it free
__________________
E46iT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:42 AM   #230
china man
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: London
Posts: 71
My Ride: E46 M3 SMG
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46iT View Post
do we have to pay for this patch? or is it free
I would not be happy if I have to pay for a patch to fix issue which affected the basic function of the unit.

I bought it knowing some of the problems and I can live with it but it really should be done at the product testing stage......

I am from China so I totally understand how reality works in the flip side
china man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 12:16 PM   #231
E46iT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Toronto
Posts: 229
My Ride: 2004 325i Touring
Quote:
Originally Posted by petrut View Post
patch now live

http://wincepatch.com/wince6 , item no 3. This is a 20 mb rar file download.

so easy to install, a kid can do it.
Don`t forget, wifi and 3g patch ARE compatible with this unit!
Enjoy!

For any bugs/issues, please post in this thread. I don`t have a Enco unit so you must help me improve it, if possible.
Currently the patch is identical in functions with the dynavin one, you also can see a video on my first page.
so this patch is not free we have to pay for it?
__________________
E46iT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 01:28 PM   #232
kawracerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 99
My Ride: 2003 325xi
can the enco support navteq ? have the myford touch system sd cards since i work at ford dealer and before i buy a 16gb card thought i would ask.its 14gb card but not a micro card but has cool features that my i go does not.

Last edited by kawracerx; 04-30-2012 at 01:29 PM.
kawracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 03:33 PM   #233
Mic Diesel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 17
My Ride: 325 xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2t2 View Post
It really sounds like some blown fuses.

Did all those things work prior to your install?

Are you just using the OEM harness? In other words are you just using the big square harness? If that's what you're using, you're not attaching the addition harnesses you don't use... Right? If you're not, then there is no need to insulate (with electrical tape) anything.

Double and triple check the harnesses (the car's and the one that came with the HU) and make sure that you haven't pinched a wire (exposing the bare wire). Did you test the unit (turn it on and try all the functions) prior to sliding it in place?

I'd temporarily remove the Enco, replace any blown fuses to get everything else working. Then attempt to re-install the unit. You really have to be careful and creative about harness placement. When you have it "right" the radio should just about slide all the way into place.

And if the original unit works and the Enco doesn't, then you have a bad unit.
Fuses are fine just checked them all... Then attempted to turn my car on but it wouldnt start.. Heard a whole bunch of noises coming from the dash... It turned on the second try though... First time that has happened...

My unit shouldnt be defective because it worked for a while but turned off after some time... Everything else still not working either...

Could it be my battery?

Edit: actually it turns out my mother went snoopin in my car the other day an said it almost didnt turn on for her too...

Last edited by Mic Diesel; 04-30-2012 at 03:36 PM.
Mic Diesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 04:29 PM   #234
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mic Diesel View Post
Fuses are fine just checked them all... Then attempted to turn my car on but it wouldnt start.. Heard a whole bunch of noises coming from the dash... It turned on the second try though... First time that has happened...

My unit shouldnt be defective because it worked for a while but turned off after some time... Everything else still not working either...

Could it be my battery?

Edit: actually it turns out my mother went snoopin in my car the other day an said it almost didnt turn on for her too...
that sounds like a battery issue too, maybe you dont have enough charge, possibly a faulty alternator if its not passing charge to battery, or youve wired something up wrong (not likely)

suggestions:
get a battery check (garages may offer a free check) and fully charge it if no faulty found.
get an auto electrician to check you car out, a independant bmw specialist with something like autologic can also do some checks if you havent got access to a code reader like inpa or similar

Last edited by mrwhite; 04-30-2012 at 05:06 PM.
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:09 PM   #235
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawracerx View Post
can the enco support navteq ? have the myford touch system sd cards since i work at ford dealer and before i buy a 16gb card thought i would ask.its 14gb card but not a micro card but has cool features that my i go does not.
not sure enco can support or sd cards ? unless you ran it from an sd card reader via the usb
or do you mean copying the files over ?

i think in theory it can support any gps system that can run on a wince unit, it just provides an interface to load the programme be in tomtom, igo or whatever

addtional features may not be supported if they use hardware though, which ones were they ?
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 05:19 PM   #236
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46iT View Post
so this patch is not free we have to pay for it?
this patch is provided by a 3rd party programmer who is here to help us access additional features on the system

he does this on a commercial basis for lots of dvd/satnav systems in all makes of cars

it is optional but it can add features like a changing mp3 system, the look of the system and allow access to wifi, 3g and live vehicle tracking..

he time, experience and no how is what you are paying for..

no connection to the manufacturer (although he did some work with dynavin in developing their system) so yes you will have to pay for it.
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:05 PM   #237
kawracerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 99
My Ride: 2003 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwhite View Post
not sure enco can support or sd cards ? unless you ran it from an sd card reader via the usb
or do you mean copying the files over ?

i think in theory it can support any gps system that can run on a wince unit, it just provides an interface to load the programme be in tomtom, igo or whatever

addtional features may not be supported if they use hardware though, which ones were they ?
I meant the unit itself, it is windows based touch screen.just have to find out if it its wince compatible somehow.the features I meant are just little things like speedway gas station has the actual logo not fuel symbol like I go, same goes for store logos, and better map display.if I find out I will post if compatible or not

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Bimmer App
kawracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:57 PM   #238
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Quote:
Originally Posted by kawracerx View Post
I meant the unit itself, it is windows based touch screen.just have to find out if it its wince compatible somehow.the features I meant are just little things like speedway gas station has the actual logo not fuel symbol like I go, same goes for store logos, and better map display.if I find out I will post if compatible or not

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Bimmer App


Oh OK, well Igo primo can do all that too and more
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 09:11 PM   #239
kawracerx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 99
My Ride: 2003 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwhite View Post
Oh OK, well Igo primo can do all that too and more
That's what I have now, but not as good as ford nav

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Bimmer App

Last edited by kawracerx; 04-30-2012 at 09:12 PM.
kawracerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 03:23 AM   #240
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Def primo. Not 8 ? which maps are you running? I have Europe quarter 3 or 4 2011 so the latesy ones, then jusy add exyra poi from poi plaza for free. I has very logos and good m ap syst in my opinion
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use