E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
Old 04-10-2012, 06:02 PM   #81
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
Petrut- Not sure what is causing it but if I go into the "desktop" mode and then return to navigation, the nav will not be able to locate sats. Even though the GPS test finds them with no issues. Not sure if it's another firmware related issue.

The only thing I see different after returning, is a new build file on my SD card.... After I delete the file and and reinstall the SD card, all returns to normal and nav works fine..

EDIT::: I also have a new file that was created called "Device.nnc"

Not sure what or why it was created but it's now part of the root folder on my SD...

Last edited by ccagle; 04-10-2012 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Added
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 06:58 PM   #82
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
Is the new patch the one that allows you to adjust the screen or that's the old one ?
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:03 PM   #83
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
My current firmware version in system says :
MCU: HY11.28
DVD: v04.21
HMI: v12.26

And in Nav,

VER: 13A3-12B6-6003-120208 ( windows@ CE 6.0)
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:04 PM   #84
bikeaddict
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 123
My Ride: e46 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccagle View Post
I emailed them and requested the newest firmware. Jolly did email me back and said she will have the engineer upload it and send me the link. That was last night. I'll wait and see what happens today....

But yes, Like I said, it still works but the icon's go to generic. Functionality isn't effected though.

On a side note, my steering wheel controls are lighting fast.... However, the button on the unit itself take a few seconds to change?!?!?!? So looks as if I have a reverse delay issue.. haha
once she sends it to you, please share the link so the rest of us can update our firmware
bikeaddict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:26 PM   #85
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
If we could get a few people to post their versions and received date, we may be able to see what the latest one is anyway.... And issues with it..

Thanks Wickedly-


I'm curious to see how many versions have been shipped...
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 07:45 PM   #86
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
One last nugget (at least for today), my iPhone no longer charges... It will play through the iPod mode but it no longer says "accessory connected" on my iPhone... Just stays on whatever app I have open or change too...

Not a huge deal but it damn sure was nice to charge via it...

EDIT::::And yes, I am doing random things to see what happens. Not changing the code or data on my SD card but I am running and opening things all at once. So don't blame the patch or the unit. But I am user testing both!!! Haha

Last edited by ccagle; 04-10-2012 at 07:50 PM.
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:17 PM   #87
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
I received my Unit march 21. Order it 2 weeks before that. So It was probably made in the week of 12 - 16 of March.
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:24 PM   #88
r2t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 56
My Ride: '01 330i '06 M3
F/W OLD NEW
MCU V04.21 HY11.28
DVD V04.21 V04.21
HMI V12.26 V12.26


WinCE 6.0
ID 030B-80111208-211110-484E03-2000701
VER 122D-1212-6026-110707
__________________
RayK
'01 M5
'06 M3
'08 Kawasaki Concours C14
r2t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:28 PM   #89
Keith Billanti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WNY
Posts: 425
My Ride: TitanSilber//M3
I put my unit in the day it came, last week. So I assume that I have the newest firmware? This does NOT have adjustable screen size..

Indeed! if someone gets a new firmware from them, post it up..
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:52 PM   #90
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
Here is my info from mine which I received last week....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1334109106.228500.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	446001   Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1334109121.764864.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	446002  
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:55 PM   #91
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
Jolly just emailed me a link to download the maps.... But nothing on the firmware yet....
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:58 PM   #92
r2t2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 56
My Ride: '01 330i '06 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Billanti View Post
I put my unit in the day it came, last week. So I assume that I have the newest firmware? This does NOT have adjustable screen size..

Indeed! if someone gets a new firmware from them, post it up..
I wouldn't assume that... Mine was in the same batch as yours... Is the F/W & S/W the same?
__________________
RayK
'01 M5
'06 M3
'08 Kawasaki Concours C14
r2t2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 08:59 PM   #93
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by r2t2 View Post
F/W OLD NEW
MCU V04.21 HY11.28
DVD V04.21 V04.21
HMI V12.26 V12.26


WinCE 6.0
ID 030B-80111208-211110-484E03-2000701
VER 122D-1212-6026-110707
It appears we have the same firmware but myself, Keith and Wickedly have a different WinCE version... Wonder if that has something to do with the screen adjustment? Meaning he has it and we don't......
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:02 PM   #94
Keith Billanti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WNY
Posts: 425
My Ride: TitanSilber//M3
I'll get mine tomorrow..
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2012, 09:06 PM   #95
ccagle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 474
My Ride: 02' 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith Billanti View Post
I'll get mine tomorrow..
Sorry.. I assumed (you know what that does) you had the same..
ccagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 07:48 AM   #96
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
Hi

new member here from the UK, but ive been following the thread here for a while and having my own thread on bimmerforums.co.uk with my install

I have one of these, i ordered before easter and it arrived yesterday after a few delays with the bank holidays
All working well except a few issues
the sat nav has somehow corrupted the sd card, i managed to change the language to chinese, then back again but
then it gave this error:

I gave it a few mins and then reset it after it said the same
then it just says cant find software. When I try and load the path its not showing the sd card at all
putting it in my laptop, it just says it needs to be formatted.
I tested it (and the gps path on sys.ini) before I installed, and it seemed fine.

Anyone have an idea how to restore it, or could send me the link Jolly has sent them for the maps as mentioned above ?

I went for the tv option and after some flirting with Jolly got a free reversing camera

heres some other shots:








Ive also taken photos of the manual and am inprocess of making a pdf of it for those who are interested







FREE REVERSING CAMERA


Old style pins


And new style pins



Front

Back


wiring Diagram... with a Iopd connection and Openration voltage


Inside the harness

Last edited by mrwhite; 04-11-2012 at 07:51 AM.
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:16 AM   #97
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccagle View Post
It appears we have the same firmware but myself, Keith and Wickedly have a different WinCE version... Wonder if that has something to do with the screen adjustment? Meaning he has it and we don't......
I'm able to move my screen yet my light from my unit are always on
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 08:30 AM   #98
Keith Billanti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: WNY
Posts: 425
My Ride: TitanSilber//M3
Doood... free camera? that makes me mad. I'm not even going to install mine....




anyone want a camera who didnt order one???
Keith Billanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:21 AM   #99
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
got a free camera and 2 antennas for flirting with Joyce... she too easy....
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:40 AM   #100
mrwhite
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 118
My Ride: 325ti SE Compact
install is going to be a pain i think, may connect up a wireless receiver...
mrwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use