E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 4.50 average.
Old 06-03-2012, 10:45 AM   #201
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Quote:
Originally Posted by armyB4 View Post
First thing I would check is that all your engine grounds are present. And of course make sure they are all bolted down.

Second, and this maybe a bit of a leap. But If they tuned the car with an (unknowingly) bad map sensor or they did not zero out their data for a proper baseline. Then all the changes after that are wrong. Hence when you installed a new map sensor the car went apeshit.

Also, since we are all really just guessing. You really need to get the car scanned. What codes does it currently have? smooth running values will tell you a good bit.
I was thinking the same thing.foresure something is off if two sensors cause such a problem between them. The harness may be a separate issue. It seemed to be the smaller cable running,down under the car behind the engine ill check it .

Ill check the grounds as well.
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 12:05 PM   #202
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Just checked the voltage on the map sensor and im getting 5volts
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 06-03-2012 at 03:38 PM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 03:38 PM   #203
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Ok checked the new map sensor shows 2.1v at 0 so the new one is wrong and is why the was acting up with new one. My old map sensor tests correct at1.6v. Vacume is 24 and afr 10.0 an blinks flat lines periodically. no idea whats going on. Im wondering if the fule pressure regulator is acting up anyone know how to test that
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 06-03-2012 at 03:42 PM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 04:12 PM   #204
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,838
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Whats the part numbers on both of your AEM MAP sensors.

EDIT: They need to match otherwise you are hooking up the wrong one.
__________________

Last edited by Commanderwiggin; 06-03-2012 at 04:30 PM.
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 04:23 PM   #205
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,838
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
You want 5bar at your fuel pressure regulator. There is a port on the regulator to hook a gauge up to. Some more info here: http://m3forum.net/m3forum/showthread.php?t=316333

HPF verified for anything Stage 1-2.75 is 5 bar. REF: http://www.horsepowerfreaks.com/Prod...ing/11037/2/27
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 04:29 PM   #206
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,838
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Mabe your vac line to your FPR is shot? Throwing that one out there?
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 05:20 PM   #207
InDiGlOM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Copperas Cove
Posts: 1,476
My Ride: HPF M3 stg 2.5
Send a message via AIM to InDiGlOM3 Send a message via Yahoo to InDiGlOM3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin View Post
Mabe your vac line to your FPR is shot? Throwing that one out there?
He already checked that I believe and it was good. Its gonna be the main harness, he said he played with it and car ran good.
__________________
InDiGlOM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 05:50 PM   #208
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Quote:
Originally Posted by InDiGlOM3 View Post
He already checked that I believe and it was good. Its gonna be the main harness, he said he played with it and car ran good.
What I meant was it ran rich
as before but was not missing any cylinders. So I'm still stuck my original problem.
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 06:22 PM   #209
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,838
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
So have you checked the vacuum line going to the fuel pressure regulator? (under the car, drivers side under the driver seating area)
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:30 PM   #210
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin View Post
So have you checked the vacuum line going to the fuel pressure regulator? (under the car, drivers side under the driver seating area)
Yes i did check it and I can't blow that line at all.
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:32 PM   #211
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
I just picked up a scanning tool and going to check my Codes. I have no
Idea whats going on and I'm afraid I'm
Going to have ship this car back if they don't come out to help. What a pain in the ass as well as a few more grand.
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:34 PM   #212
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 06-03-2012 at 07:35 PM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:50 PM   #213
InDiGlOM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Copperas Cove
Posts: 1,476
My Ride: HPF M3 stg 2.5
Send a message via AIM to InDiGlOM3 Send a message via Yahoo to InDiGlOM3
Gets those codes and send them to me. What tool are you using to scan?
__________________
InDiGlOM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 07:55 PM   #214
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Quote:
Originally Posted by InDiGlOM3 View Post
Gets those codes and send them to me. What tool are you using to scan?
Thanks for sending me the codes ill send u mine tonight I purchased Innova OBD II scanner with cable. I have a Gopoint bluetooth scanner but is doesn't work For some reason with my m3 but fine with my other cars.
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 06-03-2012 at 08:02 PM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 10:55 PM   #215
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Im,getting p0303 cylender 3 misfire
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:33 PM   #216
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Here are my Codes.some look normal for this car expect for the misfire and possibly, Coolant temp & the crank sensor. Not sure bout the lean condition. My guess anyway???

P0171 System Too Lean (Bank 1)

P0012 "A" Camshaft Position Over-Retarded (Bank 1)

P0015 Exhaust Camshaft Position Timing - Over-Retarded (Bank 1)

P0102 MAF Sensor Circuit Low Input

P0113 Intake Air Temperature Sensor 1 Circuit High Input

P0128 Coolant Thermostat (Coolant Temperature Below Thermostat Regulating Temperature)

P0171 System Too Lean (Bank 1)

P0174 System Too Lean (Bank 2)

P0303 Cylinder Number 3 Misfire Detected

P0335 Crankshaft Position Sensor A Circuit

P0010 Intake Camshaft Position Actuator Circuit / Open (Bank 1)

P0012 "A" Camshaft Position Over-Retarded (Bank 1)

P0013 Exhaust Camshaft Position Actuator Circuit / Open (Bank 1)

P0015 Exhaust Camshaft Position Timing - Over-Retarded (Bank 1)

P0139 O2 Circuit Slow Response (Bank 1, Sensor 2)

P0159 O2 Circuit Slow Response (Bank 2, Sensor 2)

P0171 System Too Lean (Bank 1)

P0174 System Too Lean (Bank 2)
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 06-04-2012 at 12:55 AM.
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2012, 11:58 PM   #217
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Cylinder 3 plug

Here is my plug from cyl 3
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Plug Cycl 3.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	74.4 KB
ID:	454699  
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 12:32 AM   #218
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,044
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
Ran the scann tool again and got theses codes


P0300 Random/Multiple Misfire Detected

P0302 Cylinder Number 2 Misfire Detected

P0306 Cylinder 6 Misfire Detected

Somethings is not going very well with these random acts
being3 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:06 AM   #219
SlideFox
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Arizona
Posts: 357
My Ride: A Bucket w/ 4-Wheels
Does your tool allow you to reset codes?
__________________
SlideFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 01:07 AM   #220
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,838
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Alot of those codes are normal...going to bed but call ChrisK tomorrow.
__________________

Last edited by Commanderwiggin; 06-04-2012 at 01:09 AM.
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
e46 m3, hpf, stage 2.5, turbo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use