E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 08-19-2012, 08:48 PM   #41
JohnIBarr01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Knoxville, TN; Apex, NC
Posts: 582
My Ride: ZHP 6MT, Mk.6, Jeep
Great thread. If I may ask, where did you get your cable interface from?
__________________
Pat Summitt Foundation | VWvortex | V2Lab | Twitter | Facebook
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreenspanator
Let me guess: This doesn't happen in Germany

Last edited by JohnIBarr01; 08-19-2012 at 11:01 PM.
JohnIBarr01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 09:09 PM   #42
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh-DC Area
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
I soldered the 7 and 8th pins together and still doesn't work. any help also my unit looks different and I bought it from
http://www.xcar360.com/bmw-scanner-1...scan-tool.html
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2012, 09:31 PM   #43
jfoj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 8,545
My Ride: '06 330CiC, '03 M5
Did you get the driver installed for the cable??

What OS are you running? 32 or 64 bit?

You also need to have the cable installed in the ODB port to get the drivers to load as the chipset in the interface cable is powered from the car, not the USB port on the computer.

If you have anything other than Win XP, you may need to manually install the drivers.
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temps, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose fan switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 01:53 PM   #44
boongsin12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: US
Posts: 217
My Ride: none
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jperry666 View Post
When I set my alarm settings to acoustic I still don't get any beep from the car? All the light settings work just not the beep ??

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Bimmer App
Do you have alarm on your car?
__________________

2001 330Ci
boongsin12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 02:02 PM   #45
Jperry666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Ft Campbell, Ky
Posts: 90
My Ride: 2002 325i 5spd
No I don't I added the beep alternative mod today though so now it beeps.

Sent from my SCH-I500 using Bimmer App
Jperry666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:00 PM   #46
dknightd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 874
My Ride: 2002 330 cic
Quote:
Originally Posted by dknightd View Post
I'm trying to figure out to have my seat and mirrors automatically move to saved positions when the car is unlocked using the key remote.
The owners manual says that the car can be programmed to do this.

I have searched through all the PA Soft menus. I do not see this option.
Anybody know where it is, and how this is done? Maybe it is just missing in my version
(it seems there are lots of different versions of what people can do using the same software . . .)

Thanks
Nobody has enabled key remote seat/mirror memory?
dknightd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:10 PM   #47
cvx5832
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 1,804
My Ride: 325Ci, 325Cic, C300
Quote:
Originally Posted by dknightd View Post
Nobody has enabled key remote seat/mirror memory?
I'd say the option is most likely there. I think that most that have done it did so with tools before BMW Scanner 1.4.0 became widely available, so nobody has bothered to look anymore. When I did it with GT1/DIS it was under "Seat/Mirror Memory".
Attached Files
File Type: pdf BMW Memory Options.pdf (35.1 KB, 306 views)
__________________


cvx5832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:36 PM   #48
dknightd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 874
My Ride: 2002 330 cic
Quote:
Originally Posted by cvx5832 View Post
I'd say the option is most likely there. I think that most that have done it did so with tools before BMW Scanner 1.4.0 became widely available, so nobody has bothered to look anymore. When I did it with GT1/DIS it was under "Seat/Mirror Memory".
That is what I thought as well. When I went in to seat and mirror memory area, I clicked on coding, but the recoding option was grayed out. Maybe I need different software and cable to do this. In which case I'll probably pass since this is just a nice to have feature - all I really wanted was to be able to open and close my top with remote, and to be able read codes. This software seems to be able to do that.

Sure would be nice though . . .

If you happen to hook up your computer to your car again can you tell me if you see this option. And if so, where. I'll give it another try later this week. Wife comes home next week - she hasn't seen the car yet (except in phone pictures) it sure would be nice if the extra key I bought for her could magically make the seat go where she wants If not, I'll just tell her to use the buttons on the side of the seat.

Edit: thanks for the pdf

Last edited by dknightd; 08-20-2012 at 04:37 PM.
dknightd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 04:38 PM   #49
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Pittsburgh-DC Area
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfoj View Post
Did you get the driver installed for the cable??

What OS are you running? 32 or 64 bit?

You also need to have the cable installed in the ODB port to get the drivers to load as the chipset in the interface cable is powered from the car, not the USB port on the computer.

If you have anything other than Win XP, you may need to manually install the drivers.
I have windows xp
I got the driver installed from the cd as well the driver from the cable. when i plug it in the car, it says a driver has been found and it installs itself.

how do you get the cable installed in the ODB port?
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:31 AM   #50
alpine003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 276
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by dknightd View Post
That is what I thought as well. When I went in to seat and mirror memory area, I clicked on coding, but the recoding option was grayed out.
Just to verify, you do have multiple keys programmed for the car, right? How many active keys do you see on your screen? Mine wasn't grayed out IIRC the last time I was in there. I'll check again the next time I hook it up.
__________________
alpine003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:34 AM   #51
dknightd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 874
My Ride: 2002 330 cic
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine003 View Post
Just to verify, you do have multiple keys programmed for the car, right? How many active keys do you see on your screen? Mine wasn't grayed out IIRC the last time I was in there. I'll check again the next time I hook it up.
I do have two keys programmed to unlock the car. But one of them is fairly new. I'll have to hook it up again and see how many keys it recognises (maybe I'll even risk deactivating ones no longer in use ... maybe). I have one key programmed for selective unlock, the other to unlock on one push, so the computer and software is apparently working for both. Thanks for your help - good suggestion.
dknightd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 02:26 PM   #52
lilbimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: SC, 29708
Posts: 373
My Ride: 01 330ci Step
Send a message via Yahoo to lilbimmer Send a message via Skype™ to lilbimmer
Subscribed.
__________________
"sim simma, who gat di keys to mi bimma" - beenie man

lilbimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 02:59 AM   #53
BM3R 330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 87
My Ride: 2002 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceberq View Post
whoaaa sooo

If I use this, and uncheck the "HOT check" and "COLD check" for the front turn signals, does this mean I can install LED turn signal lights, not use resistors, and still not throw an error? That would be awesome. If somebody has done this, please let me know.
Yes, 100% verified it works on my end... front corner LEDS from Ebay. no flickering,weird patterns,fast or slow, etc. just right.
__________________

I have a small signature
BM3R 330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:25 AM   #54
JohnIBarr01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Knoxville, TN; Apex, NC
Posts: 582
My Ride: ZHP 6MT, Mk.6, Jeep
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceberq View Post
whoaaa sooo

If I use this, and uncheck the "HOT check" and "COLD check" for the front turn signals, does this mean I can install LED turn signal lights, not use resistors, and still not throw an error? That would be awesome. If somebody has done this, please let me know.
Just so I am not confused, what exactly do the Hot / Cold Check functions do?
__________________
Pat Summitt Foundation | VWvortex | V2Lab | Twitter | Facebook
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGreenspanator
Let me guess: This doesn't happen in Germany
JohnIBarr01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2012, 10:16 PM   #55
shannon1
Registered User
 
shannon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,571
My Ride: 2001, 318i
Cold checks is when you first turn the ignition to position 2 and IIRC Hot checks is when the cars running or when you use the lights.
__________________
Shannon.

shannon1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 12:27 AM   #56
BM3R 330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Diego
Posts: 87
My Ride: 2002 330i
Oh yea, I forgot to ask, How do you get the doors to lock after 2 mins of being unlocked without opening...?
I have that box checked and updated it, but it doesnt lock. Any other special boxes that need to be checked?
I also cant get my high beams to flash with the alarm activation/deactivation. Only the warning lights. And both boxes are checked.
__________________

I have a small signature
BM3R 330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2012, 06:08 AM   #57
dknightd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 874
My Ride: 2002 330 cic
Quote:
Originally Posted by dknightd View Post
Nobody has enabled key remote seat/mirror memory?
I have decided it is not possible with this combination of hardware and software.
dknightd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 12:46 AM   #58
Patton323I
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 751
My Ride: R1100GS E46 E53
Is It possible to program a brand new unused "virgin" key with this software? I have a new key I bought for my 05 X5 3.0 a while back. I talked to some lock smiths who told me that the only people who could do that is the BMW dealer, and they most likely wouldn't do it. And to be clear, I am talking about the immobilizer function, not key less entry (locking and unlocking the car). A little DIY would be hugely appreciated!
__________________
Patton323I is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 08:13 AM   #59
carborn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 9
My Ride: E46,E91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patton323I View Post
Is It possible to program a brand new unused "virgin" key with this software? I have a new key I bought for my 05 X5 3.0 a while back. I talked to some lock smiths who told me that the only people who could do that is the BMW dealer, and they most likely wouldn't do it. And to be clear, I am talking about the immobilizer function, not key less entry (locking and unlocking the car). A little DIY would be hugely appreciated!
No, it's impossible. You should search for EWS key programmer for this.
carborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 09:55 AM   #60
Patton323I
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 751
My Ride: R1100GS E46 E53
Is there a EWS programmer that you would recommend?
__________________
Patton323I is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use