E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 11-01-2012, 06:28 PM   #3041
bry330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal
Posts: 489
My Ride: 2002 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
With my 4s I would have full wifi on 2 floors of my house (router is on the first floor), getting great speeds. Only when I would go to the third floor I would get less bars and less speed, but still manageable. At work I could be anywhere in my shop and get full wifi, hell even when I left work I would still be connected at the stop light in front of my shop.

With my 5, I lose wifi strength on my second floor although it is still connected, just no where near as quick. At work I lose wifi almost completely if I go to the back room and if it stays connected the speeds are awful. If I step outside it disconnects from wifi also.

Update didn't help
did u even try the link i sent u? try resetting your router.
bry330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2012, 06:46 PM   #3042
M3Inline6
I'm now boosting! Funnnn!
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Just over the crest with a radar gun!
Posts: 1,789
My Ride: 335/X5/M3/848/128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
With my 4s I would have full wifi on 2 floors of my house (router is on the first floor), getting great speeds. Only when I would go to the third floor I would get less bars and less speed, but still manageable. At work I could be anywhere in my shop and get full wifi, hell even when I left work I would still be connected at the stop light in front of my shop.

With my 5, I lose wifi strength on my second floor although it is still connected, just no where near as quick. At work I lose wifi almost completely if I go to the back room and if it stays connected the speeds are awful. If I step outside it disconnects from wifi also.

Update didn't help

Thanks for the explanation.
__________________
Sou Instrutor de Capoeira ate' morrer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unionjack View Post
Dude, you are massively gay for Capoeira. Yes I know this has been well established for quite some time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by unionjack View Post
While not big, I bet it's firm and can grind the sh1t out of a crank.
M3Inline6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:40 AM   #3043
boostedisbetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,611
My Ride: 2000 Integra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
Didn't want to upgrade because I'm waiting for a jailbreak for 6.0, but it fixed some of the problems I had (camera flash, and wifi)
You do know that will void your warranty right? Completely NOT worth it to me to have a jailbreak over a year warranty...
__________________
boostedisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:53 AM   #3044
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 22
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa02e46 View Post
You do know that will void your warranty right? Completely NOT worth it to me to have a jailbreak over a year warranty...
It's pretty simple to remove the jailbreak... If anything happens with my phone all I have to do is restore it and they would never know it was jailbroken.

And it's totally worth it. I love SBSettings and Speed Intensifier.
__________________
- Alex

Last edited by Shaban; 11-02-2012 at 08:54 AM.
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 08:57 AM   #3045
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 3,302
My Ride: Whiiiite BMW!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
It's pretty simple to remove the jailbreak... If anything happens with my phone all I have to do is restore it and they would never know it was jailbroken.

And it's totally worth it. I love SBSettings and Speed Intensifier.
You have to restore it and set it up as a new phone, not restore from backup or they will know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasp9166 View Post
here today, gone tomm

i spend it while i can, if i run out i'll swallow all my meds
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:47 AM   #3046
M3Inline6
I'm now boosting! Funnnn!
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Just over the crest with a radar gun!
Posts: 1,789
My Ride: 335/X5/M3/848/128i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa02e46 View Post
You do know that will void your warranty right? Completely NOT worth it to me to have a jailbreak over a year warranty...
Anybody familiar with a jailbreak knows that. People mod cars and take the risk too. You do what you have to do to get the most out of a consumer product.
__________________
Sou Instrutor de Capoeira ate' morrer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by unionjack View Post
Dude, you are massively gay for Capoeira. Yes I know this has been well established for quite some time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by unionjack View Post
While not big, I bet it's firm and can grind the sh1t out of a crank.
M3Inline6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 09:55 AM   #3047
boostedisbetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,611
My Ride: 2000 Integra
Quote:
Originally Posted by M3Inline6 View Post
Anybody familiar with a jailbreak knows that. People mod cars and take the risk too. You do what you have to do to get the most out of a consumer product.
That's nice, but I'll wait for a year and then jailbreak. Also, you can't just do a restore, you have to do a factory reset like someone else said. What if something breaks to the point that you can't reset it like the digitizer gives out or the home/power button etc... It's just too much of a risk for a $800 phone.
__________________
boostedisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 10:24 AM   #3048
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 22
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhp43867 View Post
You have to restore it and set it up as a new phone, not restore from backup or they will know.
Alright? So you make two backups... one before the jailbreak, one after. Restore it from the previous jailbreak, or set it up as a new phone, get it exchanged, then jailbreak/restore again. Not so hard
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:01 AM   #3049
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 3,302
My Ride: Whiiiite BMW!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
Alright? So you make two backups... one before the jailbreak, one after. Restore it from the previous jailbreak, or set it up as a new phone, get it exchanged, then jailbreak/restore again. Not so hard
I never said it was. I just thought that it should be known.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasp9166 View Post
here today, gone tomm

i spend it while i can, if i run out i'll swallow all my meds
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:27 AM   #3050
bry330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal
Posts: 489
My Ride: 2002 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry330i View Post
did u even try the link i sent u? try resetting your router.
i guess u didnt.
bry330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:34 AM   #3051
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 22
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry330i View Post
i guess u didnt.
As I stated before, you're link was about wifi speed, and my speed is fine. It's the range that is the problem, and yes I have tried resetting my router, it didn't help.
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:40 AM   #3052
boostedisbetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,611
My Ride: 2000 Integra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
With my 4s I would have full wifi on 2 floors of my house (router is on the first floor),
Update didn't help
If you can afford a 3 story house, you should be able to afford a 2nd router on the 3rd floor
__________________
boostedisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:42 AM   #3053
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 3,302
My Ride: Whiiiite BMW!
He should not have to change his home internet setup because his phone reception got worse. It's not a matter of what he can afford.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasp9166 View Post
here today, gone tomm

i spend it while i can, if i run out i'll swallow all my meds
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 11:49 AM   #3054
bry330i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: socal
Posts: 489
My Ride: 2002 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
As I stated before, you're link was about wifi speed, and my speed is fine. It's the range that is the problem, and yes I have tried resetting my router, it didn't help.
well if you read the link and actually tried it. the fix is not just about speed, its for a variety of WIFI problems. i think it would solve your problem. but i guess its just too much work for you.
bry330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:05 PM   #3055
Master Po
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 358
My Ride: E46 no more
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa02e46 View Post
If you can afford a 3 story house, you should be able to afford a 2nd router on the 3rd floor
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhp43867 View Post
He should not have to change his home internet setup because his phone reception got worse. It's not a matter of what he can afford.
It's a typical response of fanbois.
When all fails, it's still your fault for trying to move too far from your router (even though it's within specs), or take a picture with bright light in background.

You: Doc, my arm hurts when I do this.
Doc: Don't do this.
__________________

Last edited by Master Po; 11-02-2012 at 12:07 PM.
Master Po is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:10 PM   #3056
boostedisbetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,611
My Ride: 2000 Integra
I was obviously kidding guys , hince the " "


Master Po.... DUDE. PLEASE get off my nuts. Do you search my name just to see what I post so you can comment on it? Sure feels like it.
...and your sig is really fvcking dumb. NO ONE CARES.
__________________

Last edited by boostedisbetter; 11-02-2012 at 12:16 PM.
boostedisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:13 PM   #3057
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 3,302
My Ride: Whiiiite BMW!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Po View Post
It's a typical response of fanbois.
When all fails, it's still your fault for trying to move too far from your router (even though it's within specs), or take a picture with bright light in background.

You: Doc, my arm hurts when I do this.
Doc: Don't do this.
Yeah, you don't get to sneak that picture thing in there and think you'll get away with it. Go to photography sites regarding the issue; I'm not going to beat a dead horse.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by wasp9166 View Post
here today, gone tomm

i spend it while i can, if i run out i'll swallow all my meds
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:36 PM   #3058
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 22
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tampa02e46 View Post
If you can afford a 3 story house, you should be able to afford a 2nd router on the 3rd floor
Well, it's not about how much I can afford it's about the fact that the range is less than I had on the 4S.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bry330i View Post
well if you read the link and actually tried it. the fix is not just about speed, its for a variety of WIFI problems. i think it would solve your problem. but i guess its just too much work for you.
I did read the link, it was talking mainly about WiFi speed. I'm going to try it anyways
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:42 PM   #3059
boostedisbetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 1,611
My Ride: 2000 Integra
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaban View Post
Well, it's not about how much I can afford it's about the fact that the range is less than I had on the 4S.


Post #3058
__________________
boostedisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2012, 12:56 PM   #3060
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 22
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry330i View Post
well if you read the link and actually tried it. the fix is not just about speed, its for a variety of WIFI problems. i think it would solve your problem. but i guess its just too much work for you.
Well, I tried it... and I was already using the best possible DNS
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use