E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2012, 03:21 PM   #1
Kris Khodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 18
My Ride: E46 M3
Integrated phone in 01 E46 M3

Hey guys, so I got an 01' E46 M3 and I noticed that on my steering wheel is a button with the icon of a man talking into a phone. And I also have the microphone above my head where the garage door opener is located. I wanted to wire my phone into it so I can be hands free when I pick up a call, but i've changed my 2001 business CD unit to a 2002 330xi business CD unit so I could make an auxiliary. (long story, but I did it) So I don't know if I might have had to access it from that, but I have no idea where to even start. I've looked in the BMW manuals and doesn't give nearly enough information to do anything. I've been looking around but can't really find how.

Can anyone help me out?
Thanks!
Kris Khodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-07-2012, 03:23 PM   #2
Stickbuilder
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Nashville TN/Central FL.
Posts: 1,388
My Ride: Touring, and others
You are going to need something like the Parrott CK3000 and the interface kit from the UK to make it work. I've had this system in my Touring for several years now, and it works like a champ. Cost was somewhere around 100 bucks for everything.
__________________
[/SIGPIC]I'm fluent in 3 languages:

English
Sarcasm
Profanity
Stickbuilder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 04:45 PM   #3
jfoj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Fairfax, VA USA
Posts: 9,606
My Ride: '06 330CiC, '03 M5
Or you could see if you could find a TCU or ULF and retrofit the car. This will not be cheap unless you find a new E46 or X3/X5 that has the proper TCU or ULF.

See this site for more info - http://www.bimmernav.com/
__________________
Solve your misfires, lean codes, rough idle - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=897616

Fuel pump failures - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=929501

Temp Info - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=964491

Hidden OBC Menu - Check Voltage, Temps, Fuel Level - http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=239619

E46/E39 GM5 Door Lock Info - www.bmwgm5.com

Lower hose fan switch O-ring - BMW #13621743299
jfoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 05:10 PM   #4
Kris Khodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 18
My Ride: E46 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stickbuilder View Post
You are going to need something like the Parrott CK3000 and the interface kit from the UK to make it work. I've had this system in my Touring for several years now, and it works like a champ. Cost was somewhere around 100 bucks for everything.
You've done it before? Can you send me a quick PM. Because I have no idea what the things I have to purchase, in order to make it work, are.
Kris Khodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:21 PM   #5
farmdog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 693
My Ride: Acura TL
Delmarco has a huge write up on the DIY.....search it out. He tells you everything you need.
__________________
farmdog is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use