E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 103 votes, 4.96 average. Display Modes
Old 05-29-2013, 09:14 PM   #381
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
Well, that is exactly what the amp setting is supposed to do, it shifts the volume range.... It reduces the output to better match certain oem amps, you should choose whichever one works best in YOUR car. If you are running aftermarket amps you should always set it to none (kind of counterintuitive but keep in mind this setting is for the factory amp).

For most e46s "common" is the right setting but there are still a lot of variables involved, especially when external audio sources like phones get involved as they have multiple built in level controls as well.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 05-29-2013 at 09:18 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 12:01 AM   #382
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Well, that is exactly what the amp setting is supposed to do, it shifts the volume range.... It reduces the output to better match certain oem amps, you should choose whichever one works best in YOUR car. If you are running aftermarket amps you should always set it to none (kind of counterintuitive but keep in mind this setting is for the factory amp).

For most e46s "common" is the right setting but there are still a lot of variables involved, especially when external audio sources like phones get involved as they have multiple built in level controls as well.
I'm still running the factory HK amp, and it seems "None" is the best setting for the system. I just wish the unit remembered the last set point (what ever that maybe) rather than always starting at 10...

Last edited by ViperZ; 05-30-2013 at 12:02 AM.
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:28 PM   #383
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
Interesting.....Ive never noticed what you are talking about nor has anyone ever mentioned it to me, so I went out and did some experimenting....

It seems that if you turn the car off with the unit volume above 10 it will restart at previous level.

If you turn the car off with the volume below 10, it will restart at 10.

So it seems that 10 is the minimum startup volume....why this is would be speculation but I suspect it might have to do with the way the AMP setting works, it needs to see how much resistance is on the amp circuit when it starts up so it needs some minimal volume. Im a little surprised though that neither setting is working well for you, in general one or the other is usually pretty ideal...
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 05-30-2013 at 04:28 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 11:34 PM   #384
ViperZ
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Saskatoon, SK Canada
Posts: 79
My Ride: 1992 325i & 2006 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSolutions View Post
Interesting.....Ive never noticed what you are talking about nor has anyone ever mentioned it to me, so I went out and did some experimenting....

It seems that if you turn the car off with the unit volume above 10 it will restart at previous level.

If you turn the car off with the volume below 10, it will restart at 10.

So it seems that 10 is the minimum startup volume....why this is would be speculation but I suspect it might have to do with the way the AMP setting works, it needs to see how much resistance is on the amp circuit when it starts up so it needs some minimal volume. Im a little surprised though that neither setting is working well for you, in general one or the other is usually pretty ideal...
No don't get me wrong, "None" works well in that it sounds good, is powerful enough, I just don't care for the starting volume of 10.. It's not terrible if I'm just by myself, however if two of us get in the car, I find It's annoying in that I have to always turn it down, esp if we are talking. It seems I'm always having to turn it down. It's not that it's really loud, more a personal preference thing.

In "common" the start up volume even thou its in the double digits, is much lower, but the the whole range is shifted and does not reach louder levels, I don't think this is the correct setting.
ViperZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 09:51 PM   #385
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
Gotcha, use the setting that works best in your car, there is no right or wrong.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2013, 10:15 PM   #386
Basketcase
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 62
My Ride: 2005 AW/IR M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silverghost123 View Post
Hi all,

Just a couple of questions, I had my Dynavin E46 D99 (Android) unit installed in October/ November last year and have lived with it now for over 6 months.

Very often (At least 8 or 9 times) I have had to reinstall the firmware from the micro SD card, although this is not a particularly arduous exercise, it does take a couple of hours to re-load the apps.

Problems encountered:
1. Main radio screen appears to distort in areas, I am assuming this is down to interference, is it fair to say that it was installed incorrectly, or is likely to be down to the design of the unit
2. Bluetooth connection to the telephone is very sporadic, one minute it is fine, one minute it drops connection or doesn't get a connection when starting the radio, I appreciate this could be down to the mobile phone, but it happened on an iphone, and still happens now that I have a Samsung S3
3. The screen is awful, you can't use your finger to scroll up and down through the menus as you invariably end up either selecting an incorrect item on the screen or it quickly scrolls up/ down to the end of the screen. The supplied plastic stick thingy does help, but even then it doesn't work anywhere near as good as I would expect (Maybe I have been spoilt with touch screens over the last few years, going back 7 or 8 years one of the first I used was better than this)
4. Android appears to be a waste of time, I have downloaded co pilot everytime I have had to reset it, and more than 4 times I have gone to use it and it says it is not installed correctly, another reason for re-setting the firmware
5. Every time I have to reset the unit I have to get an extension lead set up to the car with a wifi plug unit on it, otherwise I would be looking at downloading over 300MBs on the mobile phone to reinstall co pilot and the maps (Nothing to do with Dynavin, just saying that it is necessary
6. The unit itself appears to be very buggy, as can be seen by the amount of reinstallations, there have been no updates to the unit published since I purchased it over 6 months ago

I'm sorry if this is negative, I am only being absolutely truthful, I guess you can tell my disappointment in the unit, I really wish I had purchased a Parrot bluetooth now or one of the sat nav units from the BMW specialist.

Please don't slate me, as I say, this is only my take on it, and I guess the question is, does it look like I ended up with a duff unit, or do others experience similar problems. Maybe I have just been unlucky.

Chris
I've had all the exact same problems. Sometimes it drives me crazy. Very disappointed so far
Basketcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 01:56 PM   #387
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
android can be very tricky guys, and I would ask that anyone who is considering buying an android unit MUST read my FAQ and should read the android thread on this forum (not all of it of course, but skim it to get and idea of the good, the bad, and the ugly). Spending some time on the android thread is a must for anyone with one of these, there are definitely some ways to keep it stable, and there are definitely some ways to push it into instability without realizing it.

If you have to repeatedly reinstall the ROM either an app that you are installing is causing problems OR you have apps are updating in the background when you turn the unit off, make sure you set the apps to NOT auto update or you WILL get "force close" issues.


Bluetooth disconnect issues are rare with these so you need to look closely at the conditions in which it happens and see if you can narrow things down.

And finaly, if you are having issues CONTACT YOUR SELLER! Some things are "just the way they are" but many other things may be firmware or settings related. (the "screen interference" mentioned above very well may be a software bug that was corrected months ago, cant really tell from that basic description though) but if you dont let your dealer know they cant help you fix it.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-11-2013 at 01:59 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2013, 09:46 PM   #388
Mattyl110792
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 20
My Ride: 1999 E46 318i
Hi Guys,

I've been using a D95 Dynavin for a while now (that thread hasn't had an update since December 2012 and I think I'd have the same issue with the D99).

For the last 12 months or so I've been using Android to manage/play my music, however have recently purchased an iPod Classic 160gb to house all of my music.

I've ran into some issues controlling/using this iPod with the Dynavin, and I hope someone can help!

1. 'Shuffle' mode is not consistent. When selecting the shuffle button (in a playlist for example), it starts a number of errors. Sometimes the song displayed will be different to what is actually playing, and most of the time the next song to play will be the first song in the list, with you needing to press skip a few times to actually get a different track

2. Is there anyway to control the iPod with the iPod? This is kinda like a Sony headunit I have, it allows to control the iPod from both the headunit OR the iPod itself..



I did read about some issues with iPod Video units, but figured that was in relation to the older generation models, not the Classic.

The shuffle issue is really a show-stopper for being able to use the iPod with the Dynavin. Audio quality is great though compared to the Android side!

Appreciate any help/advice

Cheers,
Matt
Mattyl110792 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 12:35 PM   #389
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
Matt, wrong thread for this (as you pointed out) but yes I recall the D95s having issues with shuffle, they would sometimes bog down pretty bad in that mode. I have not seen that on the D99 or newer.

The only way to control the ipod with the ipod is to use an ipod adapter and connect the ipod to the dynavin's aux in.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 01:15 PM   #390
drlph25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Middletown, NJ
Posts: 87
My Ride: 05 zhp, 04 325i
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

I've been looking thought the dynavin threads but haven't found the answer tony problem..I have a GPS signal but no matter how long I wait/drive, it will not connect to any satellites, anyone else have this problem?Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1371838430.510683.jpg
Views:	180
Size:	150.2 KB
ID:	512279Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1371838480.203699.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	126.9 KB
ID:	512280Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByBimmerApp1371838497.775215.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	132.3 KB
ID:	512281


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
2005 Jet Black ZHP---> Instagram: @dylanrlph
drlph25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2013, 01:20 PM   #391
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
Where did your nav program come from? Is it legit or pirated? If its pirated I have no idea what is going on there.... if its legit, contact your dealer as something is wrong with the nav software.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2013, 08:29 AM   #392
drlph25
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Middletown, NJ
Posts: 87
My Ride: 05 zhp, 04 325i
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

All I had to do was restore the defaults and set it up again and it is working fine now, don't know why I didn't think to do that before


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
2005 Jet Black ZHP---> Instagram: @dylanrlph
drlph25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:48 PM   #393
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
good, glad you figured it out!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 09:55 AM   #394
mkdonald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 20
My Ride: 330 Cic
First of all....AWSOME! I installed the WIN CE unit yesterday. It went in great. I ordered from Jeff. I had a GROM unit in the car (02 330 CI vert) with a Parrot unit attached to the stereo that I had to uninstall. After I figure out that, it was easy to connect everything. I may need to move the GPS antennae because it takes quite a while to connect. I do live in a remote area with lots of trees, but I will see if changing location helps. Think I will try the one posted here behind the driver panel where the speedo is. With the GROM unit, my USb file was folder separated to correspond with the numbers on the business CD. How does the DYNavin read that and can you somehow select folders? Oh, by the way, I took the connector from the GROm which plugs into the cd changer in the trunk and attached it to the wires on an X46E box and can now lower and raise my soft top with my remote. I couldn't figure it out until I removed the GROM and installed the Dynavin. I am really psyched about these changes! Also, is there a better step by step on using the Dynavin and IGo somewhere? The manual kind of sucks.
mkdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:22 PM   #395
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
The dynavin is going to read a USB or SD by its file structure.....so the typical way to lay out your storage is the conventional artist>album>song....

That way you can navigate your media using the same structure.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 07-02-2013 at 03:23 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:32 PM   #396
mkdonald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 20
My Ride: 330 Cic
Ok. I have to change structure...right? I have folder1 rock, folder 2....softer....etc. so all would have to be in one folder?
mkdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 04:49 PM   #397
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
you can leave it like that if you like, doesnt really matter, if you want to break it down by your own criteria, just arrange it however you would like based on how you want to access things.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 07:52 PM   #398
mkdonald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 20
My Ride: 330 Cic
Ok. I understand, but how do you switch folders on the Dynavin? When I play the USB, it is playing only songs from folder 1. How do I change to folder 2?
mkdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:23 PM   #399
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,731
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkdonald View Post
Ok. I understand, but how do you switch folders on the Dynavin? When I play the USB, it is playing only songs from folder 1. How do I change to folder 2?
Look at the top line of the file "list", there is a folder icon with a couple dots next to it, click on that to go back or "up" a level in your directory.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 07-02-2013 at 08:24 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:35 PM   #400
mkdonald
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 20
My Ride: 330 Cic
Thanks! Love the product and your assistance is appreciated!
mkdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d99, d99+, dynavin, gps, navigation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use