E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 121 votes, 4.97 average. Display Modes
Old 10-03-2013, 03:34 PM   #461
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
Quote:
ipod / usb / radio cuts out intermittently and has ghost noise, also you can hear skipping of the actual song as it is playing (cuts out every few seconds, almost like it skips a part of the beat)
Heya,

Got my unit a few days back, had the same issue. My problem was that i thought i had put the GPS on mute, put i prob slipt or so, had it on 3% sound which interrupted the sound every 5 secs or so..

Hope it helped!


/sweden
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:36 PM   #462
tks
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Online
Posts: 839
My Ride: slower than yours
Dynavin info: D99 PLUS (D99+)......Fall 2012

what is your email?

sound is a bit better (maybe its my hk speakers that suck? sounded way better / more bass) actually thumped with oem business..

dim / brightness feature still not working
tks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:39 PM   #463
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
so you are telling me that if you hold down the mute button nothing happens to the screen?

As far as sound goes, you need to look at your settings or do some troubleshooting, in almost 4 years and thousands of units, basically nobody says it sounds worse than stock, most people say it sounds better, some people say its about the same, From a technical standpoint it should sound about the same, the stock speakers and amp are the "weak link", but definitely not worse, unless your settings are screwed up or something is damaged/disconnected/ect...

my email is in my signature below, on our website, and in the correspondence you got from me when you bought your unit. Doing troubleshooting is better via email, so I know who you are, what you have, have a history to refer to, etc... making forum posts a week apart is not a very efficient way for me to help you get things dialed in.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-03-2013 at 03:51 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:41 PM   #464
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
I have a question regarding the GPS. Its very slow at finding satelit sometimes, its like an intermittent error.

I've read that you could set it to automatically find satellite, and its set as standard to find it manually only. Couldent find this setting. Is this something you know?

Thanks in advance.
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:46 PM   #465
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by poulsen89 View Post
I have a question regarding the GPS. Its very slow at finding satelit sometimes, its like an intermittent error.

I've read that you could set it to automatically find satellite, and its set as standard to find it manually only. Couldent find this setting. Is this something you know?

Thanks in advance.
in most cases your antenna should be on TOP of the dash, at the base of the windshield. If its not there you may not get consistent reception.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:50 PM   #466
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSystems View Post
in most cases your antenna should be on TOP of the dash, at the base of the windshield. If its not there you may not get consistent reception.
Its placed in the left corner of the windshield, where the dark spots are (does spots letting the signal go out)
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 03:53 PM   #467
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
That location isnt perfect (pillar will block a third of the sky) but should work ok, what nav program are you using?
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-03-2013 at 03:53 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:12 PM   #468
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSystems View Post
That location isnt perfect (pillar will block a third of the sky) but should work ok, what nav program are you using?
It should be fine yes. Im using the one the store sent with it.. according to site its IGO-9.

Best regards,
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 04:50 PM   #469
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
we dont do igo-9 (we sell iGo Primo) so I cant help there if its a software issue, you would need to contact you seller who I would assume is more familiar with the program they are selling,
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-03-2013 at 04:51 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:05 PM   #470
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSystems View Post
we dont do igo-9 (we sell iGo Primo) so I cant help there if its a software issue, you would need to contact you seller who I would assume is more familiar with the program they are selling,
Aha, i see. Well, thank you anyway.
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 05:52 PM   #471
jknutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pleasant Prairie, WI
Posts: 19
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Jeff can you please give me a bit of advice. I have searched the forum here and at Bimmerforums but cannot find an answer. I have a old version 30G click wheel iPod that I'm using with my Winc 99+ and have issues with the iPod occasionally not shutting down when you turn the car off and killing its battery. When you start the car the next day the dead iPod jacks up my 99+. I read the problem lies with the iPod not the 99+, so I decided to move my music to a SD Card or USB stick but I cannot get either to work in the 99+. First the USB - I have tried 4 different drives ranging from 1 gig to 32 gig and have tried many versions of music files (MP3, MP4a, ACC, and WAV) and the 99+ doesn't register any of them. It just sits on the menu screen where you select "USB" and goes no further. So I scraped the USB idea and tried the SD Card. I get a little further as the dynavin will display the folder name or song title but it will not play anything. Again I have tried different music files and 3 different SD cards without success. I've also tried syncing the SD Card with WIndows music player or just flat out coping the music from my PC to the card and nothing. Am I missing a menu setting or something? Also do you recommend any software for syncing the music and hopefully creating playlists.

Thanks - Jeff Knutter
jknutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 04:03 PM   #472
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
There are no settings or anything like that....are the drives formatted? FAT32? Start small and put a couple MP3s on a formatted SD card, go from there. Also if you are using a USB remember you have to use the USB plug labeled DVD USB, its sounds like you might be plugging into the GPS USB.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2013, 09:40 PM   #473
jknutter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pleasant Prairie, WI
Posts: 19
My Ride: 2002 325Ci
Now that you say it, I bet I was using the wrong USB port...... As far as the SD Card it was formatted every time I tried another music file both as fat and fat32. Tomorrow I will try it again - now I know it should be fat32 and a MP3. That info will help a lot. I will also try the other USB port - forgot there was two. I have a new problem now anyway. I got into a little Kid Rock last night and it looks like my 11 year old HK speakers couldn't take the beating the 99+ can dish out. Now I'm researching the BSW Stage 1 upgrade. I will post my finding about the USB or SD Card dilemma soon. Thanks for your help Jeff.
jknutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 03:24 PM   #474
tamrac
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Merseyside
Posts: 2
My Ride: 318 sport coupe
Reverse camera

Hi everyone. I've been viewing this forum for many years now and learned that you are not forgiving to those who don't search. (Only just registered.) But believe me, I have searched and got so much info that I am now confused.

The trouble is that I am dyslexic and have been so overwhelmed with posts that I cannot see through them. There is so much info here that is old or not relevant to the new units or new accessories that it is confusing. I can't tell you how many posts I've read or searched on this.......

I have had the new D99+ for a while. Now wanting to put a rear camera in. Many posts are saying to take the feed off the reverse lights in the boot. Due to limited time and finding a decent price one, I've gone for a wireless unit. So for the transmitter, I can see that would be ok. But if I hadnt gone for that option, how would the Dynavin know I was in reverse? (ignoring the plate light for now as that is obvious to me)

For the receiver, there are plenty of options I guess up front. But my understanding is that the green bullet lead is where I take the power off, and then find an earth. This is where I understand that the head unit knows to display the video when I put it into reverse.

But when I put a meter on this bullet connector, it is + all the time that the ignition is on (I have limited elec experience) I would have thought that it would only be live when reverse is selected. In addition, the receiver won't come on (using a bolt fixing on the dash as earth as a temporary test. This bolt is ok if I put the meter on the green wire as + and the bolt as -)

To summerise, cant get it working using the green bullet marked reverse. Power light on the camera receiver will not show power (yes I have earthed it) Meter will show 12v on the bullet and earth.
Receiver shows a power light when connected to another power source. When I select reverse, screen changes and shows me a blank screen. Unit is altered to show cam. Also changed it to show cam and sensors.

Also, is it prefered to mount the camera on the oposite side of the exhaust to avoid heat and fumes etc or is that irrelevant?


What am I missing here and thanks for any imput?

Last edited by tamrac; 10-08-2013 at 02:13 PM. Reason: My paypal details are shown on the link
tamrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 11:39 AM   #475
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by jknutter View Post
Now that you say it, I bet I was using the wrong USB port...... As far as the SD Card it was formatted every time I tried another music file both as fat and fat32. Tomorrow I will try it again - now I know it should be fat32 and a MP3. That info will help a lot. I will also try the other USB port - forgot there was two. I have a new problem now anyway. I got into a little Kid Rock last night and it looks like my 11 year old HK speakers couldn't take the beating the 99+ can dish out. Now I'm researching the BSW Stage 1 upgrade. I will post my finding about the USB or SD Card dilemma soon. Thanks for your help Jeff.
haha, yeah, time for a speaker upgrade!
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 11:46 AM   #476
JJR4884
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 18,289
My Ride: BMW
Hey Jeff

Quick question, this is on a V5 winCE. My steering wheel controls work, but I can't change a song on my ipod. I can change stations when the radio is on, but if the ipod is attached.. nothing. Any idea?
__________________
JJR4884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 03:03 PM   #477
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,754
My Ride: BMW
OLD UNIT INFO TO FOLLOW, EVERYONE READING THIS IGNORE THE FOLLOWING AS IT IS 3 YEAR OLD OBSOLETE INFO THAT HAS NO BEARING ON THE REST OF THIS THREAD.....

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJR4884 View Post
Hey Jeff

Quick question, this is on a V5 winCE. My steering wheel controls work, but I can't change a song on my ipod. I can change stations when the radio is on, but if the ipod is attached.. nothing. Any idea?
Thats how those were, they didnt have track buttons, instead you can actually control the ipod from the steering wheel controls, up and down to highlight your choice, hold down the talk button to select, press the RT button to go back.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 10-14-2013 at 03:09 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 06:46 PM   #478
poulsen89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
My Ride: Peugeot 307
I reccon this is not a question for you Jeff. Still i would like to ask..


When using the original stereo for my peugeot 307 08, i can set time and date for the little dashboard display. Duno how to do this with original replaced with Dynavin unit?

Got any tips? thanks in advance.
poulsen89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2013, 06:50 PM   #479
JJR4884
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 18,289
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@DynavinSystems View Post
OLD UNIT INFO TO FOLLOW, EVERYONE READING THIS IGNORE THE FOLLOWING AS IT IS 3 YEAR OLD OBSOLETE INFO THAT HAS NO BEARING ON THE REST OF THIS THREAD.....



Thats how those were, they didnt have track buttons, instead you can actually control the ipod from the steering wheel controls, up and down to highlight your choice, hold down the talk button to select, press the RT button to go back.
Thank you... for some reason when i first installed it, i could have sworn I was able to go to the next/prev track, I guess i was wrong lol.
__________________
JJR4884 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 11:37 AM   #480
Leading Edge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 9
My Ride: M3 Cab
Hi I bought a Dynavin with rear camera from Jeff here at the forum. Looks good so far but Im still just mounting my D99+ at the moment and Im wondering about the conection of the reversing camera. I saw a video where they didnt conect the rear red cable to the reversing light but only used the red cable in the front of the camera cables (beside the yellow video in cable) and connected this to the camera control at the head unit. Is this ok? And if I have to connect the red cable in the rear to the reversing light what is the colour of the reversing light cable? Anyone who knows this?
Leading Edge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
d99, d99+, dynavin, gps, navigation

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use