E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 03:55 PM   #1
///MACHINE
Registered User
 
///MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,682
My Ride: is an immigrant
Exclamation Powerline Internet



So what's your guys' thoughts on this... I have wireless N at my home and hardly get a signal where I setup my HTPC. So I'm thinking of going this route instead of getting a wireless signal booster/extender.

Looking at these two:

http://www.amazon.com/ZyXEL-PLA4205k.../dp/B005GCSZD6

http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Power...net+TPL-401E2K
__________________

Last edited by ///MACHINE; 10-09-2012 at 03:56 PM.
///MACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:11 PM   #2
KaOsTiK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 474
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
I have this setup for a client...works pretty good.
Purchased thru memory express
__________________
2003.5 M3 (current project)
2000 Acura 1.6 EL (best EL...period)
KaOsTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:20 PM   #3
SamDoe1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesnowta
Posts: 3,503
My Ride: Clubs baby seals
Can you just unplug and move your router to a different/better location? That might be the cheapest solution...
SamDoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:23 PM   #4
Spiral Prophet
Über-Geek
 
Spiral  Prophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 913
My Ride: '01 Topaz Blue 330ci
Send a message via AIM to Spiral  Prophet
I've never used the power line adapters, i've heard both good things and horror stories with them from friends, however i do know that you'll be much happier if you just take the time to run an ethernet cable from the router to the HTPC.
Spiral  Prophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:24 PM   #5
DangerousMind
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay area
Posts: 992
My Ride: Sierra 1500 SLT
Quote:
Network Data Transfer Rate: 500 Megabytes Per Second
4Gbit speeds?

__________________
DangerousMind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:29 PM   #6
Five_seveN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 24,547
My Ride: rover james
Send a message via AIM to Five_seveN
Same problem at home and what helps is changing the routers channel
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by VaderDave View Post
I'm having a hard time imagining any set of responses that ends with anyone expressing admiration for Marshmallow.

Perhaps you should stop responding. It's a no-win for you here. :dunno:
Five_seveN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:43 PM   #7
cowmoo32
drunken science
 
cowmoo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,532
My Ride: Trek 1.5
My dad ran into the same problem and picked up a repeater that works well
http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-N300-Wi.../dp/B008BGYJSE
__________________

flickher

What's this about a brownie in motion?

Last edited by cowmoo32; 10-09-2012 at 04:44 PM.
cowmoo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 05:58 PM   #8
deafboy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Blaine, WA
Posts: 26,609
My Ride: 2000 323Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MACHINE View Post


So what's your guys' thoughts on this... I have wireless N at my home and hardly get a signal where I setup my HTPC. So I'm thinking of going this route instead of getting a wireless signal booster/extender.

Looking at these two:

http://www.amazon.com/ZyXEL-PLA4205k.../dp/B005GCSZD6

http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Power...net+TPL-401E2K


Linksys Powerline

It's helped get to some dead spots...works well for what I need.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaOsTiK View Post
I have this setup for a client...works pretty good.
Purchased thru memory express
Kyle...
__________________
-Cole aka bigtall*****

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owtlaw333 View Post
You'll always be pretty in my eyes, Cole :luv:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrissspyy View Post
i was like passed out while she's shoving the entire bar in my mouth. :rofl: :rofl:
deafboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 02:26 PM   #9
///MACHINE
Registered User
 
///MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,682
My Ride: is an immigrant
Quote:
Originally Posted by deafboy View Post
Linksys Powerline

It's helped get to some dead spots...works well for what I need.



Kyle...
whats up?!
__________________
///MACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:31 PM   #10
KaOsTiK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 474
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MACHINE View Post
whats up?!
hey man...not much. Just recovering from my accident.

cole..how's CA treatin ya?
__________________
2003.5 M3 (current project)
2000 Acura 1.6 EL (best EL...period)
KaOsTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:47 PM   #11
///MACHINE
Registered User
 
///MACHINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,682
My Ride: is an immigrant
****?! Didn't know you were in an accident? You okay???
__________________
///MACHINE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 03:58 PM   #12
straight_beamin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: niagara falls
Posts: 790
My Ride: 2000 bmw 323i
i have a powerline ethernet kit paid 100 bucks a while back pm me if interested i will elaborate i will practically give them away
__________________
straight_beamin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:09 PM   #13
KaOsTiK
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Surrey, BC
Posts: 474
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///MACHINE View Post
****?! Didn't know you were in an accident? You okay???
ya..just going thru the physio/kinesio process now.
if you've still got my #, give me a shout or pm me..let's catch up.
__________________
2003.5 M3 (current project)
2000 Acura 1.6 EL (best EL...period)
KaOsTiK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 04:10 PM   #14
ThEnder
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 449
My Ride: has twin turbos
There are really mixed results with the LAN over power kits. If your house is well wired then it can be great, but if not then expect an exercise in extreme frustration. The highest speed and most reliable option is just to run CAT5 from your router to your HTPP. If you can't/don't want to go that route then get a repeater or figure out how to boost the signal on your existing router.
__________________
ThEnder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use