E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2012, 04:39 PM   #1
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 161
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
Dash lights reset?

I've had my check engine, brake, traction control, and abs lights on. After getting the car scanned and it reading a Wheel Speed Sensor A error, then replacing the wheel speed sensor, the lights are still on. I tried unplugging the ground on the battery for 15 minutes and driving the car for about a half hour and they are still on.

Is there a way to reset the lights yourself without a resetting tool or bringing it to a dealer?
I've looked online and some people say some things about the ecu and trip reset button and what not but its pretty foggy.

Any help would be appreciated.

Please no negitive or annoying responses. I just want to know if anybody knows of another way to reset the lights, that is all. I don't want any other advice.

Thanks

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-13-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
scarede46er
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Clemson, SC
Posts: 1,235
My Ride: 2001 BMW 325i ZSP
disconnect battery for 30 mins.
scarede46er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 161
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
I'll try it right now. If anybody knows another way please post.
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 05:21 PM   #4
wasp9166
ima touching member
 
wasp9166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: straight out da bronx
Posts: 5,151
My Ride: 04 330i jet black
Send a message via Yahoo to wasp9166
you need to pull pos lead on batt to rest ecu , not ground

i do overnight myself, but
__________________

"if polarity comes from protons, does morality come from morons?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by russ330 View Post
"Mommy and Daddy are getting a divorce now because wasp9166 had to piitb with Mom."

Last edited by wasp9166; 10-13-2012 at 05:21 PM.
wasp9166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 05:35 PM   #5
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 161
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
What is the difference if the battery gives off no power without the ground? The ground terminal or the positive terminal, either of them unplugged disables power from the battery.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:47 PM   #6
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 161
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
Tried unplugging the battery for a half hour and it didn't do anything. Anybody know another way to reset the lights?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:50 PM   #7
wasp9166
ima touching member
 
wasp9166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: straight out da bronx
Posts: 5,151
My Ride: 04 330i jet black
Send a message via Yahoo to wasp9166
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooswanko View Post
What is the difference if the battery gives off no power without the ground? The ground terminal or the positive terminal, either of them unplugged disables power from the battery.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
The Electronic Control Module, or ECU as its commonly called, stores the information for your vehicle and your driving habits in its memory. The memory is maintaned by a series of capacitors that hold a charge and maintain power for the ECU when the vehicle is turned off. The following procedure will allow you to reset the memory and allow the computer to 're-learn' how to drive by adjusting to the drivers habits and the vehicles modifications.



1. Disconnect the battery by removing the positive battery cable. Remember, the positive battery cable.

2. Ground the positive cable to the negative cable for 30 seconds to erase the electric charge in the capacitors.

3. Reconnect the positive cable to the battery.

4. Turn the key to on but do not start.

5. Turn the key off.


The ECU has now been reset to its factory settings. For the next 50 warm-up periods the ECU will re-learn the engine and driving habits for your driving conditions and the newly installed parts.
__________________

"if polarity comes from protons, does morality come from morons?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by russ330 View Post
"Mommy and Daddy are getting a divorce now because wasp9166 had to piitb with Mom."

Last edited by wasp9166; 10-13-2012 at 06:53 PM.
wasp9166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:55 PM   #8
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 161
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
I have the conforti shark injector software, will that affect anything if I do this?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:03 PM   #9
wasp9166
ima touching member
 
wasp9166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: straight out da bronx
Posts: 5,151
My Ride: 04 330i jet black
Send a message via Yahoo to wasp9166
i'd ask conforti, that said, i have active autowerk software, and i wouldn't think twice about it

it just clears the memory, not change the adaptations, my ecu was mailed to active and mailed back

how the shark works i'm not sure, so i can't give you that answer
__________________

"if polarity comes from protons, does morality come from morons?"

Quote:
Originally Posted by russ330 View Post
"Mommy and Daddy are getting a divorce now because wasp9166 had to piitb with Mom."

Last edited by wasp9166; 10-13-2012 at 07:04 PM.
wasp9166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:51 PM   #10
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 161
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
The shark injector is programmed by an injector that plugs into the obdi ii port. I feel pretty sketchy shorting out the positive cable onto the ground terminal.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use