E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 04:05 PM   #1
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
Which is speed sensor A?

Check engine light with abs, traction, and brake lights are on. Scanner says it is speed sensor A. Which wheel speed sensor is this (front driver's side, rear passenger etc.)?

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-04-2012, 05:09 PM   #2
cyberkaa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sunnyvale, CA <-- Ithaca, NY <-- dirty jerz (201) Useful Posts: 25
Posts: 136,487
My Ride: E46 332i,M3;E30 325i
Send a message via ICQ to cyberkaa Send a message via AIM to cyberkaa Send a message via MSN to cyberkaa Send a message via Yahoo to cyberkaa
Unplug them one at a time. If you get a new error for B, C, etc., that's not A.
__________________
-Kalim
(klx photo studio)

M3 drive train conversion (S54 Swap, LSD, 6MT, suspension linkage) | UUC Stg 2 Organic Clutch | OEM M-Tech II Kit
KW V2 | BBS GT4 RE | Falken FK452 | Alcon 6-pot 365mm BBK | M3 steering wheel | Powerflex bushings

Quote:
Originally Posted by koven View Post
i'd rather be gapless with no bulge

Last edited by cyberkaa; 10-04-2012 at 05:09 PM.
cyberkaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 05:40 PM   #3
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
I dont have my own scanner. They scanned it at advance auto parts. I know how process of elimination works already. Thanks though. Can somebody please just tell me which is speed sensor A?

Sent from my MB860 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:31 AM   #4
Wickedly
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: New Jersey - Kinnelon
Posts: 846
My Ride: BMW 2003 325i
I'm surprise advanced auto parts scanner scans velocity sensors
__________________
-------------------BMW AW---------------------
Wickedly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:01 PM   #5
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
Can anybody confirm that the front divers side is side A in reference to speed sensor A?
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:08 PM   #6
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i
tell me which port from the car they are using. My car has both a round port under hood in the empty bin and ODBII one near the clutch, the ODBII one doesnt read ABS codes, but my round port has only 5-6 pins instead of 20 pins(the rest are dummy plastic holes.)

Last edited by MercForHire; 10-11-2012 at 06:08 PM.
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:12 PM   #7
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
The OBDII port under the wheel is where the scanner plugged into and " speed sensor A" came up on the screen of the scanner.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:16 PM   #8
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i
Where is the port UNDER THE WHEEL?

When a speed sensors is out or disconnected, only ABS and TC control light lits up for me. The brake light only lit up if I pull the ABS module fuse. But i have the ASC system not DSC.

Last edited by MercForHire; 10-11-2012 at 06:17 PM.
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:20 PM   #9
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
The steering wheel lol

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:25 PM   #10
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i

I would say left front is A
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:26 PM   #11
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i
I am pretty sure the sensor is NOT the problem.
Just an illusion
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:30 PM   #12
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
Alright well that's what I assume as well. So i replaced it today. The lights are still all on after driving the car around the neighborhood. Do you think it needs to be driven a certain amount of miles for the lights to turn off?

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:32 PM   #13
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
The scanner said it was speed sensor A so how can you say you are pretty sure it is not the problem? Lol

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:36 PM   #14
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i
The sensor gets its readings from the reluctor ring on your wheel bearing. If the reluctor rings breaks, the sensor malfunctions.
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:37 PM   #15
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooswanko View Post
Alright well that's what I assume as well. So i replaced it today. The lights are still all on after driving the car around the neighborhood. Do you think it needs to be driven a certain amount of miles for the lights to turn off?

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
about 5-10 min is enough to set it off. If it is fixed.
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:58 PM   #16
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
If it doesn't go off soon, im pulling off my rear wheels and cleaning the speed sensors back there. Ive heard they get filthy. The lights came on when I was driving a long time in the pouring rain so mud may have gotten up there

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:15 PM   #17
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooswanko View Post
If it doesn't go off soon, im pulling off my rear wheels and cleaning the speed sensors back there. Ive heard they get filthy. The lights came on when I was driving a long time in the pouring rain so mud may have gotten up there

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
that would be harder than pulling your own tooth
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:23 PM   #18
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
Not true. Somebody posted a whole diy on a e46 with more miles than mine and they came out a lot easier than the fronts

Sent from my MB860 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:26 PM   #19
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 4,417
My Ride: Estoril Blue 228i
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooswanko View Post
Not true. Somebody posted a whole diy on a e46 with more miles than mine and they came out a lot easier than the fronts

Sent from my MB860 using Bimmer App
perhaps, i know my front one was rusted and took me 5 hours
came out in powder and copper wires

Last edited by MercForHire; 10-11-2012 at 07:26 PM.
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:38 PM   #20
zooswanko
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Orange County, NY
Posts: 166
My Ride: 328i
Send a message via AIM to zooswanko
My front one wasnt bad and supposedly fronts are worse than rears so im not worried

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Bimmer App
zooswanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use