E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2008, 08:53 PM   #1
gaby1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: miami
Posts: 3,092
My Ride: 993
adding subwoofer

hi, if i want to add a subwoofer to the existing HK system how would i go about doing that. I searched and couldnt find a straight answer. How can i add a second subwoofer, (8inches) to my existing HK system? please help!
thanks
__________________
Pictures by boligrafo123 & ///OSS
gaby1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-13-2008, 09:39 PM   #2
330CK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 299
My Ride: > your ride
Purchase a line output converter, tap into the wires going to the existing HK subs, run the RCAs from the LOC to an amp, and and the wires from the amp to the sub. use the low pass filter on the amp to tweak.
330CK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 09:43 PM   #3
gaby1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: miami
Posts: 3,092
My Ride: 993
and i can still use my HK subs? also can i control the subwoofer from the radio? as if it were stock.?
__________________
Pictures by boligrafo123 & ///OSS
gaby1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 11:42 PM   #4
albarran9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 405
My Ride: E46, E53, E90
yes you can as long as you "T" into your wires bsw has a great vid on youtube that shows how to do it or look up the instructions on their website which have pictures and will walk you step by step, which is what I did.
albarran9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 09:03 AM   #5
gaby1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: miami
Posts: 3,092
My Ride: 993
cool thanks, as far as sound, since i plan on using the HK ones too, should i just go with an 8inch polk RMS't at 200watts and a 200 watt amp?
__________________
Pictures by boligrafo123 & ///OSS
gaby1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 07:57 PM   #6
albarran9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 405
My Ride: E46, E53, E90
depends on how you like your music and what genre you listen to. every one likes there coffee different just like every one likes their bass differently. I'v got a fi audio q which dose 1000 wrms and i usually run it at 400 wrms when i listen to rock and then turn it up when i play techno or hip hop for stronger bass lines. I always like to have enough power to run the sub at its full rms rating so that i can run it as hard or as easy as i need to. but in the end its up to you
albarran9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:31 AM   #7
gaby1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: miami
Posts: 3,092
My Ride: 993
so how do i connect the amp to the battery, wont i need a remote power wire to tell the amp to turn off and on?
__________________
Pictures by boligrafo123 & ///OSS
gaby1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:53 AM   #8
Paul W @ BSW
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 241
My Ride: Dauer EB110
I wouldn't recommend tapping onto the crossed-over signal going to the HK subs, when you can just as easily get a clean full range signal going from you head-unit to your OEM amplifier. Here's are D210.e46 Subwoofer System Install Guide, you can use this guide for any subwoofer system install, just apply the directions to your setup.

I hope this helps and feel free to contact me if you have any other questions.
Paul W @ BSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 11:53 AM   #9
gaby1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: miami
Posts: 3,092
My Ride: 993
thanks i really appreciate it, i just want to keep the HK speakers running as well, i would love to buy the BSW but i have a great deal on sub and amp combo off amazon
__________________
Pictures by boligrafo123 & ///OSS
gaby1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 02:27 PM   #10
Paul W @ BSW
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 241
My Ride: Dauer EB110
You can still keep the HK subs and add your own aftermarket sub system by following the install guide I linked to. You're just tapping onto the audio system signals and not terminating them.
Paul W @ BSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:44 PM   #11
oppa637
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Austin
Posts: 72
My Ride: 03 CB M3
What combo on amazon?
oppa637 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2008, 10:57 PM   #12
gaby1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: miami
Posts: 3,092
My Ride: 993
POLK/MOMO 8 inch $45 and off ebay (local seller) $60 for 400 RMS JL amp
__________________
Pictures by boligrafo123 & ///OSS
gaby1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:21 PM   #13
Johnson023
Banned User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SHENZHEN
Posts: 37
My Ride: SDF
I would adjust it for optimum gain (max power without distortion), then turn it down if you have to. As far as getting damaged, it's just like an engine.
Johnson023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 08:37 PM   #14
SB_RavenE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 270
My Ride: 330CI ,06 R6, S1000
Send a message via Yahoo to SB_RavenE46
This is what you need it's the best LOC ever

Buy this from me it's mint condition

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=961367
__________________
M0ney = P0w3r "THEN" I = A G3nerat0r
SB_RavenE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 04:42 AM   #15
SB_RavenE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 270
My Ride: 330CI ,06 R6, S1000
Send a message via Yahoo to SB_RavenE46
Change your mind ?
__________________
M0ney = P0w3r "THEN" I = A G3nerat0r
SB_RavenE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 04:38 PM   #16
gaby1088
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: miami
Posts: 3,092
My Ride: 993
Quote:
Originally Posted by SB_RavenE46 View Post
Change your mind ?
lol, this was a long time ago before i installed this..

__________________
Pictures by boligrafo123 & ///OSS
gaby1088 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use