E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 10:09 AM   #1
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 607
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
How to install m3 seats into a 330ci??

I have been looking around for a DIY on this but i could seem to find one..
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 11-21-2012, 10:12 AM   #2
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: wow such city
Posts: 5,776
My Ride: Has no throttle
Slide the seat all the way back and up, disconnect the battery (unless you have a Peake tool), unplug everything under the seat, undo the four bolts holding the seat down, take out, then do the reverse
__________________
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:13 AM   #3
S85FTW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Easton, CT
Posts: 517
My Ride: E60 M5 & F30 328XI
Send a message via AIM to S85FTW
Lol really? Unplug battery, remove 4 bolts for each seat. 2 plugs underneath each seat, done.
__________________
S85FTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:14 AM   #4
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 607
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Quote:
Originally Posted by S85FTW View Post
Lol really? Unplug battery, remove 4 bolts for each seat. 2 plugs underneath each seat, done.
oh its that easy? i thought i had to transfer things like airbag sensors and stuff over to the new seats?
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:32 AM   #5
S85FTW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Easton, CT
Posts: 517
My Ride: E60 M5 & F30 328XI
Send a message via AIM to S85FTW
Quote:
Originally Posted by DimitriGregorio View Post
oh its that easy? i thought i had to transfer things like airbag sensors and stuff over to the new seats?
Plug and play, no modification necessary.
__________________
S85FTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:35 AM   #6
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 607
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Quote:
Originally Posted by S85FTW View Post
Plug and play, no modification necessary.
great, thanks!
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:46 AM   #7
tim330i
Owner/Admin
 
tim330i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Boston
Posts: 11,260
My Ride: 03 Ti Silver M3
The coupe is plug and play as pointed out above. The sedan takes some more work, make a DIY (i think) when I put M3 seats in my old 330i.

Tim
tim330i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 10:56 AM   #8
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: wow such city
Posts: 5,776
My Ride: Has no throttle
The side airbag sensors are bolted directly to the car under the seat. It is under the foot vent for the rear passenger, fairly hard to get to. Just don't kick them
__________________
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:28 AM   #9
jdstrickland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 7,338
My Ride: '94 325iC & '00 323i
Quote:
Originally Posted by DimitriGregorio View Post
I have been looking around for a DIY on this but i could seem to find one..
There is no DIY. Just like there is no DIY on how to open the hood.

As with pretty much everything, they suggest you disconnect the negative post from the battery. Then you take the old seats out and put the new seats in. There are plugs under the seats that you have to work with, but it is all very straight forward -- like how to open the hood, except you need a wrench.
jdstrickland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:50 AM   #10
InZain08
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 65
My Ride: 330ci
Good luck with installing the seats man, I've always wanted to do the same
InZain08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 11:56 AM   #11
Alex323Ci
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Huntington Beach -Surf City USA
Posts: 17,437
My Ride: M3 & 323Ci (sold)
yep either disconnect battery or be absolutely certain to Not turn the key on. or else you will get an airbag code that needs specialized software to reset.

the seats are plug 'n play with the exception if it has heat or power if yours did not. Then you may need to wire some things up. remember to have your power seats moved so you can access the nuts/bolts before cutting power. also put a thick towel at the threshold so not to scratch stuff up moving seats in/out.
__________________
OE CSL WHEELS - OE CSL BRAKES - OE AUTOFLD MIRRORS - CSL TRUNK - CSL DIFFUSER - AA TUNE - AA PULLEYS - AS 40% SSK - BILSTEIN PSS9s
CF CSL LIP - NAVI - BMWPERF CF STRUT BAR - BMW GROUP N MNTS - GRUPPE M CF INTAKE - SUPERSPRINT - UUC BRKLINES, TRANS, RTABs - H&R SWAYS - 4.10 M-SPORT DIFF
Alex323Ci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:40 PM   #12
diM3tri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fairfield CT
Posts: 607
My Ride: 330ci + stg2 Scoobie
Thanks everyone for the advice! The seats I'm looking at are the same specs as my current: power, heat, lumbar etc so I shouldn't have any problems with doing this!
__________________


Current Cars:
'99 Big Turbo B5 A4 (the red one) ^^^
'13 GLI
'91 Ford F150 v8 5spd

Previous Cars:
'05 stg 2 scoobie wagon
'82 VW rabbit vert
'01 330ci
'84 633csi
diM3tri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:56 PM   #13
jdstrickland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 7,338
My Ride: '94 325iC & '00 323i
The only thing to caution you about is that the donor car have the same number of doors as the your car. If you have a 2-door and the donor is a 4-door, then you won't have the lever to tile the seats forward so people can get to the back seat.
jdstrickland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:00 PM   #14
jdstrickland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Murrieta, CA
Posts: 7,338
My Ride: '94 325iC & '00 323i
ONE MORE CAUTION
Do not turn the key to RUN without having both seats plugged in, else you will trigger an airbag (SRS) fault that requires more diagnostic capability than you have to reset.

SRS goes out and looks for all equipment to be installed and working else a fault is triggered. Given the importance of this safety equipment, they do not allow generic scan tools to access the system. There are scan tools that will reset the system, but you can avoid buying one of them if you remember to not turn the key on until both seats have been plugged in.
jdstrickland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 01:41 PM   #15
tylermaslanik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 273
My Ride: 3 Pedal 323Ci
Yeah as long as its the same seats its plug and play. I got power and heated M3 seats for my manual seats and had to run the wires from the fuse box. That was a pain. but worth it. haha
tylermaslanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 02:22 PM   #16
shahbaz99
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto,On
Posts: 263
My Ride: Clean 330ci
be extra cautious when pulling the seats in and out of the car. those brackets underneath are sharp and can work a nice number on your door panel, door jam and your dash.
__________________
shahbaz99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:10 PM   #17
cvx5832
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 2,270
My Ride: 325Ci, 325Cic, C300
Quote:
Originally Posted by DimitriGregorio View Post
I have been looking around for a DIY on this but i could seem to find one..
DIY
__________________


cvx5832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 03:14 PM   #18
flashmeow
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,220
My Ride: E30-E46-E90-E90M-F30
coupe should be a direct swap/plug and play so this should be no trouble for you. I have a sedan and M3 seats. It was not a direct swap since I have to swap out the rails and seat belt.
flashmeow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:49 PM   #19
mightymouse777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Norman OK
Posts: 67
My Ride: 01 325Ci
is it still a direct swap if you dont have heated seats etc prior?
mightymouse777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:51 PM   #20
tylermaslanik
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 273
My Ride: 3 Pedal 323Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightymouse777 View Post
is it still a direct swap if you dont have heated seats etc prior?
I don't think so. You still have to run the wires from the fuse box. As they were not run originally.
tylermaslanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use