E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2005, 05:37 AM   #1
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
Auto Trans. Limit

I've heard a lot of draw backs that the step/auto equipped e46's have with major power upgrades. For example, there is no stage 2 SC kit for them due to the tranny not being able to withstand all that extra power......What is it really that can't withstand the power in the trans.? Is it the gears, the torque converter, etc.. Also, is there a way to correct this weakness in step/auto transmissions without swaping on over to a manual? Thanks!
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 10-04-2005, 05:39 AM   #2
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
And yes, I’m unfortunately a step/auto…….
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 12:17 PM   #3
Mr Paddle.Shift
PhD Mech. Eng.
 
Mr Paddle.Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: By that double apexes
Posts: 2,131
My Ride: B3 epsilon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oshin02
And yes, I’m unfortunately a step/auto…….
Why is it being unfortunate? I have so much fun at the tracks with an ASA SC and a steptronic.
__________________

Technik Engineering ASA Stage 1.
Supercharged E46 M54B25.
2011 NASA TTC So Cal Champion!
Track blog.
Technik Engineering oil cap o-ring maintenance kit available.
Mr Paddle.Shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2005, 09:56 PM   #4
BMR2NV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: australia
Posts: 121
My Ride: E46 318I 2002
Well i had a turbo setup on my e46 and the tranny would always go into limp mode at around 3,500rpm when it was reaching max power levels. There is a limit on the tranny but i think its more got to do with the brain controlling it. There must be a certain power (torque) level that the computer has been pre set to before putting the trans into limp mode.
As soon as i took the turbo set up off and left it n/a with exhaust and air intake mods there car and tranny ran perfect... i dont think just "BEEFING UP" the tranny is going to help... Something needs to be done to the computer.

im no expert but thats just comming from experience..

Last edited by BMR2NV; 10-04-2005 at 09:59 PM.
BMR2NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 04:38 AM   #5
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMR2NV
Well i had a turbo setup on my e46 and the tranny would always go into limp mode at around 3,500rpm when it was reaching max power levels. There is a limit on the tranny but i think its more got to do with the brain controlling it. There must be a certain power (torque) level that the computer has been pre set to before putting the trans into limp mode.
As soon as i took the turbo set up off and left it n/a with exhaust and air intake mods there car and tranny ran perfect... i dont think just "BEEFING UP" the tranny is going to help... Something needs to be done to the computer.

im no expert but thats just comming from experience..
Is there any trans softwares that can do this?....
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 01:46 PM   #6
greenohawk69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Snowden, Russia
Posts: 350
My Ride: BMW.Harley.Ducati
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oshin02
Is there any trans softwares that can do this?....
I've heard Dinan.
greenohawk69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 06:44 PM   #7
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenohawk69
I've heard Dinan.
I just got off the phone with them, it doesn't eliminate the torque sensor..........is there anythign else I can do? Is it a physical sensor in the trans that I can mess around wit hor is it strictly software? Thanks!
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 07:53 PM   #8
BMR2NV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: australia
Posts: 121
My Ride: E46 318I 2002
I Think there is an actuall torque sensor.... but u cant just remove it because then u will again have problems with the trans computer. Its a fine line between being ok and being over the limit
BMR2NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 09:40 PM   #9
Lay2Low
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,533
My Ride: Psshht Widebody; M3
Send a message via AIM to Lay2Low
I hope someone can figure out how to make this work. How much can the tranny really hold before it starts to slip? It just seems wierd that they would slip with a "low" HP and torque, when you see things like mercedes' autos holdin 500+
__________________
Lay2Low is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 09:45 PM   #10
malakia12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Woolwich Township
Posts: 1,459
My Ride: 05 Xterra, 05 Sentra
Send a message via AIM to malakia12
My tranny is holding up fine up til now, I have AA s/c, headers, cams, exhaust, but my car is a 325. It used to slip in the beginning when I first got the s/c installed, but since then I can basically push the car as hard as I want and then tranny responds just fine. time will tell i guess
__________________
Blown by AA :) SOLD!!!!
malakia12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2005, 10:05 PM   #11
Mr Paddle.Shift
PhD Mech. Eng.
 
Mr Paddle.Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: By that double apexes
Posts: 2,131
My Ride: B3 epsilon
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lay2Low
I hope someone can figure out how to make this work. How much can the tranny really hold before it starts to slip? It just seems wierd that they would slip with a "low" HP and torque, when you see things like mercedes' autos holdin 500+
That's because each transmission has a torque rating. BMW has auto transmissions rated for higher torque, notably those in 7er, 5er, X5 and the Alpina V8 (Z8 based).
__________________

Technik Engineering ASA Stage 1.
Supercharged E46 M54B25.
2011 NASA TTC So Cal Champion!
Track blog.
Technik Engineering oil cap o-ring maintenance kit available.
Mr Paddle.Shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 06:47 AM   #12
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
So how much can we step/ auto tran.'s really hold till they go into "Limp mode"? Thanks!
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 07:23 PM   #13
tpollard95124
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ventura
Posts: 5
My Ride: X3 3.0i
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMR2NV
Well i had a turbo setup on my e46 and the tranny would always go into limp mode at around 3,500rpm when it was reaching max power levels. There is a limit on the tranny but i think its more got to do with the brain controlling it. There must be a certain power (torque) level that the computer has been pre set to before putting the trans into limp mode.
As soon as i took the turbo set up off and left it n/a with exhaust and air intake mods there car and tranny ran perfect... i dont think just "BEEFING UP" the tranny is going to help... Something needs to be done to the computer.

im no expert but thats just comming from experience..
I know there's been lots of debate in this forum on auto transmissions and I'm not looking to re-create that. It would be interesting to know though what the torque sensor limits are on the GM and ZF transmissions.
tpollard95124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2005, 07:44 PM   #14
Mr Paddle.Shift
PhD Mech. Eng.
 
Mr Paddle.Shift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: By that double apexes
Posts: 2,131
My Ride: B3 epsilon
I have a ZF 5HP19. My last dyno was about 240rw-hp, 210rw-ftlbs. I haven't experienced slippage or going into limp mode ever.

I need a more concrete proof. I know the GT-1 can display the torque rating. Hoping to jump on the dyno soon.
__________________

Technik Engineering ASA Stage 1.
Supercharged E46 M54B25.
2011 NASA TTC So Cal Champion!
Track blog.
Technik Engineering oil cap o-ring maintenance kit available.
Mr Paddle.Shift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 08:34 AM   #15
BayerischeMW
Man with No Name
 
BayerischeMW's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,924
My Ride: '07 E92 335i
this is nice reading since i am planning on going ESS TX2 next spring on my 330 step, hoping it won't be any trouble.
__________________
BBS | ACS

"if you wanna be king of the ring, this is the kind of car you should get" -M3 CSL
"there's no replacement for displacement" - only BMW ///M
BayerischeMW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 06:16 AM   #16
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 06:21 AM   #17
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
Quote:
Originally Posted by malakia12
My tranny is holding up fine up til now, I have AA s/c, headers, cams, exhaust, but my car is a 325. It used to slip in the beginning when I first got the s/c installed, but since then I can basically push the car as hard as I want and then tranny responds just fine. time will tell i guess
So your doin okiw with your step/auto? Or is it slipping?
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2005, 08:33 AM   #18
malakia12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Woolwich Township
Posts: 1,459
My Ride: 05 Xterra, 05 Sentra
Send a message via AIM to malakia12
I am doing fine with my tranny
__________________
Blown by AA :) SOLD!!!!
malakia12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 11:16 PM   #19
Oshin02
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Glendale, Ca
Posts: 557
My Ride: turbo E46/M3/MCoupe
Send a message via AIM to Oshin02
anyone else?
__________________


I am, CARBON MAN.....
Oshin02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 03:48 PM   #20
bengwie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 340
My Ride: 2004 M3 Coupe
From my thought and my friend's experience, it is fine for 325 with supercharger w/ step because the power that SC gives on the 325 engine is right about the boundary of slipping (around 300 crank horse power), but 330 is the problem since the power will be above the boundary (the max limit of step tranny) and it will cause problems.

There was a product in www.levelten.com to upgrade your tranny to handle more horsepower, but I heard it was useless.

So, I think it would be better to just buy an M3 (anyway your car is coupe too, it would be an issue for people who like/want sedan). That's what my friend recommends me (he got SC on his 325). It's all up to you.
__________________
2003 330i sold
2004 ///M3 sold
bengwie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use