E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 03:27 PM   #1
D4323i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 27
My Ride: 1999 323i
99 323i Good 12v source

Hey fellas and gals,

I just received my small 5 inch monitor that I want to connect via RCA to my Erisin dvd player. Im not worried about that. Im wondering where I can find a good 12v source on the 323i. I knwo that you cant splice any 12 wire on a car and I dont want my dash to light up with faulty codes.


Thanks in advance
__________________
D4323i
D4323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 12-03-2012, 03:43 PM   #2
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 9,389
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
You will want it on something that turns on or off with something else. You could use the accessory power wherever that is. It will have no problem with a small LCD (current wise) and it will only be on when the car is on. Now you need someone to tell you what wires that is. It is probably similar to how some people wire their angel eyes for always on functionality.
WDE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:50 PM   #3
tks
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Online
Posts: 838
My Ride: slower than yours
Underneath your steering wheel area is a yellow wire, splice it into that one.

Orange are high voltage so stay away from those, but yellow are good and very noticeable.

There's also yellow on passenger side, you could tap into either depending on preference.
tks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:52 PM   #4
330ciandr6
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: .
Posts: 6,606
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to 330ciandr6 Send a message via Yahoo to 330ciandr6
Don't just tap into random wires. There are a few ports in the fuse box that are open terminals that power on with the key that you can just connect to with a terminal style wire end so you don't have to tap into or strip any wires.
__________________
Have a oil or coolant leak? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...732&highlight=
ABS/DSC/Brake/Airbag light on?? Click here!:http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...648&highlight=
330ciandr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:59 PM   #5
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 9,389
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Quote:
Originally Posted by 330ciandr6 View Post
Don't just tap into random wires. There are a few ports in the fuse box that are open terminals that power on with the key that you can just connect to with a terminal style wire end so you don't have to tap into or strip any wires.
This is the best idea here. You can put a 5-10A fuse on it to protect your car too.
WDE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:11 PM   #6
trj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denver
Posts: 2,925
My Ride: 325Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by 330ciandr6 View Post
Don't just tap into random wires. There are a few ports in the fuse box that are open terminals that power on with the key that you can just connect to with a terminal style wire end so you don't have to tap into or strip any wires.
+1. Do not ever try to get current from random wires.

You can buy a fuse tap and tap empty slots in the fuse box(inside the glovebox). I believe I have my iPod charger on slot 5 in fuse box as it is an accessory slot(that turns ON with the key) along with an inline fuse.
You can find a small screw near the glovebox for ground.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WDE46 View Post
This is the best idea here. You can put a 5-10A fuse on it to protect your car too.
inline fuse it is.
__________________
trj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:49 PM   #7
D4323i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 27
My Ride: 1999 323i
Thanks all ! Ill post when im done this week end.

Thanks again

Sent from my SGH-I747M using Bimmer App
__________________
D4323i
D4323i is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use