E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-31-2012, 07:56 PM   #1
Acrono
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 51
My Ride: e46 soon.
AUX install > Transmission Limp (!)

Coinsidence? I bought a AUX cable of ebay for $20 and did the install, during the install I did destroy a wire by drilling through the center consul. After the install I drove the car to get a massage (7.7 miles away) Then when I left the following symptoms happened, see pictures.


Yay! AUX!

---

Opps hope that was not important!

---

A closer look at the damage done



Its a black/purple and brown/purple wire, I took out my center council again today and it does not seem like this goes anywhere! So I just cleaned up the wire and taped it off.
---

And this is the end result,


The car shits VERY hard when this light is on, if I turn the car off for 10 seconds it goes away for a while, usually until I re in-gauge park. But the car drives perfectly with it off.

I did some research and this can happen due to a electrical short, so after I cleaned up the wires I reset the car buy touch the + and - and it still happens. I plan on getting the code read tomorrow.

But if anyone has any suggestions or idea's I would greatly appreciate it, or if anyone could tell me what this wire is and if I even need it, my guess was for the HK sound system or something that my car is not equip with.

(What the wire reads)
8377084
1355620-1
AMP BMW

-Nathan

Last edited by Acrono; 07-31-2012 at 07:59 PM.
Acrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 07-31-2012, 07:57 PM   #2
MercForHire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Waterloo,Ontario
Posts: 4,403
My Ride: 323Ci 5 Speed Black
LOL what the mofo
How did a radio install fuk up the car tranny LOLs
MercForHire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:08 PM   #3
[USMC]Skywalker
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 293
My Ride: 2005 Tiag M3
That probably connects to a connector underneath the shift trim just look around the console for the other end of the wires and connect them, it should work
[USMC]Skywalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 08:42 PM   #4
Acrono
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 51
My Ride: e46 soon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by [USMC]Skywalker View Post
That probably connects to a connector underneath the shift trim just look around the console for the other end of the wires and connect them, it should work
I checked already, I took most of these pics today, I did not find anywhere to connect that wire.
Acrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2012, 11:06 PM   #5
JS330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 1,104
My Ride: '01 330Ci 3 Pedals
just solder the wires back together and see if that fixes it?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeclanM3 View Post
I hope he isn't using Pirelli condoms..
JS330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 02:42 AM   #6
Acrono
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 51
My Ride: e46 soon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS330 View Post
just solder the wires back together and see if that fixes it?
I might try that, but I figured cleaning them up and taping them off would do the trick because they don't go anywhere. (I really hope someone could confirm this)

After further driving I found that the symptoms are VERY precise. The (!) light will only engage while in Park for 5 seconds. BUT! If I hold the brake down while in park, the light will not engage, but as soon as I release it, the light will shoot back on in 5 seconds.

Going to a local transmission shop tomorrow to get the code read. Other than that the car runs great and the AUX is sweet, will write another DIY for it soon as I get this problem fixed.

-Nathan
Acrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:41 AM   #7
jasonbimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 5,686
My Ride: 2001 BMW 330xi
just solder the wires together and heat shrink them.
what made you think having wires disconnected will be fine?
what you may have done is accidentally unplugged it while drilling into the console.
__________________
2009 Mazda RX-8 R3
2013 Toyota FJ Cruiser
2008 YAMAHA YZF-R6

Last edited by jasonbimmer; 08-01-2012 at 08:44 AM.
jasonbimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 07:55 PM   #8
Acrono
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 51
My Ride: e46 soon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonbimmer View Post
just solder the wires together and heat shrink them.
what made you think having wires disconnected will be fine?
what you may have done is accidentally unplugged it while drilling into the console.
I figured they were not being used so I assumed it would be fine as I mentioned in my earlier post. Maybe it is a open circuit so I am going to get some solder tomorrow and solder it back up. Other than that I am getting the code read on Monday, all of the tranny shops are super busy..
Acrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2012, 08:15 PM   #9
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,395
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Why the hell would you drill it while still in the car?! Are you 12?
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:21 PM   #10
Acrono
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 51
My Ride: e46 soon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
Why the hell would you drill it while still in the car?! Are you 12?
This really contributes to the progression of the thread.
But this was the first time taking out the radio/center consul and I now know how easy it is to take out.
Acrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:09 PM   #11
Acrono
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, Tx
Posts: 51
My Ride: e46 soon.
Problem fixed, turns out that wire plugs in right under the shifter.
Acrono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 11:43 PM   #12
Nightmare5336
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 741
My Ride: e46 with a slushy
SMH omg
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdc336 View Post
DUMB YOUR MOM.
Nightmare5336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:27 AM   #13
stevenluczynski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: orlando
Posts: 1,395
My Ride: Is Steel Blue<3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acrono View Post
This really contributes to the progression of the thread.
But this was the first time taking out the radio/center consul and I now know how easy it is to take out.
That's why you do your research before sticking a drill into your car.
__________________
stevenluczynski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 09:31 AM   #14
lsteg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Gettysburg, PA
Posts: 978
My Ride: 2001 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevenluczynski View Post
That's why you do your research before sticking a drill into your car.
Especially as much as this issue has been covered and I'm sure there is a DIY somewhere with pictures and instructions.

Let this be a lesson. Research first, drill later.
__________________
lsteg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 12:13 AM   #15
xcar360
Past Site Sponsor
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: China
Posts: 350
My Ride: BMW 318i
wow, A very detailed explanation
xcar360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:37 AM   #16
gusmagoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 71
My Ride: 325CI coupe M-sport
From your earlier description I was going to suggest this went to the gear shift position switch which sounds correct now. I think that it's a switch that tells the car it's in park and in turn engages the "parking paul"---The few seconds delay would be the ECU giving it chance to engage before deciding there is something wrong, (as I believe it is a solenoid switch) which may take a second or two to engage? Anyway good that it's now sorted. Schoolboy error drilling through wires! Doe!
gusmagoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:14 AM   #17
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Posts: 8,589
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
Duff of the month goes to Acrono.

I actually like this idea. Can we have an official duff of the month award?

Last edited by WDE46; 12-13-2012 at 08:15 AM.
WDE46 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:24 AM   #18
Cliff_ord
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7
My Ride: 330i
Hi there, i have the same problem with the tranmission light going into limp mode, wont comeon with im holding the brake and what not. BUT i have not touch any wires in the vehicles i scanned the car and it gave 2 codes 19 magnetic shift lock, and 145 CAN engine intervention. This your car throw these codes when you had that problem and which wires did you end up fixing under the shifter
__________________
Cliff_ord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use