No Audio - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 07:52 PM   #1
ShookMasta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 32
My Ride: 00 323ci
No Audio

I've searched for other threads to no avail.

Driving down the road today, listening to the stereo when it just stops playing... No more audio. Radio has power and still acts like it is playing, just no sound coming out of the speakers. It is an aftermarket Alpine head unit that was in the car when I bought it.

I checked the 2 radio fuses and of course they were good; I mean the radio does have power. I DO NOT have the H/K sound system in my car.

What should I check next? Anyway to check the amp?

Thanks
__________________
ShookMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:49 PM   #2
lcoleman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: the barnyard
Posts: 2,458
My Ride: '79 Massey Ferguson
Check the wiring for the aftermarket head unit. No doubt it is sub-par, and your problem is likely there.
__________________
lcoleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:11 PM   #3
ShookMasta
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 32
My Ride: 00 323ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcoleman View Post
Check the wiring for the aftermarket head unit. No doubt it is sub-par, and your problem is likely there.
Thanks for the reply.

I got to looking under the trunk carpet and there is wiring for an aftermarket amp back there. Stripped ends of the wires were bare....(really...)

So I ripped them all out just because, and wouldn't ya know, its working..
__________________
ShookMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.