E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2015, 01:55 AM   #1
mleindek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Delaware, USA
Posts: 144
My Ride: 2003 325i
Need input about graphic cards

So my old desktop PC is having some lags and I'm planning some updates, the actual config is:

Motherboard: ASRock A785GXH/128M
CPU: Athlon 64 X2 4600+ (2400 Mhz)
RAM: DDR2 4GB total (2x 2GB)
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce G210 512Mb


I don't give the PC an extreme use, no games at all, once in a while an old version of NFS (Porsche) and some San Andreas, I use it almost for internet browsing and audio editing.

My plan is to improve the RAM (at least 8GB total DDR2) and I would like a better graphics adapter but here is where I get lost so any input would be appreciated, I don't want a super duper mega card, just a normal one (maybe 1GB or 2) that doesn't lag with 5, 6 instances of chrome.

Thanks!

Last edited by mleindek; 02-26-2015 at 01:57 AM.
mleindek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 08:23 AM   #2
ryanwhite74115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,784
My Ride: 2013 Infiniti G37S
Burn your PC to the ground and seriously start over.
__________________
(\ /) or \(`' )/
( . .)
c('')('')
ryanwhite74115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 08:48 AM   #3
Wraisil
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 216
My Ride: 2010 Infiniti G37
Can you still find DDR2 new? (kidding, but only kinda)

I'm guessing you want to upgrade cheap, so here's a cheap system that will edit audio, play minor games, and surf the internet.

https://pcpartpicker.com/guide/zJfrx...oderate-gaming

or pre-built (not as powerful, but cheaper and will play most low-medium load games at 30fps or better)

http://computers.woot.com/offers/hp-...ef=cnt_wp_10_6

Last edited by Wraisil; 02-26-2015 at 09:00 AM.
Wraisil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 08:58 AM   #4
Squiddie
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Boston
Posts: 55
My Ride: E89 Z4, ex e46 330Ci
I don't see what a faster graphics card would do for websurfing and the like.

Without a question more RAM is the important item for that PC. However, DDR2 RAM is pretty expensive. Maybe not anymore, didn't follow.
Squiddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 09:06 AM   #5
Chaplian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Illinois
Posts: 282
My Ride: M56 SULEV
Jesus, I thought I was bad, with my nearly 7 year old i7-920. I think it's time for a new pc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraisil View Post
Can you still find DDR2 new? (kidding, but only kinda)

I'm guessing you want to upgrade cheap, so here's a cheap system that will edit audio, play minor games, and surf the internet.

https://pcpartpicker.com/guide/zJfrx...oderate-gaming

or pre-built (not as powerful, but cheaper and will play most low-medium load games at 30fps or better)

http://computers.woot.com/offers/hp-...ef=cnt_wp_10_6
x2
Chaplian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 09:44 AM   #6
MrWesson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 357
My Ride: 01 330CI/09 328i
A graphics card wont help you whatsoever.

You need a new CPU. They don't make upgraded AMD CPU's with the current motherboard socket you are using.

Keep the Box its all in but the rest of that **** has to go(keep the HD if its over 500gb).

Get a cheap Motherboard under $80.
Buy a AMD FX series CPU(100-$200)
4gb of ram would work for you and not that ddr2 **** you have.
The graphics card is old and shitty but usable I guess. If I were building something new I wouldn't want that old **** in there.

Or you can skip the build and buy something like this for $199.
http://slickdeals.net/f/7682790-leno...x-199-ebay-com

Install current HD but I'd suggest buying a small Solid state drive for under $100 because in everyday stuff its the most noticeable upgrade.
It doesn't have an operating system so its up to you to acquire that and install.
MrWesson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:07 AM   #7
Zell
Registered User
 
Zell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: wow such city
Posts: 5,799
My Ride: Has no throttle
You can get a massively better APU for dirt cheap:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819113282

And add 4GB more RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231207

It'll feel like a brand-new computer for < $100.

If you want, you can add a cheap graphics card for another $50:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125681
__________________

Last edited by Zell; 02-26-2015 at 10:20 AM.
Zell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:08 AM   #8
SamDoe1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Minnesnowta
Posts: 3,584
My Ride: Clubs baby seals
You don't need a PC, what you need is a chromebook or MS Surface.
SamDoe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:35 AM   #9
choxor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,733
My Ride: JDM
Is your computer a member of AARP
__________________
choxor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 04:23 PM   #10
mleindek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Delaware, USA
Posts: 144
My Ride: 2003 325i
Thank you all for your answers.

Actually, I have a MSI GS70 for work so I'm not in big hurry for a super desktop beast but I like to have a desktop connected to my analog old school Technics in my man cave where I can have some fun for cheap...
I think I'll spend 100 bucks and update my old PC, the option that Zell wrote sounds good.

Thanks to all again.
mleindek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 05:52 PM   #11
braymond141
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakhurst, Ca
Posts: 1,767
My Ride: 96 M3, 98 M3, 01 M5
Yikes. Your computer isn't even $100, why put more into it? You need a new computer.
__________________
braymond141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 07:47 AM   #12
MrWesson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 357
My Ride: 01 330CI/09 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by mleindek View Post
Thank you all for your answers.

Actually, I have a MSI GS70 for work so I'm not in big hurry for a super desktop beast but I like to have a desktop connected to my analog old school Technics in my man cave where I can have some fun for cheap...
I think I'll spend 100 bucks and update my old PC, the option that Zell wrote sounds good.

Thanks to all again.
Wrong move guy.

Its a throwaway.
MrWesson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use