E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2013, 01:26 PM   #1
99inline6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 2
My Ride: 1999 328i
Unhappy E46 Aftermarket Stereo Problem

I recently wired an aftermarket stereo I just bought into my 99' 328i (without the wiring harness). The radio turned on but there is no sound coming out of the speakers at all which is why I bought the new radio in the first place. Since this isn't working either I'm starting to think it's the stock amp located in the trunk. I wired the blue remote wire from the aftermarket radio to the white wire coming out of the car and it still wouldn't turn on. But one thing I noticed is there is a whole separate wire labeled "amp" on it that plugged into the stock radio but not the aftermarket one. Does that cable need power for the amp to turn on? Any ideas on anything above would be helpful. I will send pictures if you'd like.
99inline6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 01-25-2013, 04:53 PM   #2
Shay-E46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: i
Posts: 20
My Ride: E46Coupe
you need to connect the blue wire ( amp power ) from the aftermarket radio to the white-power antenna in the bmw loom for radio and also for the amp power .

you can also wire 2 cables right to the speakers to check if the radio I ok
__________________
Ride the wind of change
Shay-E46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:19 PM   #3
//Maxwelljuppercut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: il
Posts: 229
My Ride: e46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shay-E46 View Post
you need to connect the blue wire ( amp power ) from the aftermarket radio to the white-power antenna in the bmw loom for radio and also for the amp power .

you can also wire 2 cables right to the speakers to check if the radio I ok
or you could spend the $12 and buy the proper wiring harness in the first place so that
a) you are not cutting into the factory wiring
b) it works right the first time, and
c) you can easily remove it and your car is back to stock
//Maxwelljuppercut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 11:34 AM   #4
Shay-E46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: i
Posts: 20
My Ride: E46Coupe
Quote:
Originally Posted by //Maxwelljuppercut View Post
or you could spend the $12 and buy the proper wiring harness in the first place so that
a) you are not cutting into the factory wiring
b) it works right the first time, and
c) you can easily remove it and your car is back to stock
Hi the guy said he already did the wire without the original connector , anyway some of us like me got our E46 when the loom was already cut .

glad I could help .
__________________
Ride the wind of change
Shay-E46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 04:07 PM   #5
99inline6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boynton Beach, FL
Posts: 2
My Ride: 1999 328i
I already tried wiring the white wire to the blue remote wire and still got nothing. Could it be that my factory amp needs replacement?
99inline6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amp, bmw, stereo, stock, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use