E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2014, 12:31 PM   #1
BurgundyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nuits-Saint-Georges, France (From SF Bay Area - CALI)
Posts: 72
My Ride: E46 M3/E39 M5
E39 M5: wiring harness help on install

Hello everyone,
sorry to be posting here about a car other than an E46. I actually have two E46s 330CI and M3 coupe and I know that folks on here know quite a bit about all things BMW.

So, here is the thing, on my wife's 2000 E39 M5, I am trying to install a new double din Kenwood. I used a Janus setup and everything seems to be fine. Wifi, video, etc all work. The problem is Audio. I don't get any sound at all.

The car has the factory audio upgrade, so I'm worried that this might be the issue. However, in speaking with the Kenwood customer support they said it should be possible to bypass the amp.

The only issue is the Power Control wire that comes from the headunit side of the harness. It is a folded wire, marked P. Control. I have no idea where this needs to go or how I'm supposed to plug it in. Clueless on this part.

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers

Ray
BurgundyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-26-2014, 01:02 PM   #2
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
Your M5 has the DSP audio system, the head unit and the amp are electrically speaking, one unit. Take out the head unit and you kill the amp. There are a few ways around it but basically you need to install an aftermarket amp...its not trivial and not for novices due to the non-standard nature of the E39 audio system. Tons of info on this on the 5 series subforum on bimmerforums.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 01:52 PM   #3
BurgundyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nuits-Saint-Georges, France (From SF Bay Area - CALI)
Posts: 72
My Ride: E46 M3/E39 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions View Post
Your M5 has the DSP audio system, the head unit and the amp are electrically speaking, one unit. Take out the head unit and you kill the amp. There are a few ways around it but basically you need to install an aftermarket amp...its not trivial and not for novices due to the non-standard nature of the E39 audio system. Tons of info on this on the 5 series subforum on bimmerforums.
Thanks Jeff, I'll have a look. Most likely will have someone install an amp tomorrow. Dumb question, but could my stock amp from one of my E46s work for it or this either not worth it or in different leagues performance wise?
BurgundyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 02:29 PM   #4
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurgundyM3 View Post
Thanks Jeff, I'll have a look. Most likely will have someone install an amp tomorrow. Dumb question, but could my stock amp from one of my E46s work for it or this either not worth it or in different leagues performance wise?
No, different system entirely.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 03:11 PM   #5
BurgundyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nuits-Saint-Georges, France (From SF Bay Area - CALI)
Posts: 72
My Ride: E46 M3/E39 M5
Fun times. Did some reading over there. So, will an aftermarket amp install by a pro do the trick or do I need to bend over first? Thanks again for your help!
BurgundyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 03:15 PM   #6
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
The main problem is that the crossovers are built into the amp so if you eliminate the amp you also loose the crossovers....

If you replace the speakers as well with a component set, its not TOO bad as the speakers will come with crossovers...at that point you have basically replaced everything and are all aftermarket. If you want to keep the speakers its possible with a German Audio Specialties crossover but they have been on perpetual backorder. An amp/processor like the JBL MS-8 can get the job done as well but needs someone who knows what they are doing to set it up. Basically its not pretty (for your wallet) no matter how you do it.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-26-2014 at 03:17 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 06:01 PM   #7
BurgundyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nuits-Saint-Georges, France (From SF Bay Area - CALI)
Posts: 72
My Ride: E46 M3/E39 M5
Yikes. so basically, replace speakers, amp and crossovers and I should be fine?
BurgundyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2014, 08:08 PM   #8
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 2,707
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by BurgundyM3 View Post
Yikes. so basically, replace speakers, amp and crossovers and I should be fine?
haha....yeah....replace everything and you are fine. E39 DSP systems are no fun.....

FYI (self promoting plug incoming)....The new Dynavin N6 unit will work with your DSP amp to keep it "alive"....so you would not have replace the amp, speakers, nothing. Plug and play. Only unit in existence that does this....its been in the works for a while and frankly I expect it to be a BIG DEAL in the E39/E53 community.
__________________
USE COUPON CODE FANATICS AT CHECKOUT TO GET A $50 FORUM DISCOUNT ON THE NEW DYNAVIN N6 UNITS!



LATEST DYNAVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1044105
DYNAVIN FAQ:http://www.jandtdistributing.com/pages/faq-links
///AVIN INFO: http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=1015704
TO BUY http://jandtdistributing.com

Last edited by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions; 06-26-2014 at 08:10 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 02:19 AM   #9
BurgundyM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nuits-Saint-Georges, France (From SF Bay Area - CALI)
Posts: 72
My Ride: E46 M3/E39 M5
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffb325@NavigationSolutions View Post
haha....yeah....replace everything and you are fine. E39 DSP systems are no fun.....

FYI (self promoting plug incoming)....The new Dynavin N6 unit will work with your DSP amp to keep it "alive"....so you would not have replace the amp, speakers, nothing. Plug and play. Only unit in existence that does this....its been in the works for a while and frankly I expect it to be a BIG DEAL in the E39/E53 community.

Thanks man. Anything else to replace besides speakers, amps and crossovers?

I appreciate the heads up on the N6. Had recently checked it out. I really like this new 7 inch double din from Kenwood though. Already 'installed'...short of Audio, lol.

Will get some other bits today for it and report back.

thanks again
BurgundyM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use