E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > DIY: Do It Yourself

DIY: Do It Yourself
Post here to share or improve your wrench turning skills! All BMW E46 DIY tips, tales, and projects discussed inside. Learn to work on your car and know the right BMW parts you will need!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2013, 03:17 AM   #1
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Changing O2 sensor

So driving home the other day and my EML light came on. I've had the code read it said bank 1 sensor. my friends give me his it's used and came out of a z3 he said it should go on my 318i is that right or should I get a new one my cars running awful at the min want is sorted ASAP
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-02-2013, 08:04 AM   #2
Sansho
OEM ///Member
 
Sansho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 1,812
My Ride: 2001 325i
Check the parts on realoem.com to see if they are the same part number for the Z3 and your 318i.
__________________
.
Sansho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 01:50 PM   #3
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Thanks sansho been on that site the parts there listed to my car. But when I had a look under the car at the sensor and wiring today the connection plug was different ones round the others square? I was told cut the wires and join the old connection plug to the other o2 sensor ones got 4 wires the others got 5??
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:13 PM   #4
Sansho
OEM ///Member
 
Sansho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 1,812
My Ride: 2001 325i
Not knowing more information about your friends Z3 and your 318i I can't tell if the parts are the same or not. However, there are 4 pin and 5 pin O2 sensors in use. I want to say the 5th pin is for pre-heating the O2 sensor, if memory serves correctly.
__________________
.
Sansho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:53 PM   #5
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
So is there no modification I can do to the 5 pin to make it work in the 4 pin. Like swopping the connection blocks over Or should I just buy a new o2 sensor in your eyes.
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 05:57 PM   #6
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
I'll start from the beginning my EML is on and from start up my car runs really bad with no power. After 10 mins it's better but still low on power I've had the code read which said bank 1 sensor. I'm going check MAF again and vacuum leaks as well as TB
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 06:38 AM   #7
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Update started the car this morning on tickover it was fine but would not drive at all just revving up and not moving. I disconnected the MAF sensor and instantly it ran perfect with no flat spots does that mean I need a new MAF?
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 07:50 AM   #8
Sansho
OEM ///Member
 
Sansho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 1,812
My Ride: 2001 325i
Have you read any codes that have been thrown? That might help confirm the diagnosis. If you go for a new MAF, do a search of these discussions to see which models can use a Siemens Hyundai MAF. Same part number, but less expensive.
__________________
.
Sansho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:25 AM   #9
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Yeah I got 2 codes p0130 and p0170 I've just got some carb cleaner going check for vacuum leaks as soon as it stops raining. Since unplugging the MAF the cars running great all the powers back
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:18 AM   #10
dmax
Registered User
 
dmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 22,823
My Ride: '99 328i 1.04646 mu
Can you translate your codes into English? I don't have them memorized.

But, it isn't necessarily the maf or 02 sensor. If maf, I think you would have gotten more codes than just bank 1 (sensor 1).

Also, if replacing any part on our car, don't start thinking about how to get an incorrect, albeit free part to work somehow...especially an electronic part.

If you need an 02 sensor, get the right part...a real bmw part or part from the OE supplier, whoever that is.

It does sound like you probably have an air leak, and lower intake boot is probably the most common one...but there are many vac hoses as you know.

Good luck!
__________________


Performing at the Comedy Cove--595 Morris Ave. Springfield NJ reservations 973 376-3840

A recent set

dmax on the radio every Wednesday 7-9 p.m. NYC time. Call in! (661) 449-9340 watsonnwatson.com
dmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:23 AM   #11
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Thanks for the info dmax the codes where bank 1 sensor and fuel trim bank 1? I'll try find the leak and post update of how i get on.

Last edited by Jimbow; 02-03-2013 at 09:25 AM.
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 09:28 AM   #12
dmax
Registered User
 
dmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 22,823
My Ride: '99 328i 1.04646 mu
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimbow View Post
Thanks for the info dmax the codes where bank 1 sensor and fuel trim bank 1? I'll try find the leak and post update of how i get on.
Hmmm? I recall reading once or twice how an air leak affected only one bank...thought it was odd...but for some reason I'm vaguely remembering either TB or DISA issue. I could be wrong, of course, but you'll hopefully find something by spraying around.

There's a port on back of intake you can plug a hose into and blow smoke in...like from a cigar for a total diy smoke test. Just plug the intake boot after the maf.

GL!
__________________


Performing at the Comedy Cove--595 Morris Ave. Springfield NJ reservations 973 376-3840

A recent set

dmax on the radio every Wednesday 7-9 p.m. NYC time. Call in! (661) 449-9340 watsonnwatson.com
dmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 10:02 AM   #13
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Just checked the intake boot for cracks and used carb cleaner but all seems ok also cleaned the TB. I can't do much more its going dark I'll check more vac hoses tomorrow. Where else do you think I should try?
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 01:03 PM   #14
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Update it's a vacuum leak now the troubles finding it
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2013, 11:28 AM   #15
Jimbow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 589
My Ride: E46 bmw
Did smoke test today can't find a leak anywhere. Really scratching my head here now
Jimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use