E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 07:55 PM   #1
Raymond42262
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 453
My Ride: Is German
Windows 8 Question - Problem

I have had a taskbar and with a clock and date at the bottom of my computer.

It disappeared on me.

I tried to check some of the options available to perhaps click/unclick it on/off.
But when I go to the 'charm bar' on the right side I see 2 'settings' and I previously only had 1.

I used to have a link to either computer or control panel and now that is missing.

I tried searching online how to get the taskbar back but it only applies to W7.
W8 is a different animal and quite frankly it should be put down like a sick dog.

But that does not help me fix my problem.

Any suggestions ?
__________________
"The grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, someone to love, and something to hope for."....Joseph Addison
--------------------
Raymond42262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:21 PM   #2
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:50 PM   #3
AmazingNutz
Banned User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: 90210
Posts: 31
My Ride: carpet
Windows 8 sucks. Whoever made it should fawking die, seriously. I had to make a shortcut for shutdown on the desktop( which took me 30 minutes figure out how to get to from the starting screen). How the hell do they expect you to shut down your sht if they hide the damn start button on the task bar..

Sent from my G6
AmazingNutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:05 PM   #4
auto180sx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Lexvagas, KY
Posts: 549
My Ride: '02 Steel Blue 330Ci
Running it on my Mac through Parallels and its defiantly a different experience... Played with it for about a hour, decided I was glad I only "procured" the copy for school. Windows 7 is much more user friendly IMHO.
__________________
Steel Blue FTMFW!!


OKI BMW
BMW CCA Member #444186

Last edited by auto180sx; 02-08-2013 at 10:06 PM.
auto180sx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 10:56 PM   #5
Raymond42262
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 453
My Ride: Is German
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmazingNutz View Post
Windows 8 sucks. Whoever made it should fawking die, seriously. I had to make a shortcut for shutdown on the desktop( which took me 30 minutes figure out how to get to from the starting screen). How the hell do they expect you to shut down your sht if they hide the damn start button on the task bar..

Sent from my G6
+1

Another beef, a major one; is the stupid charm bar and the big clock in the bottom left that seem to pop up randomly . They pop up when I don't go to the corners, then I have to click them off.

People always say that it was designed for tablets and touch pads. So....what are traditional laptop users suppose to do ? It's a pain in the a$$.

It's a bigger pain when you buy a new brand of laptop with a new keyboard layout. My fingers keep going to the places they are used to. It's like I have to learn everything over again.
__________________
"The grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, someone to love, and something to hope for."....Joseph Addison
--------------------
Raymond42262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:48 AM   #6
b0bab0i
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: so cal
Posts: 798
My Ride: x
Add start8 or classic shell and you are good.
__________________
b0bab0i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:18 AM   #7
Grande D
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dirty South
Posts: 3,376
My Ride: E90 M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmazingNutz View Post
Windows 8 sucks. Whoever made it should fawking die, seriously. I had to make a shortcut for shutdown on the desktop( which took me 30 minutes figure out how to get to from the starting screen). How the hell do they expect you to shut down your sht if they hide the damn start button on the task bar..

Sent from my G6
You must have a hard life.
Grande D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:13 PM   #8
Raymond42262
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 453
My Ride: Is German
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0bab0i View Post
Add start8 or classic shell and you are good.
I am going to download start 8 after I run a few errands today.

New problem......

If my computer sits idle for about 5 minutes, it cuts off.
It did not do this previously, it just started last night.
I saw a timer that allowed me to adjust the amount of time that the charm bar and the popup clock in the lower left appear, but that is the only timer I have found.

How can I adjust the sleep mode timer ?

Damn, this computer has a mind of its own.......
__________________
"The grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, someone to love, and something to hope for."....Joseph Addison
--------------------
Raymond42262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 12:46 PM   #9
BWOODM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Brentwood, CA
Posts: 412
My Ride: 2002 M3 convertible
I was a little frustrated with windows 8 the first few days I first got it. I like it now, it's not so bad in my opinion. My wife loves it.
BWOODM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 01:25 PM   #10
Raymond42262
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 453
My Ride: Is German
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond42262 View Post
I am going to download start 8 after I run a few errands today.

New problem......

If my computer sits idle for about 5 minutes, it cuts off.
It did not do this previously, it just started last night.
I saw a timer that allowed me to adjust the amount of time that the charm bar and the popup clock in the lower left appear, but that is the only timer I have found.

How can I adjust the sleep mode timer ?

Damn, this computer has a mind of its own.......
I figured it out.


Go to control panel, system and security, power options, choose when to turn off the display / change when the computer sleeps.

What I don't understand is how it changed on its own..
__________________
"The grand essentials to happiness in this life are something to do, someone to love, and something to hope for."....Joseph Addison
--------------------
Raymond42262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use