E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum

Bavarian Soundwerks' Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by Bavarian Soundwerks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 05:02 PM   #1
soul786
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2003 325xi
New Battery Terminal or Just Use a Ring Terminal straight to battery?

I'm installing a new audio system. Complete everything from 2 amps and a sub to all the speakers also.

The way I've got it set up in a drawing, a 0 gauge wire will go into a distribution block, 2 4ga wires come out to each amplifier. The 0 gauge wire is the issue though.

Should I just terminate with a ring terminal bolted to the battery? Or look into a whole new aftermarket battery terminal? What gauge is the stock power wire anyway and there's a second wire there too (on the +ve side). I'd need the same on the -ve side too (0 gauge is also going to a dist block, 2 4ga out).

Any help is appreciated. I'd like to keep this as clean as possible.
soul786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-20-2013, 08:40 PM   #2
TurnersInOz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 486
My Ride: 2004 325i
A ring terminal on the 0GA going to the positive battery terminal is fine. Make sure it is fused as well.
Don't ground straight back to the battery, you can wind up with ground loops doing that. You'd be better off grounding the amps directly to the frame.
TurnersInOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:04 PM   #3
soul786
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2003 325xi
Yep, for the 0awg wire I'll be using a 300A fuse.

And for the ground would it be better to go from the distro block then to the chassis on a well grounded point?
soul786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:45 PM   #4
TurnersInOz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 486
My Ride: 2004 325i
I grounded my amps directly to the chassis with no distro block.
Depending on what you are running from your amps (i.e. subs, mids, highs), using the same ground could also induce noise. It would be best to keep them separate.
4GA is a lot easier to terminate than 0GA anyway.
Here's one article that has good recommendations: http://www.termpro.com/asp/pubs.asp?ID=121
TurnersInOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:07 PM   #5
soul786
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2003 325xi
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurnersInOz View Post
I grounded my amps directly to the chassis with no distro block.
Depending on what you are running from your amps (i.e. subs, mids, highs), using the same ground could also induce noise. It would be best to keep them separate.
4GA is a lot easier to terminate than 0GA anyway.
Here's one article that has good recommendations: http://www.termpro.com/asp/pubs.asp?ID=121
Thanks for the link.

So would you suggest not to use a distro block for the 4awg grounds from the amp and just draw those directly to a chassis ground?
soul786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 01:31 AM   #6
TurnersInOz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 486
My Ride: 2004 325i
Sure. Here's some more good reading:
http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/arch...p/t-50193.html
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/wirin...tor-whine.html

I would ground each amp individually.
TurnersInOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use