E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > E46 Convertible

E46 Convertible
The E46 vert forum. Talk about dropping your E46 top here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-21-2013, 03:07 PM   #1
taylor192
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Best Place on Earth
Posts: 1,594
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Hard top coding?

My car came with the hardtop kit installed, yet I don't have a hardtop so I removed the kit (when repairing the main lift hydraulic cylinders) and sold it.

Now that I finally repaired the main lift cylinders I am getting an error:
0049 Switch, hard top, short circuit to ground or open circuit

I am wondering why I am getting this error without the hardtop kit installed. I found someone else who had this same problem, yet no resolution.

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showpos...25&postcount=6

I guess I could use a resistor to simulate the switch that senses the hardtop is installed or not.
taylor192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 02-21-2013, 03:24 PM   #2
taylor192
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Best Place on Earth
Posts: 1,594
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Found another member claiming the same problem after removing the hard top install kit. I should have never sold it

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showpos...3&postcount=10
taylor192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:09 PM   #3
E46-Cabrio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
My Ride: E46 330CI Cabrio
Hardtop preparation is a codable option, so when you remove the kit from the car, you also need to remove option $380 or $982 from the vehicle order, otherwise you will get a faultcode.
E46-Cabrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 04:44 PM   #4
taylor192
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Best Place on Earth
Posts: 1,594
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46-Cabrio View Post
Hardtop preparation is a codable option, so when you remove the kit from the car, you also need to remove option $380 or $982 from the vehicle order, otherwise you will get a faultcode.
Big thanks!

I asked my local independent and they said this wasn't a programmable option. I'll ask again, otherwise I may have to break down and have the deal do it... or buy another hardtop install kit is that's cheaper than the stealership.
taylor192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 05:28 PM   #5
E46-Cabrio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 140
My Ride: E46 330CI Cabrio
Yes, if you retrofit a hardtop preparation kit then coding is also required.
The car must know if it has a hardtop. (It's not save to close the softtop while the hardtop is installed)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Hardtop Retrofit.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	126.3 KB
ID:	491781  
E46-Cabrio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 10:17 AM   #6
taylor192
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Best Place on Earth
Posts: 1,594
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46-Cabrio View Post
Hardtop preparation is a codable option, so when you remove the kit from the car, you also need to remove option $380 or $982 from the vehicle order, otherwise you will get a faultcode.
The car didn't have $982, just $380, and removing it didn't help.

With the help of a local member we confirmed after removing $380 that the hardtop detection fault code is still being registered. So I'm just going to ask the dealer how much they will charge to reprogram it and see if that's cheaper than buying another hardtop install kit.
taylor192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use