E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-10-2013, 08:02 PM   #21
BMW E465
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 719
My Ride: 1dirty5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02PRUV View Post
Too bad we can't do this swap in Oz in an E46. We aren't allowed to put in an older engine than the age of the chassis due to emissions laws.
NSW (a state in Oz) has recently introduced some stupid laws whereby I can't put an LS1 in an e36 anymore. Apparently the new engine size cannot exceed 25% extra displacement IIRC

What are the chances of having it certified and rego'd in ACT, Pruv?


Whoops, sorry for the thread highjack! Good luck with the build OP.

Last edited by BMW E465; 03-10-2013 at 08:03 PM.
BMW E465 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 05:34 AM   #22
02PRUV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,803
My Ride: E46 M3 Turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW E465 View Post
NSW (a state in Oz) has recently introduced some stupid laws whereby I can't put an LS1 in an e36 anymore. Apparently the new engine size cannot exceed 25% extra displacement IIRC

What are the chances of having it certified and rego'd in ACT, Pruv?


Whoops, sorry for the thread highjack! Good luck with the build OP.
You have to comply with Vsb 14 below:
http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roa...jan2011_v3.pdf

Going by that multiplier n/a and using the weight of the heaviest sedan model in the range which would be an E36 m3 vert an 1560kg x 5 for n/a you can nearly legally do an 8L engine.

The problem is when wanting to go f/I. The multiplier drops to 3 so you can't do a ls1 turbo.

So yeah an ls1 in an E36 in nsw is legal
__________________
Rides:

BMW E46 M3 Turbo 570rwhp @18psi (old setup)
BMW E46 M3 LSX 427ci 800hp N/A
Ultima GTR LSX 440ci 800hp N/A
VY SS Ute Turbo 1004.6rwhp @ 28psi E85
Ford Escort Mk2 2JZGTE 600rwhp @14 psi
04 Yamaha R1 154.3rwhp
ISUZU FZR550 tilt tray (GT35 Turbo)

Last edited by 02PRUV; 03-11-2013 at 05:38 AM.
02PRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 05:54 AM   #23
BMW E465
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 719
My Ride: 1dirty5
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02PRUV View Post
You have to comply with Vsb 14 below:
http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roa...jan2011_v3.pdf

Going by that multiplier n/a and using the weight of the heaviest sedan model in the range which would be an E36 m3 vert an 1560kg x 5 for n/a you can nearly legally do an 8L engine.

The problem is when wanting to go f/I. The multiplier drops to 3 so you can't do a ls1 turbo.

So yeah an ls1 in an E36 in nsw is legal
I thought they changed it?! I remember reading some bulletin from the RTA last year stating otherwise (i'll try to find it)... well damn, this now changes things up. Thanks for the info mate.
BMW E465 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:56 AM   #24
SweTurbo
Big Pimpin'
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,899
My Ride: 323i -98
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02PRUV View Post
use the 1j ECU tachometer output to go into a Dakota digital tachometer box and the output of that into the tachometer input on the BMW ECU.
The tacho works off the can bus coming from the ECU , ecu uses the Crankshaft sensor to output the tacho signal.

Does the Dakota box output a 60-2 signal ? If not you can always fake it with the CAM signal with a 1-1 signal.

In my Link G4 i need to run it on the cam signal(the link fires once per ignition event so i need to run it with a .17 multiplier aswell, running this low however causes the tacho to not drop below 1.3k rpms )
In short : im interested in making my dash work too, unless link has updated their code
SweTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:24 AM   #25
1jbmwe46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 17
My Ride: 2003 e46 330i
Decided to go with a Racepak cluster.......gives me more options.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bimmer 1.jpg
Views:	172
Size:	105.0 KB
ID:	494908   Click image for larger version

Name:	bimmer 2.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	86.0 KB
ID:	494909   Click image for larger version

Name:	bimmer 3.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	93.2 KB
ID:	494910   Click image for larger version

Name:	cluster-0555.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	311.0 KB
ID:	494911  

1jbmwe46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:27 AM   #26
1jbmwe46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 17
My Ride: 2003 e46 330i
Ya'll got any info on the Diff setup. Ive been hearing that these diffs cant take any beating not even a little........?
1jbmwe46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 09:55 AM   #27
1jbmwe46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 17
My Ride: 2003 e46 330i
Carbon fibre timing belt cover
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bimmer 4.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	179.0 KB
ID:	494936  
1jbmwe46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 07:17 PM   #28
02PRUV
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,803
My Ride: E46 M3 Turbo
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweTurbo View Post
The tacho works off the can bus coming from the ECU , ecu uses the Crankshaft sensor to output the tacho signal.

Does the Dakota box output a 60-2 signal ? If not you can always fake it with the CAM signal with a 1-1 signal.

In my Link G4 i need to run it on the cam signal(the link fires once per ignition event so i need to run it with a .17 multiplier aswell, running this low however causes the tacho to not drop below 1.3k rpms )
In short : im interested in making my dash work too, unless link has updated their code
The dakota digital box it effectively infinately programmable on the output. So you set it to what you want to see on the dash. You have to use the ouput of this box as an input to the factory ecu though. So the dakota box basically becomes your cam sensor. Your input to the dakota box is your aftermarket ecu tach output.
__________________
Rides:

BMW E46 M3 Turbo 570rwhp @18psi (old setup)
BMW E46 M3 LSX 427ci 800hp N/A
Ultima GTR LSX 440ci 800hp N/A
VY SS Ute Turbo 1004.6rwhp @ 28psi E85
Ford Escort Mk2 2JZGTE 600rwhp @14 psi
04 Yamaha R1 154.3rwhp
ISUZU FZR550 tilt tray (GT35 Turbo)

Last edited by 02PRUV; 03-11-2013 at 07:18 PM.
02PRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2013, 07:52 AM   #29
SweTurbo
Big Pimpin'
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Europe
Posts: 2,899
My Ride: 323i -98
Quote:
Originally Posted by 02PRUV View Post
The dakota digital box it effectively infinately programmable on the output. So you set it to what you want to see on the dash. You have to use the ouput of this box as an input to the factory ecu though. So the dakota box basically becomes your cam sensor. Your input to the dakota box is your aftermarket ecu tach output.
Thats awesome

I can then run the cam sensor to my ecu(1-1 signal) , ecu tacho output to dakota box(i can configure the dakota box to accept 6pulses per rpm?) which then feeds the DME as the cam sensor (1-1) , or even use it as a cran sensor(60-2)

If so i might have found the soloution to my rpm problems

Sorry for the threadjack this is an awesome build

Last edited by SweTurbo; 03-12-2013 at 07:52 AM.
SweTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 02:56 AM   #30
danameisgee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: nyc
Posts: 1
My Ride: m3
Hey can you explain how to hook up the cable to the gas pedal plz and were did you get the cable ?
danameisgee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2013, 09:04 AM   #31
1jbmwe46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 17
My Ride: 2003 e46 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by danameisgee View Post
Hey can you explain how to hook up the cable to the gas pedal plz and were did you get the cable ?
We got the cable from Race parts Solutions in South Florida. We pulled the pedal out as you can see in my other pics and attached the cable to part that retracts when you depress the pedal........This part is located at the base of the pedal assembly.
1jbmwe46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:00 PM   #32
1jbmwe46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 17
My Ride: 2003 e46 330i
Piping all done
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	e46i.jpg
Views:	214
Size:	156.6 KB
ID:	495940  
1jbmwe46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 04:59 PM   #33
jonel1225
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Framingham Ma
Posts: 180
My Ride: 02 325ci
any new updates?
__________________
Untitled
jonel1225 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 07:16 PM   #34
E462j
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ft.Lauderdale
Posts: 43
My Ride: 323ci
I wana Race!
E462j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 07:38 PM   #35
dre8119
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 40
My Ride: destroys my wallet
e46 jizzabuild

Please post a vid when this is done...PLEASE!!!!


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
dre8119 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2013, 04:58 PM   #36
autospeed_01
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 67
My Ride: 2000 328Ci
The more that I see these builds with the 1jz and 2jz, the more I question an s54 swap + turbo kit. Sick build!
autospeed_01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 07:16 PM   #37
cryptonyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2002 e46
Sorry for the delay fellas been busy with work.........
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw2.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	164.2 KB
ID:	503029   Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw3.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	181.4 KB
ID:	503030   Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw4.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	104.7 KB
ID:	503031   Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw5.jpg
Views:	113
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	503032  

Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw6.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	122.1 KB
ID:	503033   Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw7.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	503034  
cryptonyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 07:25 PM   #38
cryptonyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2002 e46
SleepR look........Waiting some CCW classic and Bilstein suspension
cryptonyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 07:26 PM   #39
cryptonyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2002 e46
sleeper
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	bmw9.jpg
Views:	127
Size:	196.8 KB
ID:	503037  
cryptonyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 07:36 PM   #40
cryptonyte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: florida
Posts: 6
My Ride: 2002 e46
Can the Cable throttle pedal from the 2000 323i work in the 2003 330i drive by wire..........I need a cable pedal?
cryptonyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use