E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 09:06 AM   #1
rjv330xi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 2
My Ride: 330xi
air vent blocking double din installation

I have a 2001 330xi with factory installed Navigation with tape deck. Today I went to remove it and install a double din deck and discovered a large plastic air chamber that blocks the install of the double din unit. The guy who sold me the bezel (and refused to take it back) told me that everyone just cuts the plastic chamber out and it is no problem. I live in Switzerland and if I go to a professional installer it will more than double my purchase price for the new unit

Does anyone have experience with this problem and guidance with how to proceed?
rjv330xi is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 03-13-2013, 09:21 AM   #2
SPDSKTR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Birmingham, AL, USA
Posts: 2,142
My Ride: E30 with an S52
And that's why you should do some research before diving headfirst.

You can...
  • Sell the double-din unit and bezel and stick with stock.
  • Sell the double-din unit and bezel and buy a Dynavin (or Dynavin clone).
  • Do a lot of work to make everything work properly.

Think about it... you're CUTTING AN AIR DUCT. Where is that air going to go if not in the cabin? To the back of your unit, of course! (On the plus side, you'll have a cooler head unit.)

If you want a full screen, I vote for the Dynavin (or Dynavin clone) unit. It's literally plug-and-play and even looks stock.
__________________

330i/Ci Bang for the Buck Horsepower Guide
Want 5% off any BimmerBrakes.com purchase? PM me for details!
SPDSKTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 04:10 AM   #3
rjv330xi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lausanne
Posts: 2
My Ride: 330xi
Found head unit need wire adapter

SPDSKTR thanks for your input. I have a found a Dynavin clone that is designed for E46 and is in my price range.

The one outstanding problem is the wire adapter. Neither the round or flat pin connectors that come with every after market system for the E46 appear to fit my plugs as I have the factory navigation. I have two 12 pin plugs (one blue and one white that connect to my current factory unit).

Can anyone direct me towards an adapter that will facilitate connection from my factory Nav/TV unit to an ISO unit? If not do you know where I can get a wiring diagram for my existing plugs?

Any wiring advise would be appreciated.

Best regards
rjv330xi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:19 AM   #4
AerialCameras
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Wekiva Florida
Posts: 14
My Ride: 04 330 cic
I spent nearly two years looking for and gathering info before I bought my car. The first thing I realized I never investigated were the somewhat limited audio options.
AerialCameras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 08:48 AM   #5
WDE46
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Old Greg's Cavern
Posts: 8,877
My Ride: 2004 330Ci OBM
The nav system really screws up your options I think. There are people who have done it though. Search around for a bunch of Dynavin installs. Someone with a factory nav system has done it I am sure.
WDE46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2013, 09:32 AM   #6
choxor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 4,380
My Ride: JDM
Search. You need a fakra cable if you have factory nav.
__________________
choxor is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use