E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > Home Improvement

Home Improvement
Home Improvement ideas, help, DIYs, and show room. Got a home improvement project you need help with or want to share. Post your project now!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 09:35 AM   #1
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
Red face Outlet Help: Switched to Mixed

I recently moved into a new home. In my office there are two X 4-plug outlets (see picture below as reference). One of the outlets is a switched outlet. Unfortunately, all four plugs on said outlet are switched.

How easy would it be for me to convert two of the four into an always-on outlet? The last time I did this kind of work was 20 something years ago with my father. Is this something easy to do?

__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 01:51 PM   #2
ryanwhite74115
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,778
My Ride: 2011 Hyundai Sonata
Is it possible for you to just combine the wires at the light switch and have the switch in there as a dummy (aka the switch has no wires connected)?
__________________
(\ /) or \(`' )/
( . .)
c('')('')
ryanwhite74115 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:13 PM   #3
LD330XI
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: TCs, MN
Posts: 160
My Ride: '05 330xi
It depends on if the wiring goes to the outlet, or the light switch first. You will have to look at the wiring.
LD330XI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:10 PM   #4
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryanwhite74115 View Post
Is it possible for you to just combine the wires at the light switch and have the switch in there as a dummy (aka the switch has no wires connected)?
The office does not have a ceiling mounted light. So I am hoping to keep the switch as it's practical for first entering the room.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LD330XI View Post
It depends on if the wiring goes to the outlet, or the light switch first. You will have to look at the wiring.
I might just have the contractor take a look. He'll be back on Tuesday to take care of loose ends.
__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:32 PM   #5
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,479
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
You need to pull the switch and outlet and see if the power was run from the switch to outlet or outlet to switch.

There's a couple different ways to wire that up
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'busa View Post
I agree with JonJon.

Last edited by JonJon; 04-02-2013 at 10:33 PM.
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:31 AM   #6
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,960
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
If the switch only controls those outlets, just bypass the switch.

If this is the case, hire someone to do it, since you do not know anything about electrical work.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:27 AM   #7
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockMan View Post
If the switch only controls those outlets, just bypass the switch.

If this is the case, hire someone to do it, since you do not know anything about electrical work.
But I wants to learns
__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 11:31 AM   #8
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,960
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by casino is no lie View Post
But I wants to learns
I understand. Electrical work really is not something learn by trial and error.

Even experienced licensed electricians get hurt/killed on occasion.

JMO of course.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:01 AM   #9
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,479
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockMan View Post
I understand. Electrical work really is not something learn by trial and error.

Even experienced licensed electricians get hurt/killed on occasion.

JMO of course.
Ah. 15 amps won't kill ya, just tickle

Post pics of the pulled outlets and wires
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'busa View Post
I agree with JonJon.
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:26 AM   #10
E46Enthusiast20
Modded ///Member
 
E46Enthusiast20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 682
My Ride: 2008 135i M-Sport
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJon View Post
Ah. 15 amps won't kill ya, just tickle

Post pics of the pulled outlets and wires
Hahaha! XD
__________________
RIP little red :(

My hellrot sedan thread.

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthr...382&highlight=

Last edited by E46Enthusiast20; 04-04-2013 at 07:27 AM.
E46Enthusiast20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2013, 07:29 AM   #11
GlockMan
Registered User
 
GlockMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,960
My Ride: Suburban LT 4x4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonJon View Post
Ah. 15 amps won't kill ya, just tickle

Post pics of the pulled outlets and wires
It takes much less than 1A to stop your heart.
__________________
.
!!! ROLL TIDE ROLL !!!
National Champions: 1925, 1926, 1930, 1934, 1941, 1961, 1964, 1965, 1973, 1978, 1979, 1992, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014?



Ranting about Panny plasmas, Canon cameras, Glocks, BlueNile, and HDMI cables on a BMW board since 2005.

2007 Chevy Suburban LT 4x4 with Nav/Bose/DVD/JL (works for me)
1968 Ford Mustang with Polk/ADS (my first car)

2007 Lexus GS350 with every option
2000 BMW DINAN M5
2001 BMW 330ci
GlockMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 12:16 AM   #12
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,479
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlockMan View Post
It takes much less than 1A to stop your heart.
Flowers and a thoughtful card?
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'busa View Post
I agree with JonJon.
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2013, 07:02 AM   #13
budman
-not a mod-
 
budman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: South Flo Rida
Posts: 31,552
My Ride: is your mom
Send a message via AIM to budman Send a message via Yahoo to budman
__________________
-Gunnar
budman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2013, 09:15 AM   #14
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
I needed several outlets replaced in the house because they where either cheap and didn't hold a plug well or not properly mounted/secured (i.e., you could almost push it into the wall). So I had the electrician convert the four socket switched outlet to three always-powered with one switched for my lamp.
__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 07:17 AM   #15
JTLaz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Beaches are a plenty
Posts: 315
My Ride: Can now offroad
Quote:
Originally Posted by budman View Post
I refuse to mess with wiring without one of these
JTLaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 08:16 AM   #16
dmax
Registered User
 
dmax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 22,827
My Ride: '99 328i 1.04646 mu
There will be a way, and I'm with JJ. Get a ticker, good fundamental Klein electrician's tools...read the web until you feel the electricity flowing in your veins...and have someone there to watch your back in case you happen to be standing in a puddle, barefooted, with a live outlet.

Check all the wires after you turn off the breaker you think it is. Shove the ticker into the back...get it to all the wires.

Black to black, white to white, green to copper. A photo of what you have would help a lot. I am not an electrician, btw, but I know my way around the basics. There's always a way, no matter where the power enters...just a matter of how many holes you want to make!

Tape off the circuit breaker to be safe...and again...don't assume the box is dead until you've ticker the entire box...sometimes other circuits share the same box. If you have a wife/gf that hates you, tape off another circuit to throw her off the scent!
__________________


Performing at the Comedy Cove--595 Morris Ave. Springfield NJ reservations 973 376-3840

A recent set

dmax on the radio every Wednesday 7-9 p.m. NYC time. Call in! (661) 449-9340 watsonnwatson.com
dmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use