E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > General Off-Topic

General Off-Topic
Everything not about BMWs. Posts must be "primetime" safe and in good taste. You must be logged in to see sub-forums.
Click here to browse all new posts.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 16 votes, 5.00 average.
Old 04-03-2013, 03:56 AM   #41
ImPulSe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: NYC & Long Island
Posts: 751
My Ride: Bentley GT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gheybe View Post
I think I have an understanding of it, but the part that is kicking my ass is the code, installing crap that I have no idea how to do. Ian, I'll wait for you to help me this Friday when you land.

I assume this will work on an iMac?
You can supposedly run this stuff of your iPhone or Android phone as well?
ImPulSe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 04:05 AM   #42
XKxRome0ox
Black and Proud
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: los angeles
Posts: 10,080
My Ride: a franken-e46 325i
so... where does money come from?

err
i started reading the beginner's forum stuff ... and... nevermind
i don't care anymore
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by VaderDave
Fill that hole in your soul by buying more material goods
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?p=15286051
buy my sedan rear seats (gray leather)

sell me sedan A pillars!! (black fabric)

Last edited by XKxRome0ox; 04-03-2013 at 04:12 AM.
XKxRome0ox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 06:21 AM   #43
JonJon
Tinfoilhatatarian
 
JonJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: One of the most evil states ever to exist
Posts: 3,474
My Ride: .
Send a message via AIM to JonJon
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsE90 View Post
Explain the concept to me like a 5th grader, or wasp.
Lmao
__________________
Malo periculosam libertatem quam quietum servitium

Quote:
Originally Posted by 'busa View Post
I agree with JonJon.
JonJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:38 AM   #44
Jonshmoe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Coral Springs, Florida
Posts: 859
My Ride: (GONE)
Send a message via AIM to Jonshmoe Send a message via MSN to Jonshmoe Send a message via Skype™ to Jonshmoe
Can I haz a username and pass for TOR, please/
__________________
My main girl-1
Jonshmoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:16 AM   #45
Redline
Registered User
 
Redline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 2,194
My Ride: ///M3 Vert
I still have absolutely no idea what this is about and what the fvck you are mining. Please explain to us as if we were total retards why we should care about this and waste time in it. Because all I'm getting out of it is you sign up to some 3rd party site, leave your computer running essentially opening the front door to all of your personal files/info/etc. while god knows what happens and something uses up all your processing power. WTF?
__________________
k.

///M

Last edited by Redline; 04-03-2013 at 08:17 AM.
Redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:38 AM   #46
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
I can't mine anything on my work computer, I have the ATI Radeon HD 4850. I use litecoinpool.org and use their web miner even though it barely does anything. So far I have a total of 0.00596180 LTC in about 7 hours of web mining
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:38 AM   #47
dreamdrivedrift
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ithaca, NY --> Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,460
My Ride: 99 M3 & 95 325i
Send a message via AIM to dreamdrivedrift
So....there's a variety of funding sources to go from USD --> BTC or LTC. The fees all look high, especially for the cash deposit ones. Bank account transfers require verification, a couple days to verify, and a couple ways to clear. What do you suggest?
__________________
Chris
dreamdrivedrift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:43 AM   #48
Jesse M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Greenwich, RI
Posts: 457
My Ride: 05' ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redline View Post
I still have absolutely no idea what this is about and what the fvck you are mining. Please explain to us as if we were total retards why we should care about this and waste time in it. Because all I'm getting out of it is you sign up to some 3rd party site, leave your computer running essentially opening the front door to all of your personal files/info/etc. while god knows what happens and something uses up all your processing power. WTF?
Bitcoins are getting a lot of recognition. It is a type of currency now, that very well could abolish the dollar and middle men (IE: banks). They can be sent to anybody anywhere anonymously over the internet. basically, there is a total predefined limit of 21 million Bitcoins available and you are mining in a "pool" (or a large group of other computers) to find them. I'm not exactly sure how, but your computer's graphics card utilizes it's many cores and processes advanced algorithms and once one is found, it is sent to the main block. It will get harder and harder over time, I'm not even sure if it's worth it to start mining. The power using your computer uses might not even pay itself off. I might just start investing. But this is getting huge. A single Bitcoin broke the all time high the other day for $103 dollars. If you had ten of them, that's over 1k. Just like stocks though, the value can change at anytime. It's a risky investment right now because of the high prices.

I'm still 50/50 about it.

Someone please clarify anything I missed. Halo?

There are hundreds of threads on Reddit that will explain it like you're five.
__________________

Last edited by Jesse M; 04-03-2013 at 08:45 AM.
Jesse M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:44 AM   #49
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
For those feeling generous

LTC: LVASpmU5vPpDmo9i4BRvxnQbwrPugFVcMG
BTC: 1LpTKgQ7xJvZw1phwzD1SGiwAzYZHsfkKn
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:47 AM   #50
dreamdrivedrift
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Ithaca, NY --> Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,460
My Ride: 99 M3 & 95 325i
Send a message via AIM to dreamdrivedrift
BTC is $130+ now, jump of 30% from 2 days ago
__________________
Chris

Last edited by dreamdrivedrift; 04-03-2013 at 08:47 AM.
dreamdrivedrift is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:48 AM   #51
wrighterjw10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Palmyra (Hershey), PA
Posts: 459
My Ride: 2002 330ci
my brain hurts.
__________________
wrighterjw10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 08:51 AM   #52
Jesse M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Greenwich, RI
Posts: 457
My Ride: 05' ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamdrivedrift View Post
BTC is $130+ now, jump of 30% from 2 days ago
Wow. Too bad the que is too damn long.

Just feel like I'm missing out.
__________________

Last edited by Jesse M; 04-03-2013 at 08:52 AM.
Jesse M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:04 AM   #53
Shaban
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 24
My Ride: 2005 CBR600
http://bittips.webuda.com/ - tips on how to get free bitcoins
__________________
- Alex
Shaban is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:06 AM   #54
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ImPulSe View Post
__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:21 AM   #55
jeffro3000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 2,812
My Ride: 2000 328i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse M View Post
Bitcoins are getting a lot of recognition. It is a type of currency now, that very well could abolish the dollar and middle men (IE: banks). They can be sent to anybody anywhere anonymously over the internet. basically, there is a total predefined limit of 21 million Bitcoins available and you are mining in a "pool" (or a large group of other computers) to find them. I'm not exactly sure how, but your computer's graphics card utilizes it's many cores and processes advanced algorithms and once one is found, it is sent to the main block. It will get harder and harder over time, I'm not even sure if it's worth it to start mining. The power using your computer uses might not even pay itself off. I might just start investing. But this is getting huge.
What do you mean a bitcoin is "found"?

What is your computer actually doing? Botnet? DDOS?

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Bimmer App
jeffro3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:25 AM   #56
casino is no lie
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: CDT
Posts: 76
My Ride: M54B30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse M View Post
I'm not exactly sure how, but your computer's graphics card utilizes it's many cores and processes advanced algorithms and once one is found, it is sent to the main block..
__________________
casino is no lie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:27 AM   #57
customisbetter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: East Lansing
Posts: 255
My Ride: 02 325xi
There must be a way to short on this ****.
__________________
customisbetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:35 AM   #58
HaloArchive
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: One State East of Washington
Posts: 272
My Ride: My Office Chair
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stankia View Post
Got everything setup and then I realized that cgminer doesn't even work with nVidia cards...
It does work on nVidia cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImPulSe View Post
It's working for me... Making my computer lag like a bitch
Thats a good thing, it means you are mining. If you want to mine casually, set intensity to 11.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImPulSe View Post
cgminer --scrypt -o http://notroll.in:6332 -u user.2 -p pass --shaders 1600 --intensity 10 --worksize 256 -g 1

Idk what I'm doing though

says - Your Balance: 0.00046621 LTC

and it's been running for 10 minutes lol
Yep, sounds right. an AMD/ATI card will yeild you more results quicker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stankia View Post
What speed are you getting? I'm at 55.93 kH/s, I'll leave this on for the night to see how it goes, maybe I'll get some ATI cards tomorrow
Yes, the new ATI cards kick ass!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImPulSe View Post
I was at 7kH/s with an NVIDIA GeForce GT520 graphics card... =\

I have an Intel Core i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, does that play any role?

If I went out and replaced my current graphics card, everything would go faster?
I have a mining computer with a 3770 and the CPU with Scrypt miner gets 60 khash/s

Quote:
Originally Posted by k2pilot View Post
For those wondering why GPU's (specifically AMD chipsets) I highly recommend reading through this thorough review, particularly the section on GPU computing.
http://www.anandtech.com/show/6137/t...eview-part-1/5

So yeah, graphics cards are parallel processors and CPU's are linear. When it comes to code breaking and certain kinds of data analysis (mining being akin to both), graphics cards are vastly superior thanks to their parallel nature.

Halo: What is a reliable source to transfer USD to LTC funds? none of the sources listed on btc-e tickled my fancy... Is there any one of them you trust?

To get USD into BTCe, I usually go to Bitfloor and buy BTC, have them sent to my BTCe address, and convert them into LTC. As far as getting money OUT of BTCe, I believe the easiest methods would be PayPal and Western Union. However, you could also convert your LTC back into BTC and cash out through a third party.

As Halo and I were talking about, the best cards to look in to are the new ati Tahiti based chips, specifically the 7950 and 7970.

Grab two of these guys if you want to be off to a good start,
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814161399
Quote:
Originally Posted by k2pilot View Post
Same company, AMD bought ATI and I just have the habit of calling their graphics card ATI still.

Nowadays it's AMD vs invidia, and I'd be willing to bet the nvidia tesla cards would kick some serious ass at mining.

Also responding, just a moment.
Nope, the architecture of Nvidia cards kills it because of the low thread/stream processor counts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gheybe View Post
I think I have an understanding of it, but the part that is kicking my ass is the code, installing crap that I have no idea how to do. Ian, I'll wait for you to help me this Friday when you land.

I assume this will work on an iMac?
Will it work on an iMac? ... Sure ... at low intensity. You have a bit more of a challenge because you are on a Mac. Your best bet if you want to use CGMiner is to get the code and compile it and run it through terminal. I think there is a tut online. I will update the OP later with more info.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dreamdrivedrift View Post
So....there's a variety of funding sources to go from USD --> BTC or LTC. The fees all look high, especially for the cash deposit ones. Bank account transfers require verification, a couple days to verify, and a couple ways to clear. What do you suggest?
Fees are always around 5% it seems like. You cant help the verification time because, once your order is confirmed, it gets placed into the blockchain and itll be processed once someone's computer hashes it out (This is why BTC/LTC is good cause its a queue and anyone can get the block that contains the code to let your transfer go through ... instead of one bank/person/government controlling your money)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse M View Post
Bitcoins are getting a lot of recognition. It is a type of currency now, that very well could abolish the dollar and middle men (IE: banks). They can be sent to anybody anywhere anonymously over the internet. basically, there is a total predefined limit of 21 million Bitcoins available and you are mining in a "pool" (or a large group of other computers) to find them. I'm not exactly sure how, but your computer's graphics card utilizes it's many cores and processes advanced algorithms and once one is found, it is sent to the main block. It will get harder and harder over time, I'm not even sure if it's worth it to start mining. The power using your computer uses might not even pay itself off. I might just start investing. But this is getting huge. A single Bitcoin broke the all time high the other day for $103 dollars. If you had ten of them, that's over 1k. Just like stocks though, the value can change at anytime. It's a risky investment right now because of the high prices.

I'm still 50/50 about it.

Someone please clarify anything I missed. Halo?

There are hundreds of threads on Reddit that will explain it like you're five.
You have the general idea right. Yes, mining for BTC is no longer profitable. Thats why this thread is more focused on LTC. Have a look at the profitability calculator in the OP to see how electric costs would affect your profits.
HaloArchive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:42 AM   #59
Jesse M
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: East Greenwich, RI
Posts: 457
My Ride: 05' ZHP
Quote:
Originally Posted by casino is no lie View Post
Silly I know.
__________________
Jesse M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 09:44 AM   #60
DylloS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 672
My Ride: nothing
Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinsE90 View Post
Explain the concept to me like a 5th grader, or wasp.
I laughed. BTW I love that subreddit.
DylloS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use