E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2013, 06:07 PM   #1
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
MAF testing & VF tune?

I have search and found nothing on this. I installed VF kit on my '04 325i. The car will not idle, it bounces from just over 500rpm to about 1500. Rplaced all hoses under manifold, performed smoke test and all is OK. Cleaned the MAF and still nothing. The engine will not respond to throttle input. Once it warmed up, idles normal and responds to throttle, but as soon as is driven, goes back to the previous symtoms. Have cleared all the adaptations, this seems to help but not much. Dissconnected the MAF and the first time, all was well, the car could be driven for a while. Waited over night to go and buy a new one, but when started the car, it was back doing the same, still with the MAF disconnected. The codes I get with the Peake R5/FCX(3) ARE: Table # 20: 28AC, 2783, 278C, 28A2, 28AE. Some of these are able to clear for a while, but whe the car is left overnight, they come back. I was under the impression that if the MAF was bad and having disconnected, it would not have the symptoms of it being bad. Before I go an get another one, what else could I be checking for?? By the way, the fuel pump & filter were replaced about 4K miles ago...
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 04-09-2013, 12:28 AM   #2
Viper3812
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: FL.
Posts: 71
My Ride: E39 M5, E53 X5
Is that resistor on the MAF harness in-line with the correct wire?
Viper3812 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 12:45 AM   #3
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,376
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper3812 View Post
Is that resistor on the MAF harness in-line with the correct wire?
I heard the new vf tune there no need for resistor...
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2013, 07:32 AM   #4
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
The resistor came installed on the MAF extension wiring. The shop did match all colors accordingly, but I will double check on this today. What is this about no resistor for the new tune??? Maybe I got an older tune by accident??
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 05:53 PM   #5
Recon2005
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: High Speed Desert
Posts: 343
My Ride: VF-E 328Ci & 325 E90
Had the same problem. VF ended up bumping the idle and the issue went away.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Bimmer App
__________________

Vortech // Magnaflow // Hotchkis // H&R

Quote:
Originally Posted by Forcefed M3 View Post
Could not agree more. I enjoyed my vf kit to the day I took it off. VF best s/c out there. Period
Recon2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 08:24 PM   #6
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,376
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by playero View Post
The resistor came installed on the MAF extension wiring. The shop did match all colors accordingly, but I will double check on this today. What is this about no resistor for the new tune??? Maybe I got an older tune by accident??
NM ur a non-m
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 08:55 PM   #7
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
VF & tune

I got a response from VF and they sugested to remove the resistor. I took that out and the problem went away, but only temporary. The car sat overnight and in the morning when I fired it up, started to do the same thing. I have double checked the wiring to make sure that the cables are properly matched and all, The funny thing is that if I let the car idle until it reaches normal temp, tur it off, erase the codes, it will work perfectly.... I have replaced the MAF with a known working one,still the same.....any ideas/sugestions????
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 09:02 PM   #8
myOwnM3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 225
My Ride: 00 S4
how long have you had the kit? why dont you ask/demand for the mafless if they make it for your car? I know i had issues with my streetkit with the maf tune but no issue with the mafless tune.
myOwnM3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:07 PM   #9
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
I check the wiring, it is correct; also removed the resistors as indicated by VF, this help a bit but not much, the car surges like if it was getting too much fuel, but it feels better. I got all the paper work today and decided to take it for a short drive, what an affair it was. The exhaust smells burning rich, and although I did not see it, the guy at the inspection station told me that it is running rich, smoking black out of the tailpipe. I tried to take it for a short drive and had to rev it to about 3k in order to take off. The car will surge forward bucks like crazy. After a short while, it just died, the eml, brake light and warning triangle(traction control??) came on. Turn ignition key of and re-started, it came back up, but the same happened within a minute or so. Can anyone have an idea as of what could be causing this???
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 05:23 PM   #10
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,376
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
Bad maf
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:01 PM   #11
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
You think so??? I have tried 3 different ones, from known working cars and the one in there now I just bought it new Saturday.....Is possible that it is a defective part, but all of them?????
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:05 PM   #12
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,376
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by playero View Post
You think so??? I have tried 3 different ones, from known working cars and the one in there now I just bought it new Saturday.....Is possible that it is a defective part, but all of them?????
All of them new and OEM? Or some 3rd party manufacture?
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 10:58 PM   #13
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
Can not verify the ones from my friends car, but the last one is OEM, new.... The car is not giving codes about the MAF, just that torque limit and the actual torque, according to the Peake code reader...
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 12:07 AM   #14
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,376
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by playero View Post
Can not verify the ones from my friends car, but the last one is OEM, new.... The car is not giving codes about the MAF, just that torque limit and the actual torque, according to the Peake code reader...
I guess its an auto with a gm tranny? Mileage?
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:04 AM   #15
bAby norAA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 507
My Ride: 01 BMW 330i
have you tried just unplugging the maf sensor and seeing how it runs?
__________________

| VF Supercharged Stage 1.5| Southbend Stage 2 Clutch | ZHP Cams | Technik Headers |
bAby norAA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:30 AM   #16
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,376
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
Quote:
Originally Posted by bAby norAA View Post
have you tried just unplugging the maf sensor and seeing how it runs?
Won't work if he on ms45 platform...
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 06:42 AM   #17
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
Thanks for all the reply's. The car is a 5 speed, so I have no idea where or what this torque limiter is coming from. I have unplug the MAF and still no changes at all with the way it runs... The one thing I noticed is that I have a PC with that Inpa program and when I connect it to the car it reads:"MS430DS0 not found. Control Unit found: MS450DS0 found". It will not read anything on this car... I plug it into my 530 and it does reads what is supposed to... now, I'm the first one to admit that I do not know how to use this program properly, but on the 5 it shows values and O2 sensors working, voltage, temps and such... on the 3 does not shows anything at all... could this two be related somehow??
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 07:25 AM   #18
TrippinBimmer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 5,376
My Ride: ZHP Custom Stage 3.5
Send a message via AIM to TrippinBimmer Send a message via Yahoo to TrippinBimmer
Seems like u got wrong dme?
TrippinBimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 07:45 AM   #19
playero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 30
My Ride: 2004 325i
I don't know, it came back from VF that way. I contacted them in relation with this and I was told that the ECU is the right one, I just do not know why it will not communicate with that Inpa program. I wonder of anything went wrong with the tune... I don't know much of this, hopefully I'll be able to sort it out soon...
__________________
"Impossible Dream"
playero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 10:03 AM   #20
bAby norAA
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Vermont
Posts: 507
My Ride: 01 BMW 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrippinBimmer View Post
Won't work if he on ms45 platform...
oops my bad! Good point.


Get a tune and raise your idle up, or if you dont have access to something like that, send back your DME and have VF do it.
__________________

| VF Supercharged Stage 1.5| Southbend Stage 2 Clutch | ZHP Cams | Technik Headers |
bAby norAA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use