E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Forced Induction Forum Sponsored by Active Autowerke
Discuss supercharging, turbocharging and even nitrous and water injection here.
Sponsored by Active Autowerke

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-16-2013, 01:32 PM   #101
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,834
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by thesull View Post
Hey I need a replacement waste gate... anyone know which one was on our cars??
Be very careful with this because the duty and wastegate springs have to stay the same otherwise it will need a retune.

Get the old wastegate and check the part number...there was a few different wastegates used over the progression of the kit. I have an old wastegate than the newer ones sold in the last 3 years.
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:20 PM   #102
thesull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 35
My Ride: e46
Ok which springs .7 & .3 ?? The red ones ??
thesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:36 PM   #103
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,834
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Depends what your car originally had.
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:38 PM   #104
thesull
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 35
My Ride: e46
Guess I will be cutting this waste gate open lol
thesull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:40 PM   #105
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,834
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Yup
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 05:40 PM   #106
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,834
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Did you smash the undercarriage really hard?
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 06:02 PM   #107
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,039
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
HPF E46 turbo Grassroots Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by thesull View Post
Ok which springs .7 & .3 ?? The red ones ??
Yellow and green makes for 1bar on old Tial 44 purple top. Newer one has water ports and is black or blue and uses 3 springs to make 1 bar I believe. If u have ur old one like Kenton says is best. The springs r also different depending if its a stage 2 or 2.5 and up


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 01:48 PM   #108
dragosid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 125
My Ride: HPF 2.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstaylor View Post
A bit off topic, but the spacer that mounts to the HPF intake manifold to hold the dip stick in place has broken on my car. Anyone have a good idea for an alternative?
It's an OEM rubber spacer. I ordered mine from the dealership.
__________________


Pulled the trigger! Built engine + 6766 Dual BB + Open Dump + 15/23 PSI - Holy F#@$ this build is insane!

HPF Stage 2.5 - 739rwhp & 581ft-lbs SAE
best 1/4 mile (ST2) 11.77'@123mph 1.9' R/T on Toyo R888 295/30/19
Porsche Cayenne Turbo S - stock

Last edited by dragosid; 09-17-2013 at 01:49 PM.
dragosid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 08:47 PM   #109
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,039
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
HPF E46 turbo Grassroots Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragosid View Post
It's an OEM rubber spacer. I ordered mine from the dealership.
Do u have a part number?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 02:25 PM   #110
dragosid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 125
My Ride: HPF 2.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by being3 View Post
Do u have a part number?


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Not really, just showed it to them and they brought one from the store...
__________________


Pulled the trigger! Built engine + 6766 Dual BB + Open Dump + 15/23 PSI - Holy F#@$ this build is insane!

HPF Stage 2.5 - 739rwhp & 581ft-lbs SAE
best 1/4 mile (ST2) 11.77'@123mph 1.9' R/T on Toyo R888 295/30/19
Porsche Cayenne Turbo S - stock
dragosid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 03:01 PM   #111
Jealous World
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 67
My Ride: 2001 BMW ///M3
HPF E46 turbo Grassroots Support

What's the highest whp anyone's got on stock internals


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
Jealous World is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2013, 03:27 PM   #112
Commanderwiggin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 3,834
My Ride: 900rwhp Turbo M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jealous World View Post
What's the highest whp anyone's got on stock internals


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
700rwhp you start to run into reliability problems.
__________________
Commanderwiggin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 12:47 PM   #113
dragosid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 125
My Ride: HPF 2.5 M3
HPF Methanol bracket filter

Would anybody know where I can source the methanol filter found on the HPF meth bracket as the lower fitting starter leaking badly and I had to stop using the methanol altogether?

__________________


Pulled the trigger! Built engine + 6766 Dual BB + Open Dump + 15/23 PSI - Holy F#@$ this build is insane!

HPF Stage 2.5 - 739rwhp & 581ft-lbs SAE
best 1/4 mile (ST2) 11.77'@123mph 1.9' R/T on Toyo R888 295/30/19
Porsche Cayenne Turbo S - stock
dragosid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 01:45 PM   #114
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 205
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
Is it possible to setup in the AEM v1 the RPM drop when hiting rev limiter?
For example if I hit the rev limiter in first gear the RPM drop is way bigger with the AEM then it was on the stock ECU.
Cipri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 10:36 PM   #115
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,039
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
HPF E46 turbo Grassroots Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by dragosid View Post
Would anybody know where I can source the methanol filter found on the HPF meth bracket as the lower fitting starter leaking badly and I had to stop using the methanol altogether?

Aem has a replacement filter and has steal connectors.

http://www.aemelectronics.com/water-...ne-filter-1161


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 01:48 AM   #116
dragosid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Dubai
Posts: 125
My Ride: HPF 2.5 M3
Nice! Thank you
__________________


Pulled the trigger! Built engine + 6766 Dual BB + Open Dump + 15/23 PSI - Holy F#@$ this build is insane!

HPF Stage 2.5 - 739rwhp & 581ft-lbs SAE
best 1/4 mile (ST2) 11.77'@123mph 1.9' R/T on Toyo R888 295/30/19
Porsche Cayenne Turbo S - stock
dragosid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:46 AM   #117
Cipri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Romania
Posts: 205
My Ride: E46 M3 2002
Re: HPF E46 turbo Grassroots Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
Is it possible to setup in the AEM v1 the RPM drop when hiting rev limiter?
For example if I hit the rev limiter in first gear the RPM drop is way bigger with the AEM then it was on the stock ECU.
I was looking at Setup -> Rev Limiters -> Main Rev Limiter -> Wizard, what should I choose to have the RPM not drop to much? The options are from Soft to Hard (11 stages to choose from).

Also it requests to change the target RPM for Fuel Cut (I have 8000), Ignition Cut (I have 12800), Retard Limit Rev (I have 12800) and Fuel Cut Load (I have 265.26 kPa).

Sent from my GT-I9505 using BimmerApp mobile app
Cipri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:57 AM   #118
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,039
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
HPF E46 turbo Grassroots Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
I was looking at Setup -> Rev Limiters -> Main Rev Limiter -> Wizard, what should I choose to have the RPM not drop to much? The options are from Soft to Hard (11 stages to choose from).

Also it requests to change the target RPM for Fuel Cut (I have 8000), Ignition Cut (I have 12800), Retard Limit Rev (I have 12800) and Fuel Cut Load (I have 265.26 kPa).

Sent from my GT-I9505 using BimmerApp mobile app
I am not sure how the factory DME comes into play in this situation. if the DME has a rev limit at 8000 rpm it's going to cut throttles etc... Independant of the AEM. U could try to set the Aem rev limiter to let's say 7900 and see if it takes over and gives u more control with the Aem settings. Then u could have the DME flashed to raise the limit to 8100 and then have the AEM set to 8000 and dial it in the way u want it without interference from the DME... Just an idea to think about



Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."

Last edited by being3; 10-27-2013 at 10:57 AM.
being3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:43 AM   #119
being3
Modded ///Member
 
being3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: British Columbia, Canada eh
Posts: 1,039
My Ride: HPF M3 2.5+
Send a message via Skype™ to being3
HPF E46 turbo Grassroots Support

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipri View Post
I was looking at Setup -> Rev Limiters -> Main Rev Limiter -> Wizard, what should I choose to have the RPM not drop to much? The options are from Soft to Hard (11 stages to choose from).

Also it requests to change the target RPM for Fuel Cut (I have 8000), Ignition Cut (I have 12800), Retard Limit Rev (I have 12800) and Fuel Cut Load (I have 265.26 kPa).

Sent from my GT-I9505 using BimmerApp mobile app
U got me curious Cipri.... To me the different levels of cut soft, med ,and hard r as u said the amount of rpm drop from the rev limiter in rpm. Ranging from the largest drop 300 rpm to 0 drop... I believe this will work and is active with the HPF Aem setup... The only thing is do get the DME out of the picture by increasing the DME rev limiter as I said in the previous post and have the AEM take over below that at 8000. I'm going to try it out myself to verify and post back to u my friend later this week..


Sent from BimmerApp mobile app
__________________
"Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall. Torque is how far you go through it."
being3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2013, 11:09 AM   #120
JuniorGM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Brazil
Posts: 3
My Ride: M3
Anyone know how to wire in the serial port on a Gen 1 harness? Please send PM or jcj_01@hotmail.com.

Take care.
JuniorGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use