E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Lighting Forum

Lighting Forum
Angel Eyes, DDEs, lighted rings, Clear Turn Signals, LEDs, Xenon, HID, or Bi-Xenon. If it lights up and you want to discuss it, post here!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-02-2013, 08:38 PM   #21
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
Yeah the shrouds were snapped onto the projectors and the projectors were caulked into the bowls. Where would I apply the epoxy/caulk?


I did mark off the cutoff of the halogen lights for when time comes to adjust the xenons.
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 09:26 PM   #22
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllRazorlll View Post
Yeah the shrouds were snapped onto the projectors and the projectors were caulked into the bowls. Where would I apply the epoxy/caulk?


I did mark off the cutoff of the halogen lights for when time comes to adjust the xenons.
You put epoxy around the whole projector so that the projector is being held to the bowl with epoxy.

What you would normally do is before you finalize the mounting of the projector is to ensure that the projector is at the reference mark of the cutoff so that little to no adjustments are necessary. But its fine to just go ahead and adjust the lights by the adjust the knobs.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 10:50 PM   #23
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
That's what I said to do but my dad just went ahead and glued the projectors to the bowls. He said that the cutoff can be adjusted via the knobs. Oh well, at least there are knobs. Praise the Lord for German engineering
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 08:46 AM   #24
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
Okay, so here is a picture of what my wiring setup currently looks like. I am having trouble getting the bixenon function to work. Is there anything hooked up incorrectly?

lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 03:24 PM   #25
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
The problem is the splitter, disconnect it (leaving the wiring from the projector soleniod plugged in)and plug the stand alone can bus directly to the vehicles wiring harness(the grey connector labeled bixenon in the picture).

Now grab the splitter and hook up the wiring harness that goes to the inner light bulb to the splitter, use the last piece of the splitter and connect it to the inner light bulb and that's it.

Last edited by bernie21614; 06-08-2013 at 03:26 PM.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 08:43 PM   #26
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
It worked! But now I am getting the error message that says that my headlights are out. How do I go about fixing that?
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:02 AM   #27
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
Re: Help! How do I retrofit...

really, that sucks I thought with the splitter it would not cause the warning light issue. Only way to get rid of the warning light issue is to get the vehicles coded to disable the cold and hot bulb checks. Which means that you will no longer get a warning light when you have a light bulb out.

I guess it makes sense though because I believe the LCU check for resistance of the bulb and since you're connecting something in parallel the total resistance dropped.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:04 AM   #28
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
From the beginning I assumed I would have to go into coding. Do you know if its complicated to do so?
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:19 AM   #29
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
No not hard at all, just unchecking a couple boxes to disable the functions. When your do that you canalso enable the xenon function so you will not need the error light eliminators.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:20 AM   #30
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
Yeah all I need to get is a cable and the software is free, right?
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 12:41 AM   #31
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
Re: Help! How do I retrofit...

correct, just search around I remember someone posting a link on here to the software download.

Last edited by bernie21614; 06-09-2013 at 12:41 AM.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 09:06 AM   #32
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
Okay, cool. Is it the 16 pin connector that I need?


Edit: I saw a post by jake saying that if you pull the stalk towards you to flash to pass that will activate the inner lights aka the factory high beams. How would this be in a bixenon setup?

Last edited by lllRazorlll; 06-09-2013 at 09:43 AM.
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 11:56 PM   #33
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
Not sure which one you would need, it all depends on the year of your car, if you have the 20 pin connector under the hood then you would need that one, if not then yes the 16 pin obdII connector will do.

When you hook up your lights the bi-xenon will work with the high beam lights so when your lights are on and you activate the high beams you will have the high beam halogen light turn on and the xenon shutter will open so both will illuminate for your high beam function. When your lights are off and you flash to pass then your halogen will turn on and your solenoid will active and open but there will be no effect because the xenon light is off.

Last edited by bernie21614; 06-10-2013 at 12:01 AM.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 05:45 AM   #34
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
So, currently, my halogen highbeams are not plugged in. How should I have the lights set up in order to take advantage of all the functions?

I've bought the 16 pin OBD connector that plugs into the port in the driver's side footwell. It includes the program needed as well which is great.
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 01:19 PM   #35
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
Re: Help! How do I retrofit...

If the halogens aren't hooked up then that's why you're getting the light out error.
I posted on post #25 how to hook up the halogens

Last edited by bernie21614; 06-10-2013 at 01:20 PM.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 06:30 PM   #36
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
Look like the reason why the dash tells me the headlights are out is because of the unplugged factory highbeams (duh).

I'm sorry bernie, could you please rephrase how to properly hook up all the wires?
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 12:13 AM   #37
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by lllRazorlll View Post
Okay, so here is a picture of what my wiring setup currently looks like. I am having trouble getting the bixenon function to work. Is there anything hooked up incorrectly?

ok so unplug the grey connector from the splitter and the can bus unit as well, plug the canbus unit into the grey connector(labelled bixenon above).

Use the end of the the splitter that was plugged into the grey connector and plug that into the vehicles wiring harness that goes to the halogen bulb and use the other end of the splitter and plug that back into the halogen bulb.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 04:38 PM   #38
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
Is this right?

lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 04:39 PM   #39
bernie21614
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 327
My Ride: 01 330i
Re: Help! How do I retrofit...

yea that looks correct, is it working properly now.
bernie21614 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2013, 06:22 PM   #40
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 232
My Ride: '00 328i
When I put on high beams, the xenon and factory high beams activate. When I flash to pass, I believe the same thing occurs.
lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fx-r, hid, projectors, retrofit, xenon

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use