E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Welcome to the E46Fanatics forums. E46Fanatics is the premiere website for BMW 3 series owners around the world with interactive forums, a geographical enthusiast directory, photo galleries, and technical information for BMW enthusiasts.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > E46 Convertible

E46 Convertible
The E46 vert forum. Talk about dropping your E46 top here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2013, 08:44 AM   #1
MikeS123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Murfreesboro, Tn
Posts: 55
My Ride: 2003 M3 Vert
Replacing wiring harness. Does top need to be removed?

I took my car last night to a friend who is a mechanic at BMW because currently the top is not working.
http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=990772

He read the fault codes and there were none, but it is showing that the cowl lock sensor is neither locked or unlocked. I had already found one wire broken in the common area where it breaks, but after testing with the ohm meter, he believes I have another broken wire. I had previously checked along the top area, so it must be further down where the issue is. He thinks that the top would need to come out to get to it, and suggested just getting a whole new harness since we are removing the top. Can the harness be replaced without removing the top? He has worked on a lot of e93 verts, but he was not as familiar with the e46's.
MikeS123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Ads by Google

Guests, get your FREE E46Fanatics.com membership to remove this ad.
Old 06-25-2013, 10:52 AM   #2
taylor192
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Best Place on Earth
Posts: 1,441
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
I wouldn't go this route. Are you visually checking the wires at the common area? Wires can break internally so you really need to electrically test them. Expose some wire on either side of the bend and check for continuity:
1. across the bend
2. back to the CVM connector

Hopefully the problem is #1, yet if it is #2 I would just run a new wire instead of replacing the entire harness. The following photo shows another area the harness bends a lot, so a wire be broken here. Expose some wire and check for continuity:
1. to the bend
2. back to the CVM connector

I bet it'll be #1. If it is. Cut the wire, solder a new wire to it, go to the bend and pull the new wire through. You'll save yourself a ton of hassle doing it this way.



I doubt the harness can be removed without removing the entire top. Here's some pics of the valve block to show how the wiring routes, this is with the top removed. I have no idea how you'd route the harness around the valve block without removing it. The rest could (and should) be done with the top installed.


taylor192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 12:25 PM   #3
MikeS123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Murfreesboro, Tn
Posts: 55
My Ride: 2003 M3 Vert
Holy hell man!! You are a lifesaver! Had not checked that location yet (actually didn't know about it until I saw it last night), and there it was, another broken wire! Woot, woot, now the top is working again! If you are ever near Nashville, I'll buy you a beer!



Last edited by MikeS123; 06-25-2013 at 12:26 PM.
MikeS123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 01:26 PM   #4
taylor192
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Best Place on Earth
Posts: 1,441
My Ride: 2003.5 M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeS123 View Post
Holy hell man!! You are a lifesaver! Had not checked that location yet (actually didn't know about it until I saw it last night), and there it was, another broken wire! Woot, woot, now the top is working again! If you are ever near Nashville, I'll buy you a beer!


Glad you found it!

Can you respond to the electrical trouble shooting sticky and include the photo of where the break is so others know to check that location too. Thanks!
taylor192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON





All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
(c) 1999 - 2011 performanceIX Inc - privacy policy - terms of use