Dynavin N7 Multimedia GPS System....New For 2018 - Page 5 - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum

BAVSOUND Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!
Sponsored by BAVSOUND

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-05-2018, 03:11 PM   #81
[email protected]
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 3,151
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcspeed View Post
jeff, i have not been able to locate how many usb ports there are, how many are there?

I'm hoping there are 2. One for my itouch i leave in the car for my music library and it appears my android phone would also need one for "android link screen-mirroring for android devices through usb"
2.
__________________
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2018, 05:28 PM   #82
VAB5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 70
My Ride: 2005 ZHP Convertible
Jeff, does the N7 support external TPMS sensors?
VAB5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2018, 10:15 AM   #83
[email protected]
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 3,151
My Ride: BMW
depends on what TPMS setup you are talking about....its not a built in function but there are TPMS kits out there that have a video output that connects to the video input of a head unit, that would work find as you could use the Dynavin's A/V input.
__________________
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-03-2018, 03:48 PM   #84
Kelvinator8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 11
My Ride: Cars
The Dynavin website says "2 PreOuts (4V) and 1 AV Output"

On the J&T Distributing website says "3 sets PreOuts (4V) and 1 AV Output"

How many channels of preamp outputs are there?
Kelvinator8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 05:16 PM   #85
lllRazorlll
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 3,085
My Ride: '00 328i
Anyone been using this for a bit? Enough time elapsed to give a decent review?


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics
__________________

lllRazorlll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 02:23 PM   #86
[email protected]
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 3,151
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvinator8 View Post
The Dynavin website says "2 PreOuts (4V) and 1 AV Output"

On the J&T Distributing website says "3 sets PreOuts (4V) and 1 AV Output"

How many channels of preamp outputs are there?
Front, rear, and sub.

The AV output is for rear seat monitor(s) or other equipment.
__________________
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 03:55 PM   #87
Kelvinator8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 11
My Ride: Cars
Cool, and what's the largest SD and flash drive that the N7 is comfortable handling?
Kelvinator8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 07:56 PM   #88
Kelvinator8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 11
My Ride: Cars
Alright, another question. Maybe I should start a new thread for this one.

My car came from the factory with the Business Radio, Harman Kardon Hi-Fi system and 6 CD prep. The previous owner added the OEM Nav using the OEM Retrofit harness. Can I get away with installing the N7 without the Fakra cable since my car originally had the Business radio unit? I think I want to remove all of the not-original stuff and start fresh if it's not too much work.
Kelvinator8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 03:07 PM   #89
[email protected]
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 3,151
My Ride: BMW
Hard to say, if all the original wiring is still there then yes it should work, but you are going to have to sort some stuff out to get it back to where it was....probably will need to swap some plugs around back at the amp end of things.

I have a 64 GB card in our shop truck. Works fine. Ive used 128GB USBs, dont recall if I tried a SD or not but it should work.
__________________
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2018, 07:13 PM   #90
Shermanator2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 22
My Ride: BMW 330Ci
Hi guys I just need to get some info on this Dynavin N7 unit. I have ordered my N7 unit along with a DVB tuner at the official distributor here in Australia. My BMW E46 2005 330ci Highline convertible is due to get this installed next month. A question was raised in relation to the supplied TV antenna with the Dynavin Digital TV Tuner. Now I am assuming these will be installed on the front windscreen on a convertible vehicle however for the official distributor who is installing it, has stated that he will need to investigate it a little more. Is this the recommended place to install it on a convertible? There is also the question about if this Dynanvin DVB tuner is compatible with the existing DVBT antenna in the vehicle. I am upgrading from the Alpine screen unit to the dynavin N7. Here in Australia my head unit has the screen for existing DVBT playback but does not come with satnav although it is the standard Satnav head unit. Don't know why BMW here in Australia did it this way but maybe so it makes it easier to retrofit factory satnav at a later date. Does anyone have experience with TV tuners in a convertible? Third question is the Dynavin head unit compatible with the existing DVBT tuner in the vehicle? or have I just wasted my money buying the DVB tuner when its perfectly compatible with the existing TV tuner?? Any one can shed some like would be much appreciated.
Shermanator2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2018, 03:28 PM   #91
Shermanator2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 22
My Ride: BMW 330Ci
Wow Nobody frequenting this Dynavin forum anymore? Jeff???
Shermanator2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 09:54 PM   #92
[email protected]
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 3,151
My Ride: BMW
Sorry, your questions are all very specific to a product, service, and install that we do not do here in the US...and most on this forum are in the US....you would need to ask those questions on a forum frequented by those more familiar with the DVB tuners and service.
__________________

Last edited by [email protected]; 04-21-2018 at 09:55 PM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2018, 11:55 PM   #93
Shermanator2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 22
My Ride: BMW 330Ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Sorry, your questions are all very specific to a product, service, and install that we do not do here in the US...and most on this forum are in the US....you would need to ask those questions on a forum frequented by those more familiar with the DVB tuners and service.
That's okay. I guess I am going to be the Guinea Pig with this install. LOL. Once I find out then I will be sure to update anyone who wouldn't mind knowing.
Shermanator2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2018, 12:09 PM   #94
phamine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 1,313
My Ride: 01 Orient Blue 330i
Send a message via AIM to phamine Send a message via Yahoo to phamine
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEADF15H View Post
Increased clarity of FM stations, 16 year speakers sound better.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N910A using Tapatalk
How is AM clarity on the head unit vs stock?
__________________
phamine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 06:54 AM   #95
ebloom
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6
My Ride: M3, 335GT
I want to publicly thank Jeff and the staff at J&T for their help with my installation. I received a unit that had a manufacturing defect. When I described the problem to Jeff he immediately shipped a replacement unit. Then the replacement had a similar issue - by this time Jeff was aware that this was not an isolated problem. Jeff provided a full description of the technical issues, making me feel like he was in control of the situation. A week later a working unit was in my hands.

We don't live in a perfect world. Problems happen in any business. The good guys are the ones that take responsibility, provide open communication, and make things right. Thanks again Jeff and Brittany.
ebloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 07:37 AM   #96
Cabrio330
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Dallas
Posts: 154
My Ride: 2013 F30 335i
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebloom View Post
I want to publicly thank Jeff and the staff at J&T for their help with my installation. I received a unit that had a manufacturing defect. When I described the problem to Jeff he immediately shipped a replacement unit. Then the replacement had a similar issue - by this time Jeff was aware that this was not an isolated problem. Jeff provided a full description of the technical issues, making me feel like he was in control of the situation. A week later a working unit was in my hands.

We don't live in a perfect world. Problems happen in any business. The good guys are the ones that take responsibility, provide open communication, and make things right. Thanks again Jeff and Brittany.
Good comments. As a potential future customer of Jeff's, this stuff matters.
__________________
Quote:
The world began to crumble when feelings started overruling facts.--Ricky Gervais
Cabrio330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 07:42 AM   #97
Kelvinator8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 11
My Ride: Cars
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebloom View Post
I want to publicly thank Jeff and the staff at J&T for their help with my installation. I received a unit that had a manufacturing defect. When I described the problem to Jeff he immediately shipped a replacement unit. Then the replacement had a similar issue - by this time Jeff was aware that this was not an isolated problem. Jeff provided a full description of the technical issues, making me feel like he was in control of the situation. A week later a working unit was in my hands.
Care to share what this issue is so that others know to look out for it?
Kelvinator8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 09:15 AM   #98
[email protected]
J&T Distributing
 
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 3,151
My Ride: BMW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvinator8 View Post
Care to share what this issue is so that others know to look out for it?
Weak solder joint on the microphone plug from a particular batch. Plug could be broken off or just not work. It just affected one batch and has been addressed.
__________________

Last edited by [email protected]; 04-25-2018 at 09:18 AM.
jeffb325@NavigationSolutions is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 02:21 PM   #99
///M3Matt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 3,168
My Ride: M3 & 325XiT
Send a message via AIM to ///M3Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by cabrio330 View Post
good comments. As a potential future customer of jeff's, this stuff matters.

+1
__________________
///M3Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2018, 04:14 PM   #100
Kelvinator8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Port St Lucie, FL
Posts: 11
My Ride: Cars
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
Weak solder joint on the microphone plug from a particular batch. Plug could be broken off or just not work. It just affected one batch and has been addressed.
Thanks. Can't wait to get mine! Just received my shipping notification.
Kelvinator8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bmw, dynavin, gps, navigation, radio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.