OEM Sat/Nav, TMC Radio Traffic Function - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Mobile Electronics Forum

Mobile Electronics Forum
Have all your A/V and electronics questions answered here. Ipods, A/V, Radar Detectors Oh My!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2004, 08:54 PM   #1
Durgesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 642
My Ride: 997 GT3 RS
Send a message via MSN to Durgesh
OEM Sat/Nav, TMC Radio Traffic Function

I just upgraded my software on my OEM Sat/Nav Mark III, to the lastest version.

Very easily, used this site if anyone is interested

http://www.bmwnav.com/software.htm (

Please read carefully! You can damage unit if not done right!)


Anyway, does anyone know how to use TMC function the Nav, I know it should be set to Classic FM (here in the UK), but I can only get to where you change the TP settings not the TMC one.

At the bottom of my Nav it has TMC in red, but I hear this should be green, when everything is working properly.

Anyone know how to use this function...

Thanks

Durgesh
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EvoTechnik Mafia - The Don Diggy
997 GT3 RS - Black with Orange
forum.evotechnik.net
Durgesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 11:56 AM   #2
bobf
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
Are you sure you are using a TMC enabled map cd?

The 'standard' maps you will have got with your car does not have TMC embeded, only the 7 series cars had TMC enabled maps by default.

I upgraded the software in mine then managed to obtain a TMC enabled map - system works fine.
bobf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 12:54 PM   #3
gfeiner
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Tomball, TX
Posts: 116
My Ride: 2003 330i
Question

Pardon my ignorance, but what does TMC mean?
gfeiner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-02-2004, 06:40 PM   #4
Durgesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 642
My Ride: 997 GT3 RS
Send a message via MSN to Durgesh
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfeiner
Pardon my ignorance, but what does TMC mean?
Ok someone correct me if I am not 100& right.

TMC is a feature that works in conjuction with NAV, its use's radio to pick up transmission of traffic messages (in a special format) and in turn converts these into the something that the nav can understand, thereby allowing it to route you around the traffic automatically when choosing a route for you.

Durgesh
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EvoTechnik Mafia - The Don Diggy
997 GT3 RS - Black with Orange
forum.evotechnik.net
Durgesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 06:36 AM   #5
bobf
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
I think it stands for traffic management control or similar.

On mine it shows little road signs on the on screen map indicating delays and crashes etc. Reduced traffic flows are indicated with little chevrons (>>>) with the number indicating the severity of the delay and direction of affected traffic flow.

When the satnav is in use and you have a route programmed in, alternative routes are offered if you encounter a delay/road closure and the system announces of impending trouble. "...accident 17 miles ahead".

I'll post some pics when I can.
bobf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 06:17 PM   #6
bobf
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
TMC in action
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tmc1.jpg
Views:	476
Size:	36.9 KB
ID:	69276   Click image for larger version

Name:	tmc2.jpg
Views:	465
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	69278   Click image for larger version

Name:	tmc3.jpg
Views:	467
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	69279  

Last edited by bobf; 03-04-2004 at 06:30 PM.
bobf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 06:38 PM   #7
Durgesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 642
My Ride: 997 GT3 RS
Send a message via MSN to Durgesh
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobf
TMC in action
How did you get yours working?

Durgesh
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EvoTechnik Mafia - The Don Diggy
997 GT3 RS - Black with Orange
forum.evotechnik.net
Durgesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 07:01 PM   #8
bobf
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
Software update and TMC enabled CD (see my earlier post)

Since yours shows TMC in red you have the right software update so it can only be your map cd/dvd which is at fault.

Are you sure yours is definately a TMC enabled cd/dvd?
bobf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 07:08 PM   #9
bobf
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 59
Look here and you'll see there are cds with and without TMC enabled

VDO Dayton

You'll find them on Ebay too!
bobf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 09:25 PM   #10
Durgesh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: London
Posts: 642
My Ride: 997 GT3 RS
Send a message via MSN to Durgesh
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobf
Look here and you'll see there are cds with and without TMC enabled

VDO Dayton

You'll find them on Ebay too!
Oh... sorry yeah... i am getting TMC enabled CD this weeked

Thanks

Durgesh
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

EvoTechnik Mafia - The Don Diggy
997 GT3 RS - Black with Orange
forum.evotechnik.net
Durgesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.