720p or 1080i? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Everything Else > The Off-Topic > Home Improvement

Home Improvement
Home Improvement ideas, help, DIYs, and show room. Got a home improvement project you need help with or want to share. Post your project now!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2006, 03:50 PM   #1
djDANNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 104
My Ride: 330ci
720p or 1080i?

which setting should i set my set top box output to be? 780p or 1080i?
djDANNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 04:01 PM   #2
BMW4GT
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: U of Southern Cal
Posts: 145
My Ride: 2000 323ci
what display do you have?
BMW4GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 05:27 PM   #3
djDANNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 104
My Ride: 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMW4GT
what display do you have?
its the samsung lns3251d... 16:9. is that what you mean by display?
djDANNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 08:08 PM   #4
deletedpenguin
Registered User
 
deletedpenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 14,097
My Ride: is gone!
1080i if possible.
__________________
Stefan | American by birth, Swedish by heritage, Australian by choice.
My current photo galleries.
deletedpenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 10:00 PM   #5
trippinbillies4
Registered User
 
trippinbillies4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 836
My Ride: '02 Mini, '13 FR-S
720p. That's the native resolution of your TV. If using component video, it won't make a difference either way because the signal still has to get converted. If using HDMI though, 720p will be your best bet.
__________________
__________________________________________________

'02 Mini Cooper #40HS, '13 Scion FR-S #40CS, '12 Ducati SF848
trippinbillies4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 10:27 PM   #6
djDANNY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 104
My Ride: 330ci
Quote:
Originally Posted by trippinbillies4
720p. That's the native resolution of your TV. If using component video, it won't make a difference either way because the signal still has to get converted. If using HDMI though, 720p will be your best bet.
thanks man... i'm using component right now and it's set at 1080i. but once my dvi-->hdmi cable gets here i'm gonna try that one out and see how it looks.
djDANNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 05:44 PM   #7
dmoeller17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 399
My Ride: 350Z
Send a message via AIM to dmoeller17
try it both ways. because different people broadcast in different formats. take abc, they broadcast in 1080i OTA. So I output 1080i over component to my projector and i see 1080i. If they broadcast at 720p like fox then my tuner will scale to 1080i unless i tell it to output 720p and my projector will display whatever resolution its given because its crt not a fixed rate digital display.

typically the scaling within displays and HDTV tuners is crappy so you have to minimize the resolution change.

I would try to set your tuner to output 720p via HDMI so the internal scaler of the tv does not scale the signal again.
__________________
from chaos comes clarity

dmoeller17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 03:32 PM   #8
topazblur
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: _
Posts: 90
My Ride: 330ci
do a quick test of the ipg (interactive program guide).
Bring up the screen and look at it in different modes 720p and 1080i.
Depending on your tv, settop box and connection u may or may not notice a difference. I can clearly see the diff on my 720p HD2 chip dlp setup with dvi.
topazblur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2006, 06:05 PM   #9
Tye1138
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Hollywood California
Posts: 72
My Ride: 2000 M Roadster
Send a message via AIM to Tye1138
Yea, most video devices are auto scaling if you get 1080. Most everybody is going to be bi-format except for NBC, ABC and CBS which will be sticking with the 1080 format. I've got a cheap POS Dell projector that auto scales from 480 - 1080 and everything inbetween...
__________________
tye1138 Mechanic, helper, always there

Tye1138 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.