Brake flexi stuck in caliper - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Yesterday, 12:23 PM   #1
Chrisbish2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 165
Brake flexi stuck in caliper

Im currently replacing the rear brake lines on my coupe so i'm doing the flexi pipes aswell. Of course the hard line nut was rusted into the flexi (Wish it came off as easy as It does in those YouTube videos) I ended up just cutting the hard line off still in the flexi as I'm replacing both anyway. As some may know the rear brake flexi pipe also screws into the caliper and needs to be removed to be replaced.

My flexi is stuck in the caliper on both rears and it will not screw out. I've tried penetrant and heat but it can't get in there very well, convinced it's glued in. Anyone had this problem? Im not really looking for advice lol I just want to tell someone haha. I've been looking up new calipers all day as I've been here for 6 hours trying to remove it and had enough.

I was looking forward to doing the job in one day but every single job I do I spend 90% of it trying to remove something that's stuck.
Chrisbish2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:04 PM   #2
RRRM8E
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 452
My Ride: 330Ci
I have got them off other BMWs by cutting the rubber hose at the fitting and using a socket. PB Blaster is your friend.
Try Rockauto for rebuilt calipers at good prices.
RRRM8E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:19 PM   #3
Spannerhead
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,713
My Ride: '02 330i/5 slicktop
Is the nut rounded or intact? That will affect your approach. And yes, PB Blaster is the best. Brush off as much rust as you can before you apply the penetrant, and always make sure you use flare nut wrenches.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Current:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Past BMWs:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Past Other: '85 GSL-SE '88 JZA70 '86 4K quattro '85 RX-7 S '85 RX-7 GSL
Spannerhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old Yesterday, 01:51 PM   #4
Chrisbish2000
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 165
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spannerhead View Post
Is the nut rounded or intact? That will affect your approach. And yes, PB Blaster is the best. Brush off as much rust as you can before you apply the penetrant, and always make sure you use flare nut wrenches.
Oh the hard line nut was rust welded into the flexi. Hence why I'm replacing the flexi. I cut the metal brake line above the nut and put a 6 point socket over it which should be better than a flare wrench but no, would not move and rounded with the force and crumbling rust. I've been putting penetrant on it for a week leading up to this. I burned it with fire also. Nothing. They have become one lol.

I might try cutting the flexi and using the socket. That's an idea thanks.
Chrisbish2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.