i fried my dme now what?? - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-22-2019, 05:55 PM   #1
Souza91
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 4
i fried my dme now what??

Hello fellow e46 owners,
so i was trying to flash a new file onto my e46 325i and halfway through it said wron echo bytes. i was using jm and now the car has no life whatsoever. i got two now dmes and tranny dmes today from junkyard. but when i put one set in to try to put the ews delete file on it shows no life when i turn the key. can anyone help me with this? is there something else i need to replace as well. would greatly appreciate any help. ive been fighting this car for awhile now and idk if i have much fight in me left with the car.
Souza91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 12:16 PM   #2
HakenTT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 982
My Ride: 2002 330i
if spare DMEs are having the same problem then it may be do to some other problem. This is why DME flashing is not for everyone
HakenTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2019, 02:16 PM   #3
Barracuz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Providence, R.I.
Posts: 155
My Ride: 01' 525i Manual
Yea sounds like youre not flashing correctly. Make sure car has 12-14v when flashing, you should have it on a charger or tender while you flash.

Also echo bytes errors is pretty much a timeout. Sounds like theres something not configured right on the com port in device manager
Barracuz is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-28-2019, 02:56 PM   #4
stefm5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Greece
Posts: 390
My Ride: 2001 530i
your DME is not fried.
there's something wrong with flashing procedure
stefm5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 04:23 PM   #5
jds2726
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 85
My Ride: 2003 325Ci Cabrio
Transmission: ZF 5HP-19
If you're still having problems with this and are using a cheap reader from ebay get a better reader. Had the same problem but then got a reader from bimmer geeks and it works perfectly.
jds2726 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2020, 05:41 AM   #6
SRK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 39
My Ride: 330i
Year: 2002
Transmission: 5-speed manual
try a new/better charged battery, check the com port settings for the cable and try again
SRK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.