Need a DME or EGS flash update? - Page 3 - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > BMW Regional Forums > Regional Forums > California

California
Have you seen another BMW while driving around in your area? Maybe you can find their car in the E46Fanatics Garage!
Northern California Southern California

If you don't have your garage setup, sign up today HERE

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 10-07-2015, 01:42 PM   #41
Buggy101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ca
Posts: 14
My Ride: Zhp
Thanks.

I honestly have no clue lol but i might. I recently purchased the car 1yr ago and I am the second owner very low millage too. I noticed the stuttering and so researched and im thinking i might not have the latest version.

I asked my bmw dealer if i could see and service records but they declined.
Could bmw dealers find out if i need the update by giving them my vin, i left messages and emails with my vin but no one ever got back to me and i havent had time to go in.

Last edited by Buggy101; 10-07-2015 at 01:42 PM.
Buggy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 03:29 PM   #42
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buggy101 View Post
Thanks.

I honestly have no clue lol but i might. I recently purchased the car 1yr ago and I am the second owner very low millage too. I noticed the stuttering and so researched and im thinking i might not have the latest version.

I asked my bmw dealer if i could see and service records but they declined.
Could bmw dealers find out if i need the update by giving them my vin, i left messages and emails with my vin but no one ever got back to me and i havent had time to go in.
The dealer and BMW NA are useless in this regard. You can run WinKFP or CarSoft to see if an update is available. I simply look in the firmware history file.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 03:43 PM   #43
Hartmann_e46
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36
My Ride: 330CI Titanium Silve
I have a 2001 E46 330ci. Is there any updates for my car? I live in Los Angeles, CA.
Hartmann_e46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-07-2015, 04:05 PM   #44
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartmann_e46 View Post
I have a 2001 E46 330ci. Is there any updates for my car? I live in Los Angeles, CA.
I need to know the current Assembly Number for your DME to see if it is old or already updated. Do you have PA Soft BMW Scanner 1.4?
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 05:40 PM   #45
Hartmann_e46
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36
My Ride: 330CI Titanium Silve
I do not. But i am willing to drive to you.
Hartmann_e46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 06:35 PM   #46
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartmann_e46 View Post
I do not. But i am willing to drive to you.
Yeah, that is fine. We can check the version and update it if necessary. If you bring a Windows laptop I can install all the tools on it for you as well.

I am free this weekend. PM me for my contact info and we can set it up.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 06:51 PM   #47
Hartmann_e46
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 36
My Ride: 330CI Titanium Silve
That sounds perfect man. If you have a relay and some wire, I'll return the favor by wiring up your Home lights to turn on via unlock like this.

Unlock


Lock
Hartmann_e46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 08:17 PM   #48
Buggy101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ca
Posts: 14
My Ride: Zhp
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaliDawg View Post
The dealer and BMW NA are useless in this regard. You can run WinKFP or CarSoft to see if an update is available. I simply look in the firmware history file.
Interesting. So to update I would need to take it in and ask them to upgrade it.

Do I need an update?
Buggy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 09:02 PM   #49
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoCalZman View Post
Found my logs. Looks like I have the latest Software?

Unit Date VIN Odometer Assembly Software Service Dealer Tester Program ver.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
DME* -> 22.11.04 WBAEV53485KM08662 0 km 7.549.088 7.549.342 0.000.000 012321 42324 0044570LM00S
09.02.07 WBAEV53485KM08662 31200 km 7.561.522 7.561.523 0.000.000 012321 42324 0044570LO00S
06.03.07 WBAEV53485KM08662 52200 km 7.561.522 7.561.523 0.000.000 011111 12345 0044570LO00S
Hey SoCalZman, sorry for the late reply. I must have missed your posting. Anyway yeah, your ZHP already has the latest DME firmware.

Interesting that it was updated twice in 2007, once on February 9th and again on March 6th. I wonder why?
__________________

Last edited by BaliDawg; 10-07-2015 at 09:02 PM.
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 09:11 PM   #50
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buggy101 View Post
Interesting. So to update I would need to take it in and ask them to upgrade it.

Do I need an update?
You can just drive over to my house if you're not too far away and I can update it.

The only way to see if you need an update is to determine the current DME assembly number (using PA Soft BMW Scanner 1.4, or INPA, or WinKFP, or CarSoft, or DIS) and then check the history file.

You can pay to have a BMW dealer or an indy shop do the update. Or c'mon over and I do it for free.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 09:16 PM   #51
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hartmann_e46 View Post
That sounds perfect man. If you have a relay and some wire, I'll return the favor by wiring up your Home lights to turn on via unlock like this.

Unlock


Lock
Thanks for the offer; nice feature. I will PM you my contact info.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2015, 11:55 PM   #52
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buggy101 View Post
Could you check mine??

i was looking for my old logs but the info displayed is not the same. although it does say
DME -> 7.533.652 WBAEV53494KM06899
Okay, so where did you get the number 7533652 from? Is that the DME part number?

I need the assembly number, which you can only get by reading it from the car with an OBDII adapter and software, such as BMW Scanner 1.4.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 12:32 PM   #53
Buggy101
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Ca
Posts: 14
My Ride: Zhp
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaliDawg View Post
Okay, so where did you get the number 7533652 from? Is that the DME part number?

I need the assembly number, which you can only get by reading it from the car with an OBDII adapter and software, such as BMW Scanner 1.4.
It was from a log generated by the scanner. Under unit it said DME
Then the number I posted was under BMWTNR.

If not the correct one I'll try and scan again and repost it
Buggy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 02:20 PM   #54
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buggy101 View Post
It was from a log generated by the scanner. Under unit it said DME
Then the number I posted was under BMWTNR.

If not the correct one I'll try and scan again and repost it
Read post #3 in this thread for instructions on extracting the DME assembly number, then post it here and I will look it up for you.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 08:11 PM   #55
SeattleLSB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 435
My Ride: 2003 330XI, 2003 M3
Can you do the Auto to Manual programming?
__________________
2003 LSB/BLK M3/SMG/Premium/Cold Weather/Nav

2003 AW/BLK 330XI/AT/Sport/Premium/Cold Weather
SeattleLSB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 08:49 PM   #56
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeattleLSB View Post
Can you do the Auto to Manual programming?
I do firmware updates, not coding. Do you know exactly what needs to be done?
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 09:56 AM   #57
CarbonZHP
Because Race...Convertible?
 
CarbonZHP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: EAS
Posts: 2,866
My Ride: goes choo choo
Year: 2004
Model: 330Cic ZHP
Transmission: AT->5MT->6MT
I have the car, laptop, and cord now. So I'm ready to learn
CarbonZHP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2015, 07:20 PM   #58
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarbonZHP View Post
I have the car, laptop, and cord now. So I'm ready to learn
I just PM'ed you my contact info. Shall we use TeamViewer for this? Call or text me.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 01:54 AM   #59
john-117
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 46
My Ride: 330i
OP, have you ever flashed the DME to a euro version?
john-117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 10:00 AM   #60
BaliDawg
DEADBEEF BAADF00D
 
BaliDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 8,683
My Ride: E39 E46 E84
Quote:
Originally Posted by john-117 View Post
OP, have you ever flashed the DME to a euro version?
Yes. I have flashed some alternate versions, such as euro tune, B25 to B30 swap, auto to manual swap, version downgrade, etc.

The only difference from an update during the actual update process is you manually enter the assembly number (ZUSB) instead of letting WinKFP decide it automatically.

Do you know what version number you want to flash in?
Hint: you can find it on bmwfans.info under the DME section. Just choose Eur for the region on the main page.
__________________
BaliDawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.