Used PA soft and found an IKE LCM mileage mismatch - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > E46 BMW > General E46 Forum

General E46 Forum
This is the place to get answers, opinions and everything you need related to your E46 (sedan, coupe, convertible and wagon) BMW!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-18-2015, 02:42 PM   #1
john-117
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 46
My Ride: 330i
Used PA soft and found an IKE LCM mileage mismatch

I used the BMW scanner for the first time today and found this:

Unit BMWTNR HW SW-FSW CI DI BI/VI Date Odometer
IKE -> 6.911.303 12 23 06 53 12 09/02 243288 km
LCM -> 6.919.847 15 30 31 30 00 12/02 257500 km

I bought the car 15 months ago and it didn't have any mileage tamper dot. But that is a 9000 mile difference. I bought the car from a mechanic who said it's a one owner car, he got it for his son but then decided to sell it.

I also found these. What is the auxiliary water pump?
DME -> Shadow-memory:
5A/12 - Exhaust temperature before catalyst, bank 1, signal line, short circuit to negative
5B/12 - Exhaust temperature before catalyst, bank 2, signal line, short circuit to negative
5D/12 - Exhaust temperature after catalyst, bank 2, signal line, short circuit to negative
EWS -> 0F/3F - Power on reset
33/21 - Toleration of changing code increased, key 3

ABS* -> 5DA3/A0 - Wheel speed sensor front right start recognition v_comparison.
5D93/A0 - Wheel speed sensor front left start recognition v_comparison.
5E16/20 - CAN Timeout instrument cluster

LEW -> 09/71 - No CAN message (ASC)

A/C -> 20/02 - AUC heating
19/42 - Auxiliary water pump
john-117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 02:51 PM   #2
mikeetastic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,209
My Ride: lots of 3
check EWS in pasoft, that's the real mileage of your car. but looking at it right now, your car might got a replacement cluster from previous owner(s)..

or remove the cluster and some of them has the last 7 digit sticker printed out.
mikeetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 03:10 PM   #3
David F
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 550
My Ride: 323i, 740iL, 633CSi
Some amount of mismatch between the cluster and LCM is allowed before the tamper dot is illuminated. They are not dependent on one another and record mileage separately. I suspect 9000km is getting close to the allowable limit. Let's say someone removes the instrument cluster and drives the car. The LCM will continue to record the mileage and cluster will not...hence the mismatch. This works the other way around as well. Since removing the cluster and driving the car is more common than removing the LCM and driving car, LCM's usually have a higher mileage reading. in other words, don't worry about it, or adjust the LCM mileage to match the cluster if it makes you feel better.
David F is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-18-2015, 04:00 PM   #4
AndreBXP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 916
My Ride: 04 M3 6MT, 11 X5 35d
IIRC the tamper dot is caused by a VIN mismatch, not a mileage mismatch. If the VINs are the same, than the tamper dot shouldn't illuminate. The LCM might have been replaced some time in the past, due to failure, with a used unit. The VIN was then coded to the replacement LCM and there was no longer a tamper dot.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Maintenance > Mods. Suspension built by Ground Control, tuned by Rob43.

Cars: 2004 M3 6MT Track Toy | 2011 X5 35d Tow Rig | 2004 330xit 6MT ZHP Daily | 2008 328xit Daily
AndreBXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 04:02 PM   #5
David F
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 550
My Ride: 323i, 740iL, 633CSi
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreBXP View Post
IIRC the tamper dot is caused by a VIN mismatch, not a mileage mismatch. If the VINs are the same, than the tamper dot shouldn't illuminate. The LCM might have been replaced some time in the past, due to failure, with a used unit. The VIN was then coded to the replacement LCM and there was no longer a tamper dot.
I disagree and both will cause the tamper dot. LCM's are not a "protected" place to store the mileage and thus the mileage can be easily changed. If the LCM is replaced, the cluster mileage needs to be coded in to match.
David F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 04:17 PM   #6
cvx5832
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Walnut Creek, CA
Posts: 4,719
My Ride: 535i, 325Ci, C300
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreBXP View Post
IIRC the tamper dot is caused by a VIN mismatch, not a mileage mismatch. If the VINs are the same, than the tamper dot shouldn't illuminate. The LCM might have been replaced some time in the past, due to failure, with a used unit. The VIN was then coded to the replacement LCM and there was no longer a tamper dot.

Odometer Tamper Dot
__________________


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

cvx5832 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 04:29 PM   #7
john-117
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 46
My Ride: 330i
Well, VINs all match. Checking the log generated I found 5 different mileages.
DME ->04/02 243280 km
EGS ->15/02 243290 km
EWS ->14/02 257564 km
IKE ->09/02 243289 km
LCM ->12/02 257500 km

But I don't know if this intentional or not. Why would somebody hide 9K miles and not 90K?
john-117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 04:30 PM   #8
David F
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 550
My Ride: 323i, 740iL, 633CSi
Yes, yes, but you cannot trust BMW official publications. Used LCM's can definitely be used and the VIN and mileage figures easily manipulated/changed.

To John: it is curious that the tamper dot is not illuminated given the 9k discrepancy between the LCM and IKE.

Last edited by David F; 02-18-2015 at 04:35 PM.
David F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 05:08 PM   #9
john-117
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 46
My Ride: 330i
Quote:
Originally Posted by David F View Post
To John: it is curious that the tamper dot is not illuminated given the 9k discrepancy between the LCM and IKE.
Yeah, I don't know why that is. The IKE had this error stored though.
IKE -> BE/C8 - Data-filing difference to central light module (LCM)
john-117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 06:07 PM   #10
AndreBXP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 916
My Ride: 04 M3 6MT, 11 X5 35d
Quote:
Originally Posted by john-117 View Post
Yeah, I don't know why that is. The IKE had this error stored though.
IKE -> BE/C8 - Data-filing difference to central light module (LCM)
If you clear the code does it come back? Could be an older error.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Maintenance > Mods. Suspension built by Ground Control, tuned by Rob43.

Cars: 2004 M3 6MT Track Toy | 2011 X5 35d Tow Rig | 2004 330xit 6MT ZHP Daily | 2008 328xit Daily
AndreBXP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 06:32 PM   #11
mikeetastic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,209
My Ride: lots of 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by john-117 View Post
Yeah, I don't know why that is. The IKE had this error stored though.
IKE -> BE/C8 - Data-filing difference to central light module (LCM)
i had this error showed when i replaced my LCM to 4.0 from 3.6.. you can also google it up and it will show that error if IKE is changed.. here: http://www.bimmerforums.com/forum/sh...uster-retrofit

im still betting that either IKE or LCM was replaced or removed temporarily for unknown reason on your car.
mikeetastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 09:56 AM   #12
DaHammer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 358
My Ride: 2003 325i
Reviving old thread here but I just connected BMW Scanner to my car fir the very first time also and it reports 391,430km on the IKE module and 300,000km on the LCM module. I bought the car brand new and neither have ever been replaced. There is no tamper dot on the instrument cluster. Only 4 mechanics have ever worked on it, 2 BMW dealerships and 2 Independent BMW shops.

That's a huge difference, so what gives? The software has been update a time or 2, so maybe that's where things went haywire?
__________________
”Those who give up their liberty for more security neither deserve liberty nor security.”
Ben Franklin
DaHammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 10:21 AM   #13
E46Envyy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: canada
Posts: 432
My Ride: 2004 330ci
Transmission: 6spd
Used PA soft and found an IKE LCM mileage mismatch

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaHammer View Post
Reviving old thread here but I just connected BMW Scanner to my car fir the very first time also and it reports 391,430km on the IKE module and 300,000km on the LCM module. I bought the car brand new and neither have ever been replaced. There is no tamper dot on the instrument cluster. Only 4 mechanics have ever worked on it, 2 BMW dealerships and 2 Independent BMW shops.

That's a huge difference, so what gives? The software has been update a time or 2, so maybe that's where things went haywire?


I have the same issue. The LCM is stuck at 300,000km while the cluster is at 335,xxxkm. The LCM has automatic headlights.

I have no tamper dot and before crossing 300,000km the LCM and cluster where much closer.


Cheers; E46Envyy


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Make choices; don't look back

Last edited by E46Envyy; 09-19-2019 at 10:22 AM.
E46Envyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 12:03 PM   #14
DaHammer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 358
My Ride: 2003 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by E46Envyy View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaHammer View Post
Reviving old thread here but I just connected BMW Scanner to my car fir the very first time also and it reports 391,430km on the IKE module and 300,000km on the LCM module. I bought the car brand new and neither have ever been replaced. There is no tamper dot on the instrument cluster. Only 4 mechanics have ever worked on it, 2 BMW dealerships and 2 Independent BMW shops.

That's a huge difference, so what gives? The software has been update a time or 2, so maybe that's where things went haywire?


I have the same issue. The LCM is stuck at 300,000km while the cluster is at 335,xxxkm. The LCM has automatic headlights.

I have no tamper dot and before crossing 300,000km the LCM and cluster where much closer.


Cheers; E46Envyy


Sent from my iPhone using E46Fanatics mobile app

Thank you for the response! That is very interesting. I'm guessing it's not coincidental they both maxed out at 300,000 km. Perhaps it's a hardware or software issue.

My car also has automatic headlights, if that matters.
__________________
”Those who give up their liberty for more security neither deserve liberty nor security.”
Ben Franklin

Last edited by DaHammer; 09-19-2019 at 12:04 PM.
DaHammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 05:26 PM   #15
codu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Britanny/France
Posts: 3
My Ride: e46 M47D20
Year: 1998
Model: e46
Transmission: Manual baby
Hi E46Envyy, DaHammer

Same issue here without automatic headlights. It's a software issue, definetly.

Alin.
codu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 07:56 PM   #16
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 7,832
My Ride: M3
E46 LCM maxes out at 300k KMs. Don't know for sure if it's a bug or intentional.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 02:11 AM   #17
codu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Britanny/France
Posts: 3
My Ride: e46 M47D20
Year: 1998
Model: e46
Transmission: Manual baby
TerraPhantm,

Do you know if this limitation exists on all LCMs, regardless the version or just the old ones like my CI27?

Alin.
codu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 07:29 PM   #18
TerraPhantm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 7,832
My Ride: M3
Quote:
Originally Posted by codu View Post
TerraPhantm,

Do you know if this limitation exists on all LCMs, regardless the version or just the old ones like my CI27?

Alin.
New ones have the issue just like your old one, so it's probably all of them. I've personally confirmed it on CI36 and newer.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by TerraPhantm; 01-21-2020 at 07:30 PM.
TerraPhantm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 11:48 PM   #19
codu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Britanny/France
Posts: 3
My Ride: e46 M47D20
Year: 1998
Model: e46
Transmission: Manual baby
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerraPhantm View Post
New ones have the issue just like your old one, so it's probably all of them. I've personally confirmed it on CI36 and newer.
Thanks for the answer. Please excuse me, I gotta find a wall thick enough for my next move: (see here why)

and buy a programmer...

Addendum: Could one californian smack BMW with the right to repair act and post the source code of the IKE & LSZ?

Last edited by codu; 01-22-2020 at 05:22 AM. Reason: Addendum
codu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Censor is ON



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.