Coding - E46Fanatics E46 BMW Social Directory E46 FAQ 3-Series Discussion Forums BMW Photo Gallery BMW 3-Series Technical Information E46 Fanatics - The Ultimate BMW Resource BMW Vendors General E46 Forum The Tire Rack's Tire Wheel Forum Forced Induction Forum The Off-Topic The E46 BMW Showroom For Sale, For Trade or Wanting to Buy

Go Back   E46Fanatics > Tuning & Tech > Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning

Driveline, Engine & DME Tuning
Talk about driveline improvements, NA tuning and DME tuning your E46 BMW here. This includes diffs, intakes, exhausts, chips, software and OBD tuning.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2019, 01:35 PM   #1
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
Coding

Did an auto to manual swap now getting ready to code my car. When I hook up the inpa cable and my laptop and try to code it. I get a big box that pops up and it wont let me code out the auto transmission. I am using ncs expert. It does not show any type of vin or information I also bridge pin 7 and 8. The red light on the inpa cable goes out after a minute. I had to run some errands so I did not get a picture but I'll get it later. I live in Binghamton, NY if there is someone within 100 miles of me that can code it for me if I cant figure it out I'll pay for there service.
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:44 PM   #2
HayWagon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Collingwood Ontario
Posts: 1,194
My Ride: 03 325iT
Have you setup the obd/usb/serial drivers and port?
It's not plug and play.

Sent from my tractor.

Last edited by HayWagon; 06-08-2019 at 03:45 PM.
HayWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:59 PM   #3
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 8,552
My Ride: 2002 325i
"Big box"
What's that?
__________________
Not so complicated install of BMW Tools (Windows XP, 7, and 10)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PA Soft
Driver:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Program:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
armenh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2019, 07:05 PM   #4
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
Here is what it says
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190608_185948_1560034908858.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	91.8 KB
ID:	776963  
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 07:06 PM   #5
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
What do you mean setup obd serial drivers and port. I have never done anything like this to a car. This is all new to me
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 07:22 PM   #6
danius375
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 24
My Ride: BMW 330ci (E46)
Which profile are you using? Also, which module are you using to do the initial read?
danius375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 09:55 PM   #7
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
Expertmode then I choose vin/zcs/fa then I choose zcs/FAf.ecu then I choose e46 then akmb. That's when that box pops up even if I dont have the inpa cable hooked up
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 11:07 PM   #8
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
Also just found out my laptop is 64bit
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 03:46 AM   #9
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 8,552
My Ride: 2002 325i
What year is your car? Try selecting EWS instead of AKMB
__________________
Not so complicated install of BMW Tools (Windows XP, 7, and 10)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PA Soft
Driver:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Program:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
armenh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:07 AM   #10
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
Car is a 2000 328ci
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 12:21 PM   #11
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 8,552
My Ride: 2002 325i
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johny3cans View Post
Car is a 2000 328ci
You can't select AKMB then. That is for cars with VO. Yours uses ZCS so you need to read the EWS
armenh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 02:46 PM   #12
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by armenh7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johny3cans View Post
Car is a 2000 328ci
You can't select AKMB then. That is for cars with VO. Yours uses ZCS so you need to read the EWS
ok I'll give that a try
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 03:25 PM   #13
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johny3cans View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by armenh7 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johny3cans View Post
Car is a 2000 328ci
You can't select AKMB then. That is for cars with VO. Yours uses ZCS so you need to read the EWS
ok I'll give that a try
just tried the ecs and got same pop up
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 04:48 PM   #14
Johny3cans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 38
deleting the auto transmission is that something a bmw dealer can do?
Johny3cans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 08:25 PM   #15
armenh7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: California
Posts: 8,552
My Ride: 2002 325i
Pm me your phone number
__________________
Not so complicated install of BMW Tools (Windows XP, 7, and 10)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


PA Soft
Driver:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Program:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
armenh7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Censor is OFF



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) 1999 - VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.